We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Save
You added Mount Morris House to your Saves list
12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My home in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a charming 19th century house typical of that era. The house is charming and our room was spacious. It is impeccably clean. The owner is very pleasant. We enjoyed the little breakfast kitchen and the large dining room. Having tea in the living room at the end of a day was very nice. The stop for the bus that takes us to the museum mile is just a few steps from the house. There is a short walk to the subway station The neighbourhood is pleasant; it is residential and quiet at night. There are a numbers of good restaurants as well as a supermarket and a pharmacy near by. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
72
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Mount Morris House is an absolute sanctuary from the hustle of NYC. The house is calm and beautiful and it was a pleasure to return there at the end of a days sightseeing. The b and b is in a quiet and safe neighbourhood with everything you need close by. The owner is charming and you should definately try his recommneded local cafes and restaurants - especially Cafe Latte for breakfast and Bad Horse Pizza for the best pizza we have eaten.

The room was delightful with a really comfortable bed and lovely bathroom and we really appreciated the pantry with a wide variety of drinks and home made cakes available 24 hrs a day.

All in all a wonderful place to stay in new York which I would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Oh my gosh, this bed and breakfast was like stepping back in time! After reading all the great reviews online about Mount Morris House, we decided to book it, and BOY! Am I ever glad we did. Vasili was absolutely wonderful to work with- he greeted us when we arrived super early in the morning, and gave us some great recommendations around Harlem to check out. Everything about the bed and breakfast was immaculate, and both my boyfriend and I said that this was the best place we've ever stayed. Everything was furnished in period furniture, and the room we stayed in was huge! You can tell that this is a place that was made with love, and we felt so at home while there. The bed was super comfortable, shower was great, and it was so nice and quiet, we slept like babies every night. Harlem was such a vibrant place to stay, and the whole time we were there we felt very safe. There were a lot of great restaurants within walking distance, and the subway stop was only a few blocks away. We already can't wait to go back and stay at Mount Morris House! It was such a treat to stay there- thanks again Vasili!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

For our first visit to New York last month (March 2014) we were extremely lucky to chance upon Mount Morris House near 125th St in Harlem, a short walk to Central Park, just a block away from Fifth Avenue and with easy access to the red and green subway lines. The weather was cold but the hospitality was warm.
Vasili is a wonderful host and fixer and made life easy for us; he sorted us out with advice on eating out and entertainment in the area, lent us a mobile phone when we needed it, arranged theatre and taxi bookings and organised an emergency trip to the dentist. And I haven’t mentioned the home-made cakes and cookies always on hand in the guest kitchen.
The property is beautiful, extremely comfortable and very well maintained. My husband, daughter and I stayed in the Sage suite which more than exceeded our expectations, with plenty of room and a fantastic bathroom.
We found Harlem a great vibrant base which we may otherwise not have explored. Thanks Vasili.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Where do I start from... The building is great, loved that they kept it as it was originally. The furniture, the decorations everything was great. The location is equally great as it is only a few blocks of the Central Park in an excellent location full of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants!
The people there were excellent, very friendly and always helpful! Made my experience simply brilliant!

Looking forward to come back to NY and of course to Mount Morris! I would totally recommend this if you go to NY!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

A lovely, original, 1888 Brownstone opposite a quiet park. 5-10 mins from serious transit routes. Walking distance to lots of great eateries. Host great, very helpful.
Only gripes very minor .... Ice w'd be nice! Friday night partying next door on our level was a bother, but they stopped..... Thank God! .... At about 11.30.
Will certainly return next time in NY.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The house is beautiful. The hosts were friendly and very hospitable, bringing us brownies and having a glass of wine with us on the first night to help us settle in and understand the area.

We slept 6 people comfortably in the top floor apartment and for such an amazing price. The metro was close and easy. We were even lucky enough to cheer on the marathon with all the neighbours which ran right outside the apartment block.

The homely accommodation made the trip, as we spent all day walking around and so could not wait to get into the comfy beds to rest, ready for the next day.

I could not recommend this place in any higher esteem.

Room Tip: We had the whole of the top floor apartment and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Morris House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.