We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   449 W. 36th Street, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #251 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Des Plaines, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Gem Hotel for a long weekend in November. This was my boyfriends first trip to New York, and my first time staying in Manhattan. The staff was great, very friendly. We got to the hotel early and they happily took our bags and let us go tour the city, they did the same on the day of our departure since we were taking a late flight.

The location isn't superb, but it wasn't a hindrance by any means. We liked to walk, and were about a 15 minute walk from Penn Station, were you can get anywhere. Walking our first day we happened upon Time Square, a fun surprise.

The room was very small, though I think that is the norm in New York, and frankly I'm not going to go to NYC to stay in the hotel room! Bed was very comfy, pillows were a little too soft, though there were enough of them that you could adjust. It was also VERY clean. None of those gross diseased comforter covers. The TV was nice and modern if you care about those things. The toiletries provided were nicer than most, though they did not have conditioner? Any female knows that a "conditioning shampoo" does not substitute conditioner.

Tip: The Cafe Grind just down the street across from the gas station has fantastic coffee and food, though the service leaves something to be desired (their coffee makes up for it).

Room Tip: Overall it was a great stay, as long as your not planning on spending all your time in the hotel, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Apual476,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at The Gem Hotel Midtown. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay, and you were able to walk around our great city. We are also walking distance from Port Authority Bus Station if you choose to take a bus into the city. Next time your with us be sure to stop by a new gourmet grocery store that just open up around the block from us. They make fresh coffee and have bagels and other foods to eat for breakfast. Their doughnuts are huge! Be sure to mention your previous stay when you call back in to reserve a room with us so we may offer you a returning guest discount. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    166
    72
    17
    34
See reviews for
84
95
31
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collingswood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Spent this weekend at the Gem Hotel to celebrate birthdays. First, received an email about receiving champagne on arrival - it never happened - a bit disappointing. The hotel is on 36th St and just not in a great area. There is a parking lot across the street with discounted parking - 25.00 a night which is great for NYC. The desk staff were all friendly and greeted us on arrival and leaving the hotel. 10 floors with about 5 rooms on each floor so very quiet for us, no slamming doors and we were in the back so no street noise to speak of - no restaurant or bar at the hotel but we were not worried about that when reserving. We got great rates so wanted to give it a try. Friday night after the Eagle's concert at MSG we were able to walk both to and from the concert- but just not a lot in the area and the area is a little dicey. We were two women and while not scared we were definitely on alert. The rooms are very small - we had a king bed and not a lot of room to walk around or put our stuff. The bathroom was an ok size. No view to speak of. With all that being said - we were not in the room much and as everyone says - it was NYC.

Not sure if we will stay here again - we might if we can get a great rate again but we like to be in the center of NYC so for that reason we might not return.

Room Tip: We had room 803 - small, clean, in the back with no view but very very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear KK1152,

Thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel Midtown West during your recent visit to the NYC. we like to wish you a Happy Belated Birthday. I hope you had a fantastic time at the Eagel's Concert at MSG. I want to express my deepest apologies to you and your party of guests for not meeting those expectations upon your arrival. I hope that you would give me the opportunity in speaking with you, I hope resolve any issue you may have had. Please feel free to contact me at 212 967 7206 or via email at midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com.

Sincerely,
Lawrence
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Conveniently located close to Times Square, subway, and restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff. Recommended restaurants and gave directions to places we wanted to visit. Room size quite small, however. Comfortable stay for one week in New York City.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Vaness97,
Thank you for having stayed at The GEM Hotel Midtown West during your recent visit to NYC. I hope that the hotel and staff meet all of your expectations. We are a bit off the beaten path, but close to everything NYC has to offer without the normal everyday NYC hustle. Your review and comments are greatly appreciated. In appreciation for taking the time to write and post, please mention LGEMR for you next return visit. We hope to see you soon again.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Cons:
- Small dingy room with dirty walls and peeling wallpaper
- Noisy; disrupted by conversations and slamming doors
- Loud heater sounds like a small engine running in the room
- I paid $250 for this!

Pros:
- Stone's throw to Javits
- Free Wi-Fi
- Good water pressure

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear TC From SF
Thank you for staying at The Gem Hotel Midtown and for your review. Im sorry we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. I am sending my maintenance team up to the rooms to address the Ac units. I will also discuss with my housekeeping teams in regards to the peeling wallpaper to get that address immediately. We will do our best to resolve these issues. Thank you for giving us your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Love this place! It's small, quaint, clean, quiet and the staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. It's a short walk to the Jacob Javits Convention Center where I attend a yearly conference. So convenient -- there's a place to park across the street.
I'll be back again next year!

Room Tip: As you would with any hotel, ask for one away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Robin F,
Thank you for your patronage, and your wonderful review of our hotel The Gem Midtown. We do our best to provide our guest the best possible service and to make you a true guest. Thanks again for your loyalty to us and we do hope to see you again next year. Please contact us directly and give us the name of your previous reservation so we may give you a returning guest discount. Thanks again for your time and for you choosing us.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at The GEM Hotel Midtown West for 2 weeks recently. The hotel was in a very convenient location on W 36th St, close to Penn Station and bus services. Macy's and the Herald Square shopping area are less than 15 minutes away on foot. Times Square is one subway stop away or about 15-20 mins on foot. During our trip, we walked to most places as it really is easy to get around Midtown on foot, even more convenient than taking the subway, imo!

There are also numerous dining options in the W 34th-40th St & 8th-10th Ave area ranging from diners, delis, pizzerias, Thai/Japanese cuisine, etc. I recommend Skylight Diner and Tabata Noodle Restaurant!

Part of my trip included attending the New York Comic Con at the Javits Center, a 5-min walk away from the hotel, which was a huge deciding factor in choosing this hotel.

The hotel staff are very friendly and always ready to help. We had a problem with the keycard lock one day, so the concierge arranged for us to be moved to another room. They helped us move our luggage and even refunded 50% of the room charge for the night.

The housekeeping staff also did a very good job of keeping the rooms clean. Although the rooms are small, the king room was comfortable enough for 2 people on a 2-week stay.

Thank you so much for a very comfortable stay! I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Desi8517,
Thank you so much for your review and for choosing us. I’m glad to hear that you were able to take in some of the great eateries we have near us. If you happen to be staying with us again for such a long period of time we have a brand new gourmet grocery that just opened up around the corner from us. I am sorry that you had difficulties with your lock but I see my wonderful team was able to assist you. Again thanks for staying with us and for your review.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is basic and well priced. The rooms are small even by Manhattan standards but are well designed, immaculately clean and mine was quite quiet. The staff at the front desk were efficient and courteous. The location is a bit off the beaten track but of no concern. In fact, everything I needed (Penn Station, Restaurant Row) were in easy walking distance. I definitely intend to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear MiamiGringo,
Thanks for your review. Next time you’re here be sure to ask anyone at the front desk about some of the new restaurants that have opened in the area and some new bars too. We are a block of the beaten track but that’s what makes it so quiet. When you call in to reserve your room be sure to have us pull up your previous reservation so we may offer to you a returning guest discount. Once again thanks for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 449 W. 36th Street, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#167 Business Hotel in New York City
#253 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards/Midtown West is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities.We are conveniently located in Manhattan Midtown West, just two blocks away from the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Guests are within walking distance from all that Midtown Manhattan has to offer, including world-famous restaurants, night clubs, art galleries, shopping and more. The hotel is three blocks away from New York City's subway system and within close proximity to both Penn Station and the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey.The GEM Hotel Midtown West offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast flat-panel LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards.While staying at this New York hotel, check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. You can also tour Manhattan with our GEMwalking tours.The GEM Hotel - Midtown West, an Ascend Collection hotel, is a sanctuary of luxury in a trendy Manhattan neighborhood. Guests will feel truly ensconced in an elegant, private and boutique atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.