We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Paradise in New York!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Save
You added Mount Morris House to your Saves list
12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 95 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our Paradise in New York!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Every time we return we love the place more and more....the beautiful house , the big rooms, Vassilis and Dimitris, the neighbourhood...with nice restaurants around the corner...busstop in front of the door and the Subway close, pristine snow in the park....thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
72
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have just returned from 8 wonderful days staying at the Mount Morris House. From the start everything was great.Vasili made us feel very welcome from the start and helped us settle in very quickly.
It is situated opposite the Park in a lovely residential street. The house is beautiful, and so tastefully done. The room was wonderful, large and spacious with a huge bathroom. We had maid service daily, it was spotless. The bed and pillows were so comfy, slept better than we do at home. They really have thought of everything to ensure you are comfortable, but if you need anything just ask! We had daily supplies of delicious freshly baked cake, cookies and as much tea, coffee you could drink. There is a bus stop for M1 bus outside which takes you downtown. Or you have 5 min walk to either 116 street or 125 street for subway. We got a 7 day travel pass for $30 , which you could use on bus and subway . Harlem is wonderful, our favourite place, the locals are lovely friendly people, has a wonderful charm, we felt very safe, and couldnt wait to get back to Harlem after a day seeing the sights. For breakfast , brunch and dinner you have Cafe Latte by 116 street and Amy Ruth's off the corner of 116 street. Amys does the best soulfood, you must try there waffles and fried chicken and the staff are lovely. There is also a small Levain Bakery on Frederick Douglas Boulevard about 10mins which does amazing cookies, try dark chocolate and peanut butter cookies and their blueberry muffin is to die for. They have excellent supetmarket by 116street that does lovely fresh food. The Harlem Shake does great burgers too. We loved NewYork, so much to do and see. If you want to do the tourist sites it may work out cheaper if you get a city pass as you get in to quite a few places. The high line is a must, amazing scenery and loads of places to eat round there. Vasili was a wonderful host and made sure we felt comfortable in his wonderful home The day we got married at the city hall he surprised us with champagne and roses, he truly was a lovely host.

Katy and Enrique

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Despite the B&B website with guests raving about their breakfast, there was no such breakfast provided and we were told that we were so informed in an email. When I returned home, I did find a line that breakfast was not provided. They did have a "butler's area" with a small fridge and where you could make toast, coffee or tea. Thankfully there was a cafe, recommended by the owner of the B&B, within a couple of blocks that had a spectacular breakfast and the best coffee we have ever experienced in a cafe or restaurant. The B&B was restored in spectacular fashion, the room was extremely spacious and clean. Maid service was provided daily - no need to make the bed. It was within walking distance of the No. 2 or 3 subway downtown. It was in the heart of Harlem about four blocks from the Marting Luther King Blvd/Lenox Avenue intersection.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Go no further than this beautiful brownstone home , that caters not only a great location to get around NYC but behind this great wooden door is your key to calm, spaciousness, and peace of mind. You will sleep in beautiful beds, have clean surroundings , treats baked that day awaiting the weary traveller when you get home ,but a sense of being part of this neighbourhood and a sense of security of being " at home". If that's not enough you will be welcomed by your hosts into their wonderful home of art, colour , furnishings and history of this grand dame.






It's a busy action packed city , to come home each night and feel total relaxation and peace of mind in an atmosphere of calm , the "at home "experience that Vasili and Dimitri offer at their home and BNB would be difficult to equal.
We were met by our lovely host Vasilli , who explained and introduced , and welcomed us to the Harlem neighbourhood and the history of this beautiful home. How generous they are to open up their home. Once in ,and behind the wooden door exists a wonderland of beautiful colour, art and furnishings that only add to the experience of reading in the lounge or reading in the library or eating in the dining room, you can't help but be a sponge to the beauty of this brownstone home. The kitchen and 24 hour butlers pantry had every tea you may need and coffee ,how you like, with beautiful home cooked treats awaiting the weary day traveller. It was like coming home after school to mums home cooking!
The bedrooms are expansive compared to the hotel rooms in midtown, plenty of room to spread out , and the windows that open to the light and sounds of the neighbourhood. Beautiful marble bathrooms only add to luxury, cable TV and desk , hair dryer , any mod cons are there, what I really liked about this home, was that it was just that - a home.
We stayed in one of the bedrooms at the back, so pretty quiet. We could have been the only people there for all we knew, but we know there the house was full. All very respectful guests , doing what we were doing coming in late leaving early on their exploration of the city.
Every night we came home to our cleaned and fresh room , courtesy of the wonderful house cleaners .
By staying in this home , it gives the traveller a sense of belonging into this community. We loved the restaurants and gospel singing at the local churches, and a real treat was going to amateur night at the Apollo Theatre.
As far as transport goes , you can walk to anywhere whether it be for a coffee, deli, just to the park. You are 10 mins walk from 2 or 3 red train on the subway either at 116th street or 125th street. The bus is just around the corner to travel downtown on 5th avenue.So going to Broadway for a show , had you home in bed within the hour. You can't help but love those trains and of course there's always the taxi.
I can't compliment this house enough as you can read, but in a city of millions of commuters and tourists, it was so good to feel that you belonged, Thankyou Mount Morris House, thanks V and D. We will be returning! K and J. Australia.

Room Tip: We had a back room of the house which was great for us , it is spring at present, you would have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

To all my friends and everyone searching for the best stay in NY. You dont need to search anymore. Contact Mt Morris House, and you will find the best hosts in NY, a warm georgious home, a clean lovely flat, and neighbours wishing you a good morning, in the safe and comfortable neighborhood. It has a very convinient location, lots of lovely restaurants, shops, and subway/busstops is close to the block.
Me, my wife and friends will be back.
Thankyou for your wellcome and perfect stay.
Svein Oldeide, Norway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Loved the Harlem location friendly and always felt safe. Great host who added to the experience. No breakfast but snacks and coffee 24 hrs a day, very clean and comfortable room. You really felt you weren't in the city after hectic days being a tourist.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

For the second spring in a row, I met friends for another lovely stay at Mt Morris House. The hosts are the best in the city, and their home is gorgeous. The room was very clean and well appointed and I could not have felt more at home. I love the neighborhood, with the beautiful blooming Marcus Garvey Park right across the street. There are dozens of wonderful restaurants within blocks, as well as shops and close subway and bus stops. This is a very convenient location and a safe and extremely comfortable neighborhood. I am at home here and I love it and can't wait
to return. Thank you for another perfect stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Morris House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.