We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard High Line

Save Saved
You added The Standard High Line to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com TabletHotels.com
and 6 more sites!
The Standard High Line
848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
"212" good to be true!
Ranked #221 of 447 hotels in New York City
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was really looking forward to our trip to the highline. I was a little nervous because of the mixed reviews. However, I really enjoyed the hotel. We were in a Hudson Studio with views in three different direction: uptown, downtown and the Hudson. We could see the Statute of Liberty, the Freedom Tower, and the Empire State building. Just amazing. I think some of the reviewers with negative comments go to the Highline with the wrong expectations. It is not a luxurious, cushy hotel. It has a different vibe. Its styling is more modern and trendy but that is okay and the décor reflects this modern and minimalist style.

We found the staff to be great, from the valet parkers, to the beautiful and friendly receptionist and to the restaurant staff at the Standard Grill. Room service for breakfast was fast and friendly. We did not have a problem getting into Le Bain, even though we were older than the typical patron. Although it wasn't as wild and crazy as I thought it would be. They should, as other reviewers said, allow hotel guest easier access to the roof top bars. You can get there but you have to go outside and line up on 13th street. That's weird. Same thing trying to get back to your room from the club at night. You have to go down outside and then go through the lobby. I guess they need to control access to the guest room floors but it is still a pain.

Of course the location in the meat packing district is great. Lots of shops, restaurants and places to visit and not too far from midtown or Soho.

There are a couple of criticisms that I have. The main counter/console in the room had wood veneer trim which was splitting and delaminating. They need to spend a little money on the furniture to keep it fresh. I also thought it was odd that the floor in the front dining room of the Standard Grill seemed pretty dirty. Maybe it is stained but it just doesn't look good at all. Clean or replace the floor.

Overall lots of fun.

Room Tip: Our room has views to the North, South and West because it was a Hudson Studio. If I had to pick a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    358
    167
    70
    76
See reviews for
56
551
132
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Style here rates way too highly over substance. This Standard is geared more as a night club than a hotel. Even then, unless you intend to spend your time queuing, vogueing, being ignored by staff and partying in equal measure forget it. Guests rate last. Sleep, just above that. The receptionist told a guest checking in to an upper floor that it may be an issue if they were "sensitive to noise": good advice! Those with ears are better served elsewhere. We were on a slightly lower floor and I needed my noise cancelling earbuds for sleeping. On Saturday night, even they were beaten. The top floor bar is spectacular, although near impossible to access. Once inside, the glamorous wait staff will snub you unless they know you or you are more glamorous than them: the room was spoiled by the people in it. The Biergarten had a line which snaked around the corner. On the plus side the concierge staff were pleasant and helpful and the bikes were great if you got one. On check out, I queried a mini bar charge and was told there was no option but to charge it. When I asked about my promised F&B credit, I was told that could not be done although to compensate the receptionist gained the ability to revoke the minibar tab. This confirmed my view that the staff are trained to say no over yes, although they do look good doing it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have stayed in many higher end hotels in NYC, and I have to say from the person who answered the phone to the check out the staff could not have been friendlier or eager to help in any way.
The room was spotless room service fast and deliciuos and reasonable as far as room service goes
I would highly reccomend this hotel and look forward to staying there again

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the Highline
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I spend 2 night in this wonderful hotel.
The location of the hotel is nice in the meetpacking area.
Easy to go in Soho and there are a lot of place to do shopping in the area
The decoration, the view and the food are great but the staff is not very friendly sometimes a little bit rude and the service is very long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

So we finally decided to stay here with so many options in NYC. The rooms are very small and the room with the toilet is a joke. I get the vibe and it's the place to be but seriously for 600 there is way better. Coming here does not get you in the clubs after 10pm even though the doorman Rob was a great guy. Come here for the bars but do yourself a favour and go to the other 100 way better hotels.

Room Tip: Corner suite if your forced to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is located in Meatpacking district which is where you wanna be if you like to party 7 days a week. The streets are load and full of people on most nites and crazy on the weekends.

The hotel is located right in the middle of lots of restaurants, clubs and bars which is great. Getting to other areas of NYC is also fairly easy from here.

Good :
Location
Cool room design and ver clean overall
Nice overall feel of a boutique hotel with prompt service
The bar on the top floor is outstanding

Bad :
Even in a US$600 per night suite room there is no coffee machine(very standard thing in this class of a hotel)
Small rooms with a big big windows. I loved it but some people may not like this lack of privacy and having to open and close the curtains
Door policy of the Le Bain club sucks. As hotel guests you should get access but not here !
Street noise can be heard in your room if you are bellow a certain level. I was on 5th floor and could hear people partying even after 3 am.

I checked out a day before I was suppose to and moved to another hotel in NYC for a goodnight sleep to end my NYC visit :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

When the first time i entered my room...... the view was AWESOME. I could see the entire financial district and the hudson river from my room. And bit far in the water statue of liberty.

The room was small but like most of the boutique hotels in NY the room size was perfect. The bed was cozy and good.
But again the view was one of the best i have ever seen.
While on the treadmill you will be facing towards the Hudson river and below you will see the beautiful High line. So you will not mind running little bit longer thn usual ; )

The restaurants below the hotel are good. But the club above the hotel is really cool. It's called Boom Boom room. Theres always a long waiting queue to get in.

When you walk out of the hotel u r in the middle of meatpacking district. one of the best place to party in NY.

The the staff in the front office were really friendly and helpful (not like the other places i stayed in NY)

Next time i m there in the city I m definitely staying there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Standard High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard High Line

Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
The Standard New York Hotel
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Jetsetter, Splendia, Travelocity, Otel, MrandMrsSmith and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Standard High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard High Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.