We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & Smelly!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save w/ Bed
Ranked #273 of 457 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small & Smelly!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Besides location, this place has nothing else to offer. The rooms are tiny and super small and smell of smoke. Staff was friendly but slow to welcome guests. I was in town for business and opted to stay here this time. What a poor choice! It would have been better to stay at the Eventi around the corner. I was getting in late and was looking forward to a bath before getting a good night's sleep. However, the bathtub is so small; I kid you not when I say it's built for a child! I had called in advance to ask if the room I'd booked came with a tub and the receptionist said that all rooms come with a tub. She should have said, all rooms come with tubs large enough for a kid! I'm not a tall person so imagine how small this tub is. The room does not even have a refrigerator or minibar! To me, that is a tell tale sign of a subpar hotel. Save yourself a headache. Go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Don't come here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent business trip. We appreciate your candid review of our property, and in-room amenities. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements on an ongoing basis. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed, and will work to better communicate our amenities so as not to disappoint future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    436
    205
    81
    39
See reviews for
235
274
109
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ended up here unexpectedly and wanted to like it, but this has many short-comings.

Doubletrees seem more flexible about room-size, fit-out and standards than other Hilton brands and this falls at the low end of the spectrum even though it's just "renovated" which means new soft goods and carpets.

1. As others note, even for Manhattan - and the many new mid-block, interchangeable properties - the rooms are very, very small. Stayed in a queen facing street and can't imagine how they made some of these rooms double/doubles.
2. To get 10 rooms to a floor, the property only has 2 elevators. Stayed on 20 and the wait at peak hours was 5+ minutes (added by housekeeping also using the elevators at peak times). Not amused by the property's explanation that "like NY we experience traffic jams."
3. Sheets and towels might be new - but like the soft goods: definitely at bottom of Hilton spectrum thin and scratchy.
4. Staff seems overwhelmed and indifferent at best.

At the right price an OK option, housekeeping was OK, but the Hilton Fashion District is a much better option.

Note: if you are driving there is no valet parking. You must park at the Eventi at corner of 6th (no discount and no help if you have bags to carry).

Room Tip: Try the Hilton Fashion District or the Eventi if prices are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input on our properties layout and value and we will use your comments as we constantly evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. Please contact me directly if there were any staff interactions that were indifferent, as we work to make sure our team is engaged with our guests. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you the improved quality of service you expect and deserve from our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My fiance and I recently stayed at this Doubletree as part of their Employee Discount program, and needing something close to Times Square/Caroline's for a show we were seeing. The location of this hotel was fantastic. The front desk staff was very nice at check-in. We were only their for one night, so we didn't really have a lot of interaction with the staff. The rooms were OK --- small, but that's to be expected in NYC, and we had a few obvious stains on our carpet. The front of the building could really use some TLC. Granted, it's winter, but it looks extremely cold and dead with uprooted plants, and various things in black plastic bags... which is a shame, because it seems like the entrance could be really cute, warm, and welcoming. That's a first impression, you know? Other than that, not bad. We stayed on a very high floor, away from the elevator, so there were no noise issues at all. We would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: The front desk gave us a choice of WHERE we wanted our room --- so we agreed to high floor away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
XtristateX, congratulations on your engagement, and thank you for staying with us! We also appreciate the fact that you took the time to post a review, and we are currently working on improving the "curb appeal" of our hotel. We hope that you do come back to stay with us, and enjoy the improvements on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The most poorly designed hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay at for a business trip. YES it's a 200 sq ft room and the staff has to defend it as normal? This was built this way for only one reason it was cheaper to build and operate. This building does not even encroach on it property lines. There was room to build out. There was room to add another elevator besides the two slow and always full ones. Then there would have been room for the maids to store their vacuum cleaners in a closet and not the 2 floor hall way over night see photo. The webiste photos do show an armoire/dresser/desk. The top of the dresser holds only the flat screen TV and nothing else. The desk holds a laptop and nothing else. The top drawer of the dresser is the default home for the Coffee maker, coffee butler, the ice bucket and glasses. The desk chair is armless so it would fit between the end of the bed and the desk. But the was not designed to raise higher than chest level at the desk. This made working on the computer unmanageable. If you have work to do while staying, think again. How is this considered a DOUBLETREE and not a hostel?
TO ADD INSULT TO INJURY SEVERAL OF THE FLOORS ARE UNDERGOING RENOVATION AND THEY ARE NOT OUT OF INVENTORY. No word of this on the website. Unpainted hallways, unnumbered rooms with taped signs identifying them, exposed light fixtures, glaring your way to your room see photos. All this luxury at full rate.
The staff is the only redeeming thing for this hotel. Too bad they didn't have a better property. Just know what the animal is before booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
At our hotel, we know that the look and feel of our guestrooms is very important and they are an important factor in our focus on a great guest experience. artieboy, reviews like yours have led us to the guestroom renovations you encountered and we hope you will forgive the state of construction during your stay. New carpeting and wall vinyl installation on all floors is completed, as well as installation of new, more adjustable and modern looking desk chairs, and smaller desk lamps to give you more space to work on your desk. Thank you for your review, and your positive words regarding our staff. We understand your frustration with our improving property and hope that the next time your travels bring you to the area you’ll stay with us and tell us what you think about our new guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Average: I'm not a casual hotel visitor, I nearly live in hotels for work.
STAY=1wk
LOCATION = 9. Walking distance to many different NY sites. to many to name (time square)
PARKING = 3 Parking is expensive however this is to be expected in NY. I was somewhat discounted as a HHonors member. the parking is a bit away from the hotel and space up front to unload and load is very limited. You may have to circle the block a few times.
VALUE=is very good, in Jan. not sure if this goes up in the warmer months but 139 per night in NY is excellent. I was upgraded to a top floor overlooking freedom tower (the site of the twin towers).
ROOM= extremely small... tiny. Cramped! hard to believe this was a double tree the rooms were so small.
SERVICE= 10 staff were excellent. did a bunch of things to accommodate us. very friendly and pleasant.
INTERNET=10 no cutting out no issues with connection

Room Tip: Try to get top floor facing the freedom tower. It's quite beautiful at night as well as the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
jeannibeanie, thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. Our entire team appreciates your input as a frequent traveler and we will use your comments as we constantly look for ways to better meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We are happy to know that you liked our location and the service provided by our staff. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you the quality and value you expect from our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Prices are fantastic and location is nice. It's not in a super touristy part of Manhattan, which is great for those of us who want to avoid first-time visitors (my worst nightmare is having to stay in Times Square, but to each your own!) to the city. Lots of transportation close by and it's only a 10 min walk to Penn Station where you can grab the train to JFK. Rooms were clean and comfortable, albeit small, but who spends that much time in their room in the city? My only complaint is that the elevators are extremely slow. We'd have to wait in line for anywhere from 5 - 15 minutes just to get on. If I would stay again, I'd request a low floor so that we could use the stairs!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Victoria, thank you for staying with us, and we are very happy to know that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable, and our location to be to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to New York City very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When I first saw our room, I was struck by how small it seemed. Then I realized it's NYC and most of the rooms are small, even though the hotels charge such high prices. From what I understand, our room was very reasonable, and I suppose it was considering we split the cost 4 ways. Anyway, this hotel was a perfect location since we were seeing places in lower Manhattan and in upper Manhattan. It was a great place for dropping off purchases before we headed in another direction. The elevators are small, and they are slow...there are only 2 elevators for the hotel. The rooms were small, but they served the purpose of providing a place to sleep since we weren't in NYC to hang out at our hotel. The bar/grill was pricey, but the food and drink were good. It is located near subway entrances and Penn Station. We chose to eat breakfast at McDonald's around the corner to save on money. The hotel breakfast was very pricey! I would stay here again...no problems. The staff was very nice and brought us extra towels when we asked. Oh, we could see the top of the Empire State Building from our room...not a shabby view!

Room Tip: If possible, stay on the West 29th street side so you can see the ESB from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
walkingteach, it's great that you enjoyed the view of the Empire State Building from your room, the central location, and our nice staff! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City

Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Chelsea New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.