We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, fine rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   449 W. 36th Street, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #251 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff, fine rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Really, really friendly and helpful staff. We arrived much earlier than check in time, after a long flight, and they were able to get us into a room early. Then they were very helpful with questions about local destinations and events.

Our room was quite small, but not by NY standards. Flat screen, nice linens and towels, fancy alarm clock. Everything was quite clean.

We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear nkb1008,

Thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard during your most recent trip to NYC. We are delighted that you had a great experience and expectations were meet. Your review and comments is greatly appreciated by our associates to continue to inspire them to continue our service commitment. Please mention LGEMR on your next return trip, we hope to see you soon again.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    190
    87
    17
    38
See reviews for
99
111
38
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel was very good. Not going to knock your socks off, but absolutely nothing worthy of complaint.

Although some might find the location not ideal, it is particularly great if you are coming in to New York on the bus, as it is right near the Megabus and Bolt Bus stops. For our stay we actually spent a fair amount of time in Chelsea and Hell's Kitchen, which was easily within walking distance. When we stay in NYC we usually spend $20 in metro tickets, but this time managed to spend $0.

The price was very good for staying in Manhattan. The staff was very friendly and accommodating of a late 2pm checkout, although it appears they did not tell the staff as they came at the normal time (but were apologetic and happy to move on). They also tagged and held our bags for the day after we checked out.

The rooms are small as you would expect. They are nicely furnished. This hotel would get 5 stars except the rooms were just a bit old. Not dingy, but not as kept up as would warrant a full 5 stars.

One just very odd thing: we were on the second floor and one of the rooms' door was decorated with tons of pictures like one would expect in a dorm.

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Erik T,

Than you for staying at the GEM Hotel this past weekend, we were delighted to have you. I like to think of the GEM Hudson Yard as the hidden GEM of all. Affordable, close to all attraction, and quietly tucked away from the normal NYC atmosphere. We look forward to your next getaway and please mention LGEMR when making your next reservation.

Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCEAN PINES, USA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The room very small. I paid $20.00 extra for a top floor and a patio. I got bottom floor and the patio was a alley not happy at all. Had a friend coming from Ca. first time on the east coast and she wanted to go to New York , this is way the top floor and patio would be nice for a good view, boy was i wrong being put on the ground floor was terrible. Will never stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear DAVID G,
I am terrible sorry to hear that the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard did not meet your expectation. I like to remedy your bad experience and hope that you will contact me at the hotel or via email at midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N/A, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've stayed at the Gem Hotel for 21 nights and truly my experience with that hotel was just awesome! Extremely clean, located in a nice neighborhood, in a quiet area, yet well connected to public transportation, Macy's is near by, Times Square, and any other midtown attraction you can think of. Lots of bars, restaurants, coffee shops just one block down. The staff are super friendly including receptionists and cleaning ladies, exceptional customer service at all times! Thanks very much for all and I certainly will stay here again next time I come to NYC. Warmly, Vanya

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear VANYA K,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yards. We inspire to be hotel for travelers such as yourself as a home away from home. Your review and comments of your stay mean a tremendous uplift spirit. As we strive everyday to give our 100% best to each and every guest, and your comments and review shows just that. I hope that you mention LGEMR on your return trip to let us know that you are a returning guest. All of the associates at the GEM thank you again.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEYSTONE, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were so very pleased with every aspect of our stay, we wanted a reasonable place to stay while attending the Westminster Kennel Club show, a long dream of ours. The hotel was walking distance from MSG... the area is full of wonderful businesses, transportation is convenient for any destination. We felt more like we were family than guests, This is not a hotel for the person who expects room service, three restaurants and two bars and a spa, but they are all so very close by, what you get is warmth, comfort and a sense of welcome... come here and tour... We are a mature mother and daughter, both fairly well traveled and we count this as one of our best experiences!! Thanks to one and all, we will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear LEE S,

Thank you for having stayed at the GEM Hotel during your recent trip to NYC. We hope that you were able to enjoy all of the city even if the large amounts of snow days we experienced. We extremely excited that you we were able to meet you expectations. In appreciation for taking the time out in writing and posting this review. Please mention LGEMR on your next return visit.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The GEM offers small but clean and modern rooms for a good price. No frills -- no breakfast or fitness center. But who needs that? There is a Duncan Donuts and coffee house just around the corner. Quiet location away form the hustle and bustle, but just a short walk to Times Square. Easy walking distance to Penn Station and Port Authority bus terminal. Many restaurants nearby on 9th Avenue. Parking available at a reduced price across the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear pollacks,
We are excited to have been able to host you during your stay in NYC. We are equally excited that you chose the GEM Hotel and wanted to take this moment just to thank you. We are happy to that the GEM meet all of your expectations and more. When returning next visit please stop bye the Café Grind, they offer 10% to all our guest. We like to thank you as well, please mention LGEMR on your next return visit.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Gem 36 is reminiscent of a small Parisian hotel. The rooms are small but comfortable and the hotel is calm and tranquil. The staff are friendly and the hotel draws an international crowd. Overall its a great little place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear jmacdow,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel. We are so delighted to have hosted you during your trip. Your review and comments of the hotel mean a lot to us and just wanted to say Thank you! If you should be returning to NYC in the near future please mention LGEMR when making your next reservation.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 449 W. 36th Street, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#189 Business Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards/Midtown West is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in Manhattan Midtown West, just two blocks away from the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Guests are within walking distance from all that Midtown Manhattan has to offer, including world-famous restaurants, night clubs, art galleries, shopping and more. The hotel is three blocks away from New York City's subway system and within close proximity to both Penn Station and the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey.The GEM Hotel Midtown West offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast flat-panel LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at this New York hotel, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. You can also tour Manhattan with our GEMwalking tours.The GEM Hotel - Midtown West, an Ascend Collection hotel, is a sanctuary of luxury in a trendy Manhattan neighborhood. Guests will feel truly ensconced in an elegant, private and boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.