We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Save
You added Mount Morris House to your Saves list
12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here on 13th oct for 1week, from the moment we arrived we were treated like family which really allowed us to relax and have a fantastic break. The 2 owners Vasile and Dimitri were vey helpful and gave us some great tips of where to eat and how to get around. The room was spotlessly clean and housekeeper came in every day tidying around. We were on the first floor at the back which had a side view of Marcus Garvey park. The area was very quiet at night compared to downtown so a peaceful sleep was greatly appreciated. Tea,coffee and cake was always available no matter what time of day or night you wanted ( nice when you arrive home late and tired). Bowl of sweets were also available near front door if you desired. Room felt very secure and safe so we didn't worry about leaving any items sitting about when we were out. Although this area is in Harlem we didn't find any issues and ate and drunk in some of the establishments close . In all we had a great time and being in this establishment gave us the chance to enjoy New York and still see places we wouldn't have planned to visit. We would recommend this House to anyone and we will definitely be returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
71
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Mount Morris House in the Terracotta Suite as 2 couples. The room was immaculate everyday and the overall house was beautiful. It is clear the owners take great pride in decor and cleanliness. It was close to the subway and we felt perfectly safe walking around at night time and during the day! Dimitri was very helpful, including printing some tickets for us for a game and booking our taxi back to the airport.

The daily cakes were delicious and never ending! Tea and coffee facilities were available and we had a fridge in our room too. If we go back to New York we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We came to NYC for the US Open and decided to stay somewhere other than a typical hotel. WOW, what a great decision. This is not a house, it is a home. A gorgeous home. We felt like we were staying with a dear friend. Thank you Dimitri. Our 16 year old said it best...."I never want to stay in a hotel again." I guess you're stuck with us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sage. Easily can sleep five with comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this B&B (without breakfast) for 4 nights with our family. It as a very nice experience. The suite that we stayed in (Terracotta Suite) was very large and beautifully decorated. The whole house is a gem. The location is very good: a nice, quiet part of South Harlem, just one block away from major subway stations. Better then any 5* hotel! Would surely return here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Everything expected. On the edge of harlem, full of characters, superb food and different to usual NY fare. House is nice, overlooking park and very handy for subway. Owners helpful and pleasant. Quiet location but close to the best soul food around, not touristy...yet but getting there.
Family rooms large and comfortable, family of four all enjoyed stay, cookies, never switched the tv on which for my lot is a minor miracle!

Room Tip: Terracotta suite ideal for family of four, recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My friend and I decided to stay out of the mainstream of Manhattan, and found Mount Morris house on the Net. We liked the look of the Brownstone house, and the choice was a good one. We enjoyed the quiet, shabby elegance of the house every day for 2 weeks. We met some amazing people in our time there, always a plus to meet interesting people from all walks and cultures.
We had some great conversations, with other guests, and with our host Dimitri. Great coffee at all hours, and ability to have breakfast (our choice and fridge available), and nibbles or cheap dinner because of fridge!
If you want to experience New York life in Harlem, this is a great place to stay,,because it's right outside your doorstep, with a small park across the road and a 10 minute walk to the north end of Central Park. There is a church on every corner, if you want to worship. Avoid full gospel 'shows' if you want the real thing, and check out some good eateries like Lucienne.
Really felt safe every day in this district, and was helped by many people when struggling with luggage, mostly by black people. I'm a whitie, I like Harlem!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first leg of our honeymoon, it was lovely! Dimitri, the owner, was very hospitable and extremely helpful. Our room was stunning-absolutely huge! And so was the bathroom, with a spacious shower and roll top bath. Our room was cleaned everyday. The accommodation compensated on how far we were from midtown but it was still only a 15 minute subway ride away and the nearest subway station was a 5 minute walk. We ate at The Red Rooster-amazing, Harlem Shake-very tasty and for breakfast Appleby's. All in all my husband and I would thoroughly recommend Mount Morris House.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Morris House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.