We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being 1st time visitors to NYC this was a perfect choice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save w/Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #273 of 464 Hotels in New York City
London, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Being 1st time visitors to NYC this was a perfect choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Like many who have never been to "The Big Apple" we had no idea where to stay or what was reasonable to pay for our needs. After lots of researching we took a chance on his location and I am pleased we did!
Just like others have stated the rooms are not spacious, however who goes to NYC to sit in the room?! We are a family of 4 with 2 teenagers and we made it work for 3 nights..
Don't expect to find room for a rollout cot... In fact just finding room for the ironing board was a bit of a challenge, considering luggage.
The room was clean, as was the bathroom.
The hotel staff were very friendly and eager to please, should you require anything.
The location and reasonable price were the 2 biggest positives!
This location is on a side street, off 6th avenue. You can easily walk to Times Square, Penn Station or Madison Square Gardens.
The subway entrances are very close and the subway system is extremely easy to use.
If you are considering going down to see things such as the Brooklyn Bridge etc. it is a far walk, but a short subway ride.
We rode down, went to Brooklyn and walked back, through Chinatown, Little Italy, SOHO, all the way back to our out hotel, however that is a long walk!
The next day we walked to Central Park, but again a considerable hike.. However, lots to see and experience.
If you are a 1st time visitor, or heading to a sporting event at MSG this is a great location.
In regards to safety we walked in this neighborhood up until 1am and I never had any concerns about my families safety.

Room Tip: We choice a room with a view of the Empire State building, it was on the 26th floor. Being from Ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Luv2travel, thanks so much for your great review! It sounds like you got to see a great deal of New York City, and we are happy that you found the area to be safe. We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    482
    220
    89
    41
See reviews for
262
294
115
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at the Doubletree for four nights. It was our first trip to NYC and we weren't sure where to stay. In the end, this was great. Close to several metro stops, within a mile or two of Times Square and Central Park. We even had a great view of the Empire State Bldg, to boot! The room was small but not smaller than you'd expect for a mid-level price hotel in the city. Overall, new/newer hotel, very nice staff, clean rooms. A good value for the money in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
JARaz76, our team is very happy to know that you found our hotel to be a great value, and the staff to be nice. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Very small room that wasn't clean to the standard of a claimed 4-Star property. Expensive for what was received. I won't stay here again. Lousy, small, non-existent amenities. I've experienced this sort of let down from Doubletree Hotels the last year or so. There is a missing attention to detail virtually everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are sorry that we were unable to deliver the attention to detail you expected on your recent visit to our hotel. We do endeavor to attend to every detail possible, and our team does not want to let one guest down. We will certainly work that much harder to improve and consistently deliver our usually high level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at the Doubletree for one night and it was delightful! I travel to NYC as often as I can I'm probably there about every 6 to 8 weeks and I go for fun because Boston to me is sooooooo boring and I am a native Bostonian. Anyway Marina at the front desk was delightful and very professional. My room was great. My only complaint was the morons that stayed near me that were in and out of their rooms all night and the slowness of the elevators because of the size of the hotel - it's on the narrow side but honestly it was fine because I tend to spend the majority of my time in NYC exploring all of the FUN and INTERESTING things the city offers!! I would stay at this hotel again because the staff, room and location were all fine with me! See you all soon again!! The hotel is a hiiden gem! Also you can park across the street at the LAZ parking garage for only $22 for a 24 hour period - a BARGAIN in NYC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Susan, thank you for your fantastic review, and we are so glad you enjoy exploring our fair city! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

For the $350 per night price tag...you'd expect a bit more. First the rooms (or at least the 4 rooms that myself and my guests stayed in) all have loud AC/Heating units...meaning in the winter you either freeze or don't sleep because of the loud buzzing of Heater Unit (its loud btw....i know what these should sound like and these are not it!)....and in the summer you either melt or don't sleep because the AC is keeping you up.

Second, breakfast service is terrible....the 3 times I was there, I was in a hurry and waited 20 minutes at the table for a server to come. This is a business hotel, you'd think they'd realize at 8 AM on a Wed...people are in a rush.

Positives...rooms are clean, lobby is nice and you get cookies at check in. Nice touch.

Net Net...not worth the $350 a night. The Ace Hotel down the street is much better and you get much more for your dollar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
klodge, thank you for taking time to review our hotel, and for mentioning that you like our lobby, clean rooms, and welcome cookies. Please know that we take your concerns regarding our breakfast service very seriously. We like to provide a high level of service, especially for the most important meal of the day! These comments are reviewed by our leadership team so that we can improve our service, and take better care of our guests. We will also do what we can to address the noise level of our heating and cooling units in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights at the Doubletree in New York City. The service was great and the staff was helpful. It is centrally located in the city so we could go to Korea town to Macy's to Central Park and to various spots in the city. Considering the high prices in the city, it was within our budget to stay here=thank goodness. We could park our car across the street and we got a discount through the hotel.

Room Tip: As I mentioned, if you have a car when you're in the city, this is a good deal because one gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
joanko, we can't thank you enough for staying with us on your recent but brief visit to the city, and for your kind words. We hope that you will return soon, and we are working on Parking Packages to make driving to stay with us an even better deal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Complimentary cookie served upon arrival from the helpful and friendly reception staff. Very clean rooms and public areas, cleaned everyday to a high standard. Rooms were slightly small, but that is to be expected in NY. Breakfast was very good quality and served promptly. There was a member of staff available to assist in activities such as booking tickets to a Broadway show to booking a taxi. The location was impressive, just a short walk from Times Square and close to many restaurants and shops. Overall our stay here was great and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor will give a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We thank you so much, EmmaD, for such a great review, and thank you for staying with us! Our team enjoys knowing that their hard work is appreciated, and that you enjoyed our great location. We hope that you will be back to visit DoubleTree Chelsea, and the Big Apple, in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City

Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#189 Family Hotel in New York City
#225 Business Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.