We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average on the whole” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   449 W. 36th Street, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #251 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Hong Hong
1 review
“Average on the whole”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It is a bit far away from the Penn Station. However, when you observed that people in the city usually walk for several streets and avenue, it is not a distance location. Staffs of the hotel had no idea of the bus route other than taking a taxi cap.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Kin Ming L,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard. We are delighted that you found everything you need during your stay. The hotel is well located and ideal for those who want a place close to it all but not in the middle of everything. We hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    166
    72
    17
    34
See reviews for
84
95
31
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The room was small but that is typical of New York City.
There was no long mirror in the room. It was very clean. The bed was comfortable and staff was very courteous. Ashish and Stacy were great!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Glenn M,
Thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard during your most recent visit to NYC. Ashish has been with the hotel since its opening and Stacy just recently joined our GEM team. Each of them exemplifies the level of service and commitment we have for all GEM guest. Most of all we like to thank you for taking time from your busy day to post your review and comments of your recent stay. We hope to see you in the future and please mention LGEMR.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel has an alright location, west midtown on manhatten. 15 min to walk to times square. the hotel was ok, but the service was awful. when we arrived in the afternoon, we immediately let the reception know that our toilet was not working; it seemed to be blocked. They told us we would have to wait until the next day to have it fixed, as the staff had no idea how to fix this. We asked to get another room, but this was apparently not possible. we were told to use the toilet in the basement until ours was fixed. though we fully understand that things like this can happen, the staff really should have handled this in another way. it would not have been difficult to call a plumber in the afternoon on a weekday in new york...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Erika T,
I wanted to express my deepest apology to you for the poor experience you recieve during your stay at the GEM Hotel. I hope that you allow me the opportunity to make this stay up to you in the future. Please feel free to contact me at midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com or 212 967 7206.
May sincere and deepest apology again.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had to lug my luggage in the rain to move from GEM to Quality Inn because they didn't fix the clogged toilet and internet connection problem in my room properly. While the move was a welcomed solution, I wish that the staff in both hotels had communicated better about my situation because I am now charged twice for the same night (by both hotels) for something that is not my fault

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Azie200786,
We like to extend our deepest sincerely apology to you. The issues that you experienced in no way should have happen and we are extremely embrassed by this. I hope that you allow me to make this up to you in the future, please contact me directly at midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com. The billing issue you also experienced has been taken care for you. I hope that you give us another opportunity.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting accommodations in Midtown. The staff were friendly and helpful - from dinner recommendations to help with transport to the airport - and they had a sense of humor, which I appreciate. It was a nice room - spacious and reasonably priced for NYC, and very clean. Easy walk to the High Line park and Times Square, and pretty quiet. I will stay with Gem from now on - no complaints, and lots of positives for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Kathleen M,
We are thrilled that you had a fantastic stay while visiting NYC. All of us at the GEM strive to provide a unique experience for all of our GEM guest and glad that we made a welcoming experience for you. Most of all we like to thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard, we hope to see you again in the future and please mention LGEMR when making that return trip. Thank you again!
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet Home, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My 14 yo grandson and I stayed here July 2 - 6, 2014. We wanted something near all the attractions and in our budget. We were delightfully surprised at how clean the hotel was considering the look of the surrounding area. The room was very well kept. We chose to sleep in each morning and our room was cleaned after we left for the day. Walking distance to eateries, attractions and the subway made this a good choice for us. Very comfortable bed! Vending machine and ice were readily available. It was more than we expected and we were very pleased with the staff at the hotel. My grandson forgot his laptop power cord at the hotel. When we arrived at our next destination, we called and verified it was there. The manager is going to return it to us as soon as we send an envelope. Thanks you for a great stay in NY!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello skippernina,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard, we are delighted that you and your grandsonenjoyed your stay. The laptop charger is on its way, you should be recieving it very shortly. The hotel is well located between 2 exciting neighborhoods, Chelsea and Hell's Kitchen. Both with tons of fantastic restuarants to eat at. We all like to thank you as well for taking the time to post your review and comments, this will help us to continue to jmprove upon our standards. We look forward to your next trip back, please mention LGEMR.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We chose this hotel as this was the only one in the Manhattan area that offers rooms with two double beds (good for two couples traveling together and willing to share a room). Definitely worth staying here (close to Times Square and attractions), rather than across the river in NJ and then having to spend time traveling into the city, looking for parking, and paying tolls.

Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms were neat and clean. Our room had a fridge, microwave, iron, and hairdryer. Our room was ready for us when we arrived around noon - 3 hours before the check-in time - which was nice. Hotel staff were responsive to all of our extra requests.

Parking just across the street in the parking lot @ $25 per day (24 hr period). Not bad, but you can't pay for a few extra hours if you need it - have to pay a flat rate of $25 per 24 hr period.

Overall, a good deal and good value. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Roman D,
Thank you for staying choosing the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard during your recent trip to NYC. We are thrilled that the GEM was able to meet your expectations.We hope to see you soon again in the near future. I just wanted to let you know that the GEM Hudson Yard also offers a Free Parking Package, please give us a call directly to inquire. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 449 W. 36th Street, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#253 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards/Midtown West is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in Manhattan Midtown West, just two blocks away from the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Guests are within walking distance from all that Midtown Manhattan has to offer, including world-famous restaurants, night clubs, art galleries, shopping and more. The hotel is three blocks away from New York City's subway system and within close proximity to both Penn Station and the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey.The GEM Hotel Midtown West offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast flat-panel LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at this New York hotel, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. You can also tour Manhattan with our GEMwalking tours.The GEM Hotel - Midtown West, an Ascend Collection hotel, is a sanctuary of luxury in a trendy Manhattan neighborhood. Guests will feel truly ensconced in an elegant, private and boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.