We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect rip-off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save w/Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #273 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the perfect rip-off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We had 2 laptops and 1 smartphone and they made us pay 3 times 10 $ PER DAY (so 30 $ per day !!!!) only to use them on the internet
When we complained, the told us : Sir, you had to know : in this hotel you have to pay again for every device you use...... (but is was not stated in the hotel policy)
Rooms where ok, but very very small
Location is not perfect
We were so angry we even left without having breakfast

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    482
    220
    89
    41
See reviews for
262
294
115
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

Five night stay the week of Christmas. Did I make the wrong hotel choice? For me, the answer is YES. For others, maybe not. This property was originally built as a condo development and the design flaws therein are self-evident. This place would have been called a "traveler's hotel" when that term was widely used to describe lower-end, budget hotels that had a high transient rate. But let me start with the positives. The staff was gracious, polite, professional and helpful. The hotel and rooms are clean. The bed was comfortable and there is a large flat screen TV in each room. It has windows that open enough for fresh air. The climate control works well. The street is very quiet for Manhattan. So, in essence, this is a very nice BUDGET hotel. Now here's the problem - I don't consider Doubletree to be a budget chain and I hadn't planned in staying in one on this trip. I've stayed in tons of Doubletrees, mostly on the West Coast. They tend to be comfortable, upscale properties. Not this one in New York's Chelsea neighborhood. This one has budget written all over it, from the tiny lobby to the two overworked elevators to the tiny hallways and tiny rooms. Not only are the hallways tiny, but the noise is awful. People slamming doors and talking loudly like they're right outside your door. It reminded me of living in a dorm or rooming house. As Hilton Diamond member, I thought I'd get upgraded to a larger room. But no, not here. They seem to attract a sort of Eurotrash family clientele and younger visitors to the Big Apple. Even though the staff has been most pleasant, I would not ever stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Minutes from Penn Station, easy access to rest of city. Although it was 9:00 AM they had and gave us a room. . It was cold but we walked to Rockafeller Center anyway , had lunch at Carnagie Deli , wandered to and gapped at Times Square.
The staff was very helpful and courteous. We will return when we come by train

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Located within walking distance south of Times Square – about 16 blocks – and a couple of blocks from the subway lines at Madison Square Garden, and a few blocks from the Empire State Building, and Macy's, the Doubletree Chelsea was a good choice.
Like most rooms in Manhattan, the room was very small, but it was decently appointed, with a small closet, a safe, a flat-screen t.v., and two comfortable queen-sized beds. The room still was not ready when we arrived at 5:00 p.m., but the staff was apologetic and courteous and made every effort to have the room available for us. We sat in the lobby and took advantage of the wireless internet for about 15 minutes before the room was ready.
The bathroom, like the room, was tiny but well appointed. Towels were large and thick and there seemed to be plenty of hot water. There was just no place to put down anything larger than a toothbrush.
We were on the 23rd floor and it was very quiet – there only seemed to be 10 rooms on a floor – and the elevators were reasonably prompt except around the peak hours.
All in all, the location was acceptable, the hotel was comfortable but not lavish, and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Less than any Hilton-family property in Manhatten; much less than even the Hampton inns. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Rooms are no smaller than most NYC rooms and very nicely furnished. If you are HHonors Gold or Diamond you get a great breakfast for free as well as free WiFi. The only negative is only two elevators for 27 floors and staff uses too as there is not even a service elevator. That said, other than peak it is not awful.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

The location was great, very close to many NY attractions including Penn Station which makes getting to and from the hotel convenient.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the warm cookies upon check-in at the Doubletree are always a nice treat.

Rooms are small-ish which is to be expected within New York City.

The one major downfall was that the hotel only has 2 elevators to service the whole building, so if you need to get anywhere in a hurry during busy hours be prepared to either wait or take the stairs.

All in all it was a good stay and it totally met our needs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend, and even though the elevators (only 2 and small) made us wait longer than we liked and the soda machines were nearly empty, the friendliness and efficiency of the staff made these inconveniences easy to overlook. Little details mean a lot to this team (pressing the call button for the elevator when they see you approaching the front door, the bellman being ready to help with luggage but not asking to take your bag and making you feel guilty for not allowing him to earn a tip, saying good morning to you and using your name, etc.) and these details made our stay one of the best we've had anywhere. The location is great, too. Only one block from a subway stop on the red line and easy to walk to Times Square and the theatres.
The room was a little small, but it was very clean and well appointed. The breakfast was very good, too. Plenty of hot protein as well as carbs and fats.
While we love to try new places, we will probably just stay here again the next time we visit NYC.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City

Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#189 Family Hotel in New York City
#225 Business Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.