We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happening hotel in middle of very happening area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, High Line

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, High Line to your Saves list
The Standard, High Line
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York) (West Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very happening hotel in middle of very happening area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed 3 nights having got a massive discount through Tablet Hotels and loved the Standard. The room was funky and very comfortable if not exactly enormous, with a great low bed and sheets and pillows to die for. Although I didn't get the Hudson side view, the Empire State Building was there in its full glory - but the visual highlight is a trippy video installation in all the lifts by Marco Brambilla. The Standard Grill, where breakfast is served, is a fantastic bistro with great food and attentive New York service - and an interesting crowd (Philip Seymour Hoffman was on the next table). The Standard straddles the High Line, an old raised train track which has been converted into a beautiful walkway with wild gardens from which you get a unique view of this part of NYC - don't miss it. The area is full of people all day and night and you'll have to be able to deal with cab horns into the wee hours of the morning, so bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper or stay in the country.

Room Tip: book through Tablet Hotels for great discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    480
    233
    102
    101
See reviews for
76
749
156
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
20036
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We may have been the only English-speaking guests when we stayed at the Standard. Of course, the views are amazing. The room decor is lovely, and the proximity to the West Village is a plus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our stay at the standard over December and January for 28 nights was an absolute blast and unforgettable experience!

The standard has a boutique feel with all the bells and whistles of what you would expect in a five star hotel! Our stay was very comfortable and the views from our room (of the hudson river) were breath taking!

The staff and concierge were extremely helpful with any questions we had. We have stayed at multiple hotels in NYC but the service at the standard is incomparable!

The boom boom room & le Bain are a real treat so make sure you do yourself a favor and get there!

We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms were amazing and views breathtaking?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Although I skew a little older than your average Standard Hotel guest, I was greeted by the front desk hipsters with total respect and made to feel comfortable during my entire stay. I requested and received a high floor, actually the floor shared with the fitness room, very convenient! The view from my room was absolutely spectacular, I could see across New York.

Pros: cool video montage in the elevator, stylish guests, approachable hotel staff, invisible housekeeping staff (things magically happened when necessary), electrical outlets in all the right places, platform bed looking out to an incredible view (just like sleeping in the clouds), excellent fitness room, top floor bar with exceptional drinks and beautiful people,

Pain Points: awkward shower/tub combo that was hard getting in and out of, remembering to close blinds before hopping into the shower, small room footprint - no space to spread out or relax.

All-in-all a great hotel experience at a reasonable 'NY' value that I would readily entertain again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I am really a traditionalist, generally love plush and great lighting, the East side of New York, but my stay at the Standard was in a word, fun:-). I went alone to visit friends and do a little business in the city. It's a young New York feeling, and I loved being able to see the television while enjoying my bubble bath in the tub. The rooms are very small, but that's New York--and having a view of the Hudson seemed to compensate for the size.Somehow the furniture seemed a bit like upscale IKEA--although the bed was comfortable! The staff was very nice and I really enjoyed their restaurant and room service. Yes, .......it was fun.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

So my best guy friend and I decided it was critical to visit NYC to see the Alexander McQueen exhibit at the Met. After booking flights, we decided to stay at The Standard.

I'm not one for super trendy habitats, but my guy friend is, so we booked a Queen Superior room for four nights. I wanted a tub, and with this room you get a tub plus a shower.

When you choose to stay at a place like the Standard (or the Gansevoort, or the Smyth, or whatever) you are staying there for the "fabulousness" aspect as well as for comfort and location.

The room - a "mod pod" really - was very comfortable and very interesting in design. The views were incredible. The bed was very, very comfortable and the A/C and water pressure worked great. The tub is a deep, large square ceramic box, and not for lounging/soaking. Too bad!. It's not comfy to even sit in because the drain is smack in the middle of the tub and you will, invariably, pass over the tub plug with your boo-twah. The shower sufficed. The pillows are down but I bet they have others if you are allergic to feathers.

Surprisingly, the amenities in the fridge and on the shelves were not crazy overpriced. Water was $4.00 or $6.00, for example. Amazing. The toilet is in it's own little private closet with a door. The mini ironing board and full sized iron came in handy. The black out curtains worked great.

So the room was great and worth the $275 - $350 you will pay a night, plus taxes and various other little fees. And they have 24/7 room service, which was extremely nice.

The Standard Grill had an excellent breakfast. Great coffee and yogurt/berries/granola. A wonderful selection of foods and beverages. Very white tile/French cafe-ish. I loved breakfast there. It was too hot to be outside when we were there so we never sat outside for cocktails or food. And this is a place where there are lots of people outside! Outside the lobby, outside the Grill, outside the Biergarten, outside on the Highline, etc etc.

The Standard, in the Meatpacking district, is a huge space occupied at most times of any given day with oodles and oodles of people. You know the type....those fabulous people. Louboutin heels, Malandrino dresses, Penguin shirts, Varavatos slacks, ultra skinny jeans, etc. Trendy, trendy, trendy. If you want relative escape from swarms of trendy people, you will have this escape only in your room, in the lobby between 5 and 10 a.m and maybe while waiting for your elevator before 6 p.m. You will have it no where else. So if privacy at all times is your thing, be prepared for the gaggle of people hanging out here, most especially after 6 pm. Good thing....cabs are always there for you.

The rooftop bar on 18 is closed to hotel guests, generally, after 8 or 10 pm. There is usually an event of some type going on that is closed to the general public. People are dying to get to the rooftop bar because it's verboten. They really glam it up and giggle their way to the 18th floor. These people - who will share your elevator ride on occasion - are cute, or extremely annoying, depending upon your personal perspective of people who frequent trendy rooftop bars.

All I know is there was no noise pollution, even with the throngs of people, and I slept like a baby without requiring ear plugs.

On the whole, the Standard is an excellent, convenient, aesthetically interesting hotel. The staff were kind and pleasant. "Pleasant" in a New York City kind of way, not in an Omaha kind of way. Don't expect lots of smiles and homestyle friendliness. Just quickly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This hotel is in the Meatpacking District, right up from Greenwich Village (I was born there). This hotel is ueber-hip. Of course, my daughter suggested it, after she told me the W in Midtown was a joke. The view out of our room was amazing. The Statue of Liberty was dead ahead with Jersey on the right and the financial district on the left. Weird videos in the elevators (a sort of electronic Hieronymous Bosch) and a minimalist lobby make for a strong first impression. The bar at the top of the hotel is fabulous (although it closes at 11). Room was fine but had some annoying features. Shower has no door, so water goes all over the stone floor. The floor is a half step up into the shower (annoying( and there is no trash disposal in the sink/shower area. The bed was allegedly a queen but it looked pretty small. At 410 a night (taxes included) it was OK but no bargain. I would go again but after I stay at the Soho Grand

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Splendia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, High Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.