We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel. Good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ipanema Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ipanema Chalet
Save
You added Ipanema Chalet to your Saves list
13 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ok hotel. Good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The location is strategic. Its on 46th St between the 5th and 6th AVE. A nice grocessory store right infront of the hotel. That is useful because you will have a microwave, a coffee maker, a fridge and basically a small kitchen. Our first impression (Me and wife) was the feeling that it was not very spacious. Especially after a 21-hour trip, we were expecting more. But after that first night sleep we saw it was ok. Honestly the room was clean. It had a small TV. Not much TV channels to choose from. One or two latin channels + CNN. Clean bathroom with towels. Hot water available. They had one heater in the room that warmed it up enough for us. NYC got cold in November. 4 C at night. The WIFI was free and the signal was strong. The wifi was a big deal for us and it made a difference.


You can easily walk to Times square. The Rockafeller subway station is 3 mintues away on foot. Just on the right in 6th AVE st. Our room was facing the street. It wasn't noisy. except for one late night, while I was trying to sleep, I heard the garbage truck outside doing something. That was it. Sometimes you may be able to hear the footsteps of your guest neighbours in the adjacent rooms. But Its nothing major. Silence most of the time. Overall, it was peaceful.

The hotel has its own restuarant which serves Brazilion Food. Delicious actually. Theres no complimentary breakfast or roomservice.The Housekeeping is all about one nice guy called Joao. He cleans the room daily. He would never knock on the door or bother us. He would wait till we left the room, even at 4pm, and then he would go in and do his thing. Jorge is the manager. He is a nice guy in person. He makes the arrangements for everything concerning reservations. There is no reception. No one to carry your luggage for you. But you do not need that, because this is an apartment hotel. Once you walk in the building , the elevator is 5 meters away. The room had no safe. For two adults the bed is a bit small. We slept comfortably but the bed's small dimensions were smaller than usual. Mind you we are 2 adults who wear medium size shirts.


For the amenities we got, and the location of the hotel, I think the price was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    61
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
39
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It's a hotel for Braziians. Good localization and prices. You can buy stuffs on a market close the hotel and make you cook. Clean and safe. Of course, don't wait the service of Waldorf Astoria. There's a one big problem: it's always crowded. Do the reservation with very advance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIO DE JANEIRO
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The location of this hotel is awsome.Joao e Jorge so nice people, they helped us with everything we needed and the rooms are clean and the shower is very good. We have a refrigerator, a microwave and an oven to make food if we wanted. The wi fi is free. Excellent option. We will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

Even though this hotel is near the best sites of NYC (2 blocks from Times Square and 1 block from the best of the 5th Ave), the local is calm and silent. The people who work there are very friendly, and the rooms are clean and usefull. I will go there again, certainly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed there for 5 days in June 2011!

The place is managed by brazilians, it's located at Little Brazil Street and at the same building of Ipanema Restaurant (a very good choice for those who are missing brazilian food).

The room is good, clean and there is a little kitchen inside the room but the TV didn't work well when I was there! Just Globo and ABC were working! They have Globo and Record International (brazilian channels) in their Cable TV.

It's a little noisy but it's New York! For those who want to stay near Times Sq, this is the place to stay!

I recommend this place for those that have never been in NYC because is close to many landmarks!

At the same street has a bakery that offers some options for breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

That was my fourth trip to New York and the best acomodation that i had was the Ipanema Challet far a way. The room was cleaned every day. We had a freezer , microwave, the shower is very god. The maneger Mr. Jorge and João take a very good care of that place and give all the orientations to the guestes. The location is in the heart of the city near all the most important atractions of the like : Times Square , Central Park , 5th avenue , restaurants and etc , etc ,etc. If you are looking for a nice place to stay , safe, close to the most important landmarcks of that city dont, think twice : book a room at the Ipanema Chalet .

Room Tip: There are two delly's close the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

I've stayed there in November with my husband and we were very satisfied, the rooms were very good, they have a brazilian channel and the localization is near of the subway.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ipanema Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Chalet

Address: 13 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ipanema Chalet Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ipanema Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.