We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Modern Townhome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sylvan Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Sylvan Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sylvan Guest House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sylvan Terrace, New York City, NY 10032 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 451 hotels in New York City
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and Modern Townhome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our family may have grown to include a 2- and 4-year-old, but our expectations for accommodations while traveling has remained the same: affordable, clean and a flavor of the city we are visiting. We found all of the above and more at the Sylvan Guest House 2-bedroom duplex.

The reservation process was easy and Julio responded quickly with both an email and phone call. He was receptive to questions about the Guest House and the surrounding areas. He also met us at the Townhome and gave us a tour of the house, helpful hints, and the key. Our vacation was off to a great start.

The area is beautiful and very family friendly. Sylvan Terrace (the actual road where the Guest House is located) has a long and rich history and it is evident that the little community of neighbors truly care about the area. An easy walk to 2 parks, for families with kids, oodles of street parking (although you have to do the street sweeping shuffle every couple of days), a grocery store and laundromat literally right down the street, and a 10-block walk to Starbucks and the subway for the A line. We drove to Riverdale to visit family and found the commute an easy 15 minute drive, visited the Bronx Zoo, another easy 15 minute drive and took the kids on the Staten Island Ferry, a 45 minute subway ride, which was an activity for the kids too. In my opinion, a great location!

The Guest House is a 2-story accommodation featuring the second and third floor of a 3-story townhome. It was very clean, and I'm a clean freak! The kitchen was terrific-we made dinner almost every night at "home" and even had our family over for dinner. It was very easy to entertain with the spacious floor plan and the back patio.

We had the joy of experiencing New York in 90+ degree weather (insert sarcasm here), but there are 2 window air conditioning units upstairs that comfortably cooled the entire house. The bedrooms are simple, clean and efficient. The bathrooms are updated and clean. There is even a hair dryer, cleaning supplies and a generous stock of bath towels. The kitchen also had a full size refrigerator that we quickly stocked with kid essentials.

Overall, the Sylvan Guest House was a home away from home! We so enjoyed ourselves, that we can't wait to make the drive again from Cleveland. Thank you Julio for sharing such a beautiful home!

Room Tip: On a side note, we also saw the 2-bedroom suite. It is located on the ground floor of the Guest hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

First impressions are important. Julio and his two lovely daughters were waiting for my family and I to arrive at the guest house. That was a nice touch. After a tour of the space, we were on our own, The house is comfortable and spacious (by NYC standards), the kitchen is well equiped, two bathrooms, who could ask for more? The outside patio with a large grill was an added bonus. Any savy traveler will know by the address and the price, that you are not in Mid-town, but you are within a very easy commute to all points of interest. The Guest house provided us with a comfy home base to return to after our daily adventures. We felt very safe in the neighborhood; it is a wonderful mix of ethnic diversity, full of friendly folks. I hope our daughter finds a job and an apartment in the city so we can come back to visit and stay at the Sylvan Guest House again.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to try new things and places! This is a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

A great place to stay if you need something within walking distance of New York Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia Medical School.
Has very large living room/kitchenette/dining area and two bedrooms. Nicely furnished in African motif and kitchen stocked with all essentials. Grocery store adjacent. Very quiet historic street. Never felt unsafe at all here. Easy access to subway. Owner extremely accommodating, pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

the apartment is very confortable and very well furnished. it is very close to the 163rd subway station.
Julio, the owner, is extremely kind and helpful.
in the end, I feel free to highly recommend the Sylvan Guest House in accordance with my experience. so, in my opinion, it is the perfect place at the perfect price, considering the room price average in NYC.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We need to be in NYC for a weekend for a friend's wedding. I haven't been to NY before, so i took the opportunity to extend my stay for a 4 days long weekend. Since i was travelling with 3 other people, we were all on a tight budget but also needed somewhere safe, clean and convenient.
Despite my other friend's discouragement on the location, i booked 3 nights at Sylan Guest house anyway.
Julio, own of the apartment was super nice, we arrived 7am friday morning and Julio geneously let us check in early. We checked in at around 8am and were able to have a quick nap and wash up. Subway station was 2 mins away, just around the cornor and train ride to downtown takes around 20-30min. I didn't find the area to be dangerous as described by my other friends, i felt safe walking from subway to the apartment at 1-2am at night..
In general, the place is good, if you don't mind a little bit of commute back and forth, we ended up paying less then those downtown shall hotel sharing bathroom with dozens of strangers on the floor...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

The main issue we have with this place is that it's not a motel / hotel set up - it's run by private owners and basically there are only 3 rooms spread throughout the terrace (not the entire terrace like what we thought was the case). Problem with that is there's no internet or phone facilties which is a real nightmare when it comes to travellers. no doubt the owners will be more than happy to help when we ask for assistance but when you are out early and back late it's not convenient to knock on their doors when you need to book that train /bus tickets late at night.
Location is too far from heart of new york. While i wouldn't say it's dangerous, it's a silent brisk walk back from the train station each night and a sigh of relief when we finally get into the room. It's a 20 min train (at least) to Times Sq as it's on a non-express train. Personally i think it's a waste of time travelling up and down each day esp when you are a tourist. With this in mind the price is rather steep for such a neighbourhood.
Rooms and facilities are still ok - but of course sans housekeeping so you will be better off getting a lower class hotel in the city with about the same price. Bear in mind also their cancellation policy.
overall i think it's not too bad but just not my cup of tea and definitely not deserving of the reviews/ranking it has so far. i don't mind staying here if i am on a working stint but not as a tourist strap for time and needing the basic internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

This is a wonderful chance to be in the city that never sleeps but still have your safe lovely street in Harlem!, looking like it is in an english little town. We were really surprised by this lovely guesthouse, friendly hosts and so easy to get into downtown New York! Although we stayed in Harlem, what might give you the idea that it would not be safe? We never felt unsafe at any moment, we came back late in the evening, walked through the neighbourhood, did our shopping and had nice contacts with the people.
Also, in the direct neighbourhood very lovely nice, affordable, hip, restaurants!
Just take the 163 street Metro and you will be in Manhattan in a short while taking the express train! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sylvan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sylvan Guest House

Address: Sylvan Terrace, New York City, NY 10032
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sylvan Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sylvan GuestHouse.Located on a quite, historic cobble stone street is a modern styled guesthouse with its own private entrance. Built in 1882, this renovated townhouse is located on Sylvan Terrace in Manhattan's Harlem Heights area. Sylvan Terrace has been published around the world and 30,000 tourists walk this block each year to experience the allure of a one of a kind street and the Morris Jumel Mansion, where George Washington once resided. Steps away from the C train, and one stop away from the #1 and A trains, this destination is close to grocery stores, pharmacies and laundry centers. Only 20 minutes from lower Manhattan, this residence is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Sylvan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sylvan Guest House Hotel New York City
The Sylvan Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sylvan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.