We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Greek Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine

Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine
382 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001-4848 (Chelsea)
212-609-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,203 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: Corner 29th Street
Transit: Trains A & E @ Penn station # 1 @ 28th & 7th ave
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from enjoying one of the best Greek meals I've ever had.
Truely delicious and authentic Greek dishes in a warm and welcoming setting.
Service was great, really friendly and helpful!
Highly recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    56
    23
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“YUM! YUM! YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Wow! This place was great! We booked late and we accommodated easily. Greeted by friendly staff on arrival and seated quickly. The food was awesome! Great selection for all people, including the kids (4 and 7) who actually ate the food!!
One if our meals took a while to come, and they gave us 2 free desserts as an apology!

Will go back again if ever in NYC

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The food was good (although salty), especially the flaming cheese and the fresh fish. The portions were very large. It is a great value for New York City! If you are looking for a Greek restaurant and a great value, this is the place to go.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“needs to wipe away the cobwebs from the laurels”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

i knew it was not going to be what i had so looked forward to when i asked the waiter how long Uncle Nicks had been around and he answered "about 5 or 6 years"....this is a restaurant whose walls are plastered with 5 diamond awards dating back to 1998!!!!!!
the service was poor.....uninterested.....the food was average.....and then they add 18% gratuity on a table of 4???
certainly nto value for money and as we live literally around the corner it could have easily become our "regular"but unfortunatly it wont......

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Chelsea option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Met my sister last night for dinner at Uncle Nick's on Eight Avenue and 29th street (she needed to be close to catch a train back home in NJ) and was very impressed with Uncle Nick's. I was there with my wife and we started with the Inopikilia for 2 (hot & cold appetizers--octopus, sausage, keftedakia, dips, pita bread, olives, feta cheese, peppers, tomatoes and cucumbers) for the table, which was both delicious and plenty for the three of us. For the mains, we had the grilled squid, the snapper and the striped bass (the latter two were served whole fish style). Everything was delicious. And the wait staff team was responsive and very friendly.

Opa!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.