We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine

Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine
382 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001-4848
212-609-0500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,497 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Corner 29th Street
Transit: Trains A & E @ Penn station # 1 @ 28th & 7th ave
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food was good (although salty), especially the flaming cheese and the fresh fish. The portions were very large. It is a great value for New York City! If you are looking for a Greek restaurant and a great value, this is the place to go.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    44
    21
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“needs to wipe away the cobwebs from the laurels”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

i knew it was not going to be what i had so looked forward to when i asked the waiter how long Uncle Nicks had been around and he answered "about 5 or 6 years"....this is a restaurant whose walls are plastered with 5 diamond awards dating back to 1998!!!!!!
the service was poor.....uninterested.....the food was average.....and then they add 18% gratuity on a table of 4???
certainly nto value for money and as we live literally around the corner it could have easily become our "regular"but unfortunatly it wont......

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Chelsea option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Met my sister last night for dinner at Uncle Nick's on Eight Avenue and 29th street (she needed to be close to catch a train back home in NJ) and was very impressed with Uncle Nick's. I was there with my wife and we started with the Inopikilia for 2 (hot & cold appetizers--octopus, sausage, keftedakia, dips, pita bread, olives, feta cheese, peppers, tomatoes and cucumbers) for the table, which was both delicious and plenty for the three of us. For the mains, we had the grilled squid, the snapper and the striped bass (the latter two were served whole fish style). Everything was delicious. And the wait staff team was responsive and very friendly.

Opa!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Greek restaurant off the beaten pth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

On the fringe of Chelsea this is a great place to have a week-end brunch or dinner. The food is well prepared and very tasty.Both the moussaka and souvlaka (sp?) are to be recommended. The Greek yogurt appetizer is a welcome start to the meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
363 helpful votes 363 helpful votes
“Good food, popular place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent food and I especially enjoyed their huge Greek Salad which we split between 3 people, and could be a meal in itself.  The Chicken skewers were good as was the rice.  Baklava was not as sweet as I thought it should be.  Go early as the place was filled by 7:30 on a Tuesday night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Nick's Greek Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.