We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Midtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   449 W. 36th Street, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #250 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great find in Midtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I spent the evening here for a business meeting and fell in love with the hotel very quickly, a great location near GREAT restaurants and my room was nice and clean and a good size, not a huge room but for NYC I was very happy. I was told at the front desk that the internet at the hotel is a new provider and I was very happy with it, it worked great for my needs, next time I am in Midtown and need a hotel room this will be my first choice.

Room Tip: My room was on the 9th floor and I had no noise issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Traveltheworldfun,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Midtown West during your most recent visit to NYC. Hope that your business trip was a success. Many people are misled about our location, but we are excited that you were able to find those treasures. Please mention LGEMR on your next return visit.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    166
    71
    17
    34
See reviews for
84
95
31
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AFTON, usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The room was clean, but pretty small. The staff was excellent. Everyone was helpful, attentive and friendly. The hotel was close to everything so I walked most everywhere.
Good location, clean rooms and a great staff. Hard to ask for much more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear CHRIS J,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Midtown West during your visit to NYC. Am excited that our staff meet all of your needs. I will surely pass along your review and comments to the rest of the GEM staff. We all hope to see you again in the future, if you should please mention LGEMR when making your next reservation. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Found this property online. and was especially impressed with The Gem Hotel properties since it markets itself to the LGBT cost-conscience traveler. The room was clean, the GM and staff were helpful and thoughtful. Without a doubt, I will stay at a Gem Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel while in NYC. We are pleased that everything meet to your expectations. To thank you for your wonderful comments please mention LGEMR for your next return visit.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, N.J.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Exceptional Staff. Felt right at home. Room was a great value, clean, a but small, but great.
It was quiet for being in Manhattan. Walking distance to great areas.
Room is a bit small, so not for kids, unless they get their own room!!

Stay at the Gem!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear almcvkr,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Midtown West during your most recent visit to NYC. We are excited that you had a fantastic stay and able to find that Home away from Home when traveling. I like to also thank you for taking the time in posting your comments and review, please mention LGEMR on your return visit. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was in Manhattan for a couple of modeling job, the location was excellent and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. The housekeeping staff were particularly friendly and the rooms showed their attention to detail. Glady in particular was great

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear ERIC N
Thank you for having stayed at the GEM Hotel Midtown West while in NYC. Your review and comments of the hotel mean a lot to us. Glady's has been with the company for 3 years now and she exemplifies the level of commitment and service we strive for In appreciation for taking time to post your review, we hope that you mention LGEMR on your next return visit.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALT LAKE CITY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very helpful staff. Location is easy walking to subway and reasonable walk to uptown. Very small room but clean and well appointed - good place to crash but wouldn't want to entertain. Had few minor problems (safe/towel) on check-in, but quickly fixed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear CARL G,
Thank you for staying the GEM Hotel during your visit to New York City. I see that you experience a few issues during your stay and hope that our response to correct the issues were to your satisfaction. Your comments and review are important to us as we can use them as a gauge in our service and commitment to our guests. We hope to see you again on your return trip back to the GEM, please mention LGEMR when making your future reservation.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I went to the boat show at Javitt's Center and the Gem-Midtown was super close, only two blocks away. It was also very close to Penn Station, Times Square, etc. I had no complaints about the room (it's the normal size for NYC) and the bed/pillows were pretty comfortable. Other reviewers mentioned the water pressure, and yes, I was impressed with the water pressure for a hotel (it was adjustable, too). The staff was also great. I was worried we would be early to check in, so I called ahead and they said we could check in our luggage beforehand. And most importantly, you cannot beat the price! I think I found my go-to hotel for the city!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Corinna L,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Midtown West during the NYC Boat Show. We are glad that your stay was everything you expected and more. We are extremely close to everything NYC has to offer all within a hop, skip and jump away. In appreciation for taking the time to post your comments and review, please mention LGEMR on your next return visit. We hope to you again soon.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 449 W. 36th Street, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#253 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards/Midtown West is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in Manhattan Midtown West, just two blocks away from the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Guests are within walking distance from all that Midtown Manhattan has to offer, including world-famous restaurants, night clubs, art galleries, shopping and more. The hotel is three blocks away from New York City's subway system and within close proximity to both Penn Station and the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey.The GEM Hotel Midtown West offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast flat-panel LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at this New York hotel, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. You can also tour Manhattan with our GEMwalking tours.The GEM Hotel - Midtown West, an Ascend Collection hotel, is a sanctuary of luxury in a trendy Manhattan neighborhood. Guests will feel truly ensconced in an elegant, private and boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.