We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need better maintenance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   449 W. 36th Street, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Need better maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had to lug my luggage in the rain to move from GEM to Quality Inn because they didn't fix the clogged toilet and internet connection problem in my room properly. While the move was a welcomed solution, I wish that the staff in both hotels had communicated better about my situation because I am now charged twice for the same night (by both hotels) for something that is not my fault

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Azie200786,
We like to extend our deepest sincerely apology to you. The issues that you experienced in no way should have happen and we are extremely embrassed by this. I hope that you allow me to make this up to you in the future, please contact me directly at midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com. The billing issue you also experienced has been taken care for you. I hope that you give us another opportunity.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    195
    89
    18
    38
See reviews for
100
115
38
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting accommodations in Midtown. The staff were friendly and helpful - from dinner recommendations to help with transport to the airport - and they had a sense of humor, which I appreciate. It was a nice room - spacious and reasonably priced for NYC, and very clean. Easy walk to the High Line park and Times Square, and pretty quiet. I will stay with Gem from now on - no complaints, and lots of positives for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Kathleen M,
We are thrilled that you had a fantastic stay while visiting NYC. All of us at the GEM strive to provide a unique experience for all of our GEM guest and glad that we made a welcoming experience for you. Most of all we like to thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard, we hope to see you again in the future and please mention LGEMR when making that return trip. Thank you again!
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet Home, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My 14 yo grandson and I stayed here July 2 - 6, 2014. We wanted something near all the attractions and in our budget. We were delightfully surprised at how clean the hotel was considering the look of the surrounding area. The room was very well kept. We chose to sleep in each morning and our room was cleaned after we left for the day. Walking distance to eateries, attractions and the subway made this a good choice for us. Very comfortable bed! Vending machine and ice were readily available. It was more than we expected and we were very pleased with the staff at the hotel. My grandson forgot his laptop power cord at the hotel. When we arrived at our next destination, we called and verified it was there. The manager is going to return it to us as soon as we send an envelope. Thanks you for a great stay in NY!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello skippernina,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard, we are delighted that you and your grandsonenjoyed your stay. The laptop charger is on its way, you should be recieving it very shortly. The hotel is well located between 2 exciting neighborhoods, Chelsea and Hell's Kitchen. Both with tons of fantastic restuarants to eat at. We all like to thank you as well for taking the time to post your review and comments, this will help us to continue to jmprove upon our standards. We look forward to your next trip back, please mention LGEMR.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We chose this hotel as this was the only one in the Manhattan area that offers rooms with two double beds (good for two couples traveling together and willing to share a room). Definitely worth staying here (close to Times Square and attractions), rather than across the river in NJ and then having to spend time traveling into the city, looking for parking, and paying tolls.

Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms were neat and clean. Our room had a fridge, microwave, iron, and hairdryer. Our room was ready for us when we arrived around noon - 3 hours before the check-in time - which was nice. Hotel staff were responsive to all of our extra requests.

Parking just across the street in the parking lot @ $25 per day (24 hr period). Not bad, but you can't pay for a few extra hours if you need it - have to pay a flat rate of $25 per 24 hr period.

Overall, a good deal and good value. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Roman D,
Thank you for staying choosing the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard during your recent trip to NYC. We are thrilled that the GEM was able to meet your expectations.We hope to see you soon again in the near future. I just wanted to let you know that the GEM Hudson Yard also offers a Free Parking Package, please give us a call directly to inquire. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean and had everything that you need for a short break in the city. I would have preferred to stay in the Chelsea version of this hotel as it was near more places to eat and the underground. Where this hotel is there is a McDonald's and a gas station not someplace that I would want to walk around after dark. Also to make you aware the safe is 2 dollars a day and you are charged this on checkout.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello Kourtney W,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard, we are sorry that the GEM Chelsea was not availble for you while in NYC. Though Chelsea is more of a neighborhood hotel the Hudson Yard is unique in its own. There are many different options within walking distance that may have surprised. I hope that you give us another chance to change your mind about the hotel. Please do contact me directly in regards to the safe charge. @ midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had come from the Chelsea in atlantic city to the gem in NYC and I will say that I was way more impressed with The Gem then the fancy hotel down there. The rooms are super super tiny even just for my husband and I. I'm positive the bathroom was as big as the entire common area. However it's NYC and if your spending much time in your room you are crazy!! Very clean place and the front desk staff was amazing!!! Not to mention it was far enough away from the busy downtown area that you could actually sleep and sit outside and even enjoy yourself. Will for sure be staying here for our future visits

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Bjayc,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard and hope that NYC was everything you thought it to be. We all like to thank you for taking the time to posting your reveiw and comments. We strive with every guest to make it a personal, memorable experience and we are glad that we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again and please mention LGEMR on your return trip.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

After touring the city all day and night the hotel suited us perfectly to relax, rest and rejuvenate before hitting the city again. The room's decor was modern and fresh along with being clean and bright. The bathrooms were also clean and a typical size. The rooms are smaller than what most are use to but there were four of us and we had just enough space to move around each other. The hotel is located near the Penn Station which made it an easy arrival from DC by train. NYC attractions are all walking distance from the hotel and with the Penn station near by you are even closer. With a hop, skip and a jump you will get to everything in no time. We did not feel like we were missing out based on our location. The staff were friendly and made our stay even more pleasant. They accommodating and assured us by storing our luggage before we could check in and after we checked out so we did not have to hull our belongings around while waiting for our room and train, respectively, which allowed is to get more of NYC. The stay was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Gsudaria,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard during your most recent trip to NYC. We are all delighted that your stay was comfortable accessible to our great city. We strive with each guest to live up to our name "GEM". A rare find but worth its weight in gold. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it means a great deal to all of us. Please mention LGEMR on your next trip.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 449 W. 36th Street, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
#231 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards/Midtown West is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in Manhattan Midtown West, just two blocks away from the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Guests are within walking distance from all that Midtown Manhattan has to offer, including world-famous restaurants, night clubs, art galleries, shopping and more. The hotel is three blocks away from New York City's subway system and within close proximity to both Penn Station and the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey.The GEM Hotel Midtown West offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast flat-panel LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at this New York hotel, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. You can also tour Manhattan with our GEMwalking tours.The GEM Hotel - Midtown West, an Ascend Collection hotel, is a sanctuary of luxury in a trendy Manhattan neighborhood. Guests will feel truly ensconced in an elegant, private and boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.