We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B in Harlem brownstone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Save
You added Mount Morris House to your Saves list
12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027 (Harlem)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 95 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fox River Grove, IL
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great B & B in Harlem brownstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We booked this B&B because of positive Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. It is great! Host Vasilis is wonderfully helpful, even offering to respond to questions via TXT if needed. The house is nicely decorated. Our room was large, air conditioned, with everything we needed or wanted. Breakfasts were a nice "continental plus." (By that, I mean it included at least hard boiled eggs every day, plus breads, yogurts, juice, tea/coffee.) The warm croissants are a highlight. The neighborhood has character, and it's nice to get out of downtown and into an area where real people live. Subway is a short walk, and one of the nearby lines has express trains that put you at Times Square in about 15 minutes. We concur with other Trip Advisor reviewers regarding safety. "Harlem" may conjure up fearful images (friends asked us, "You're seriously staying in Harlem?"), but we felt safe throughout our visit. One just has to use normal city-smarts that are appropriate in any large city. We rode the subway "home" after the theater and felt perfectly safe. There are also bus lines that pass in front of the house, and we took one down 5th Avenue to the museums (Guggenheim, Met). All in all, this was a great stay and we will definintely return to Mt. Morris House when we return to New York!

Room Tip: Book early - this is a popular B & B!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
72
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at Mount Morris House for 6 nights in June 2011. The house is a Victorian-era mansion just to the north of Central Park, and on the southern edge of Harlem. The accommodation was first class. We had a large suite of rooms, elegantly furnished and extremely comfortable. The breakfasts here were also excellent and were taken in a grand dining room. As the establishment is run as a b&b, we enjoyed the benefit of congenial breakfasts with the other guests. All of my description would be sufficient to recommend Mount Morris House to prospective visitors, who want good quality accommodation, convenience for New York's many attractions, and not to have to pay the often extortionate hotel costs associated with large hotels in Central Manhatten. However, the crowning glory of this b&b was the host, Vasili, who was charming, knowledgeable and very helpful. The title of my review summarises Mount Morris House well - it is a real gem

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was our first trip to New York and staying at Mount Morris was the real highlight of our trip.What an elegant oasis of peace and quiet to return to at the end of a hectic day.A beautiful ,clean,large airy bedroom and a sumptuous breakfast to die for.Hosts who treated you like family-amazing,thanks guys,can"t wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This is a great place to stay in NYC. We were here 4 years ago and it's just as good or better now. My husband is originally from NYC and at that time thought Harlem too dangerous. I called two police precincts in the area and they gave it very safe reviews, so we went for 5 days. The rest is history and when we go to NYC we stay with Vasili.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

An unexpected, unique and exceptional experience in the heart of NYC!
In their amazing, spotless home, decorated with a perfect taste, our hosts welcomed our family for the celebration of our Dad's 80th Birthday.
All along our stay, we felt treated with much respect and consideration in every detail:
the homemade breakfast was delicious, the dining room is amazing...all bedrooms were spotless, and the beds were very comfortable.
The bus stops just in front of the house and will take you directly on 5th Ave.
There is a quiet little park just across the street, very convenient if you have children!
Thank you Vasili and Dimitri for this unforgettable stay, way beyond our expectations!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

My college roommates and I met in New York City after 43 years to celebrate our 60th birthdays. We wanted to experience NYC but also wanted to be able to get away from the crowds. Mount Morris House was the answer to our needs. It was elegant but very reasonably priced. The rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable. The house is a short walk from the subway station and walking distance to Central Park. The owners went out of their way to help us make restaurant and activity decisions. The breakfast was excellent. We had nothing but positive experiences here, can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Loved the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed at Mount Morris House with my mom for 5 days. Everything about Mount Morris was amazing. The room was beautiful, spacious and quiet. We were able to relax with a cup of tea after our long day. Dmitri and Vasili were very kind. Both my mom and I were very satisfied with our stay and would recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Morris House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.