We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SOCARRAT Paella Bar Chelsea

SOCARRAT Paella Bar Chelsea
259 W 19th St, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)
212 462 1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
SOCARRAT Paella Bar Chelsea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,413 of 11,776 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Wine Bar, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: Between 7th & 8th Ave
Transit: Close to A, C, E, L and the 1 train.
Description: With three locations in Manhattan, our menu features paellas, tapas, and vino from all regions of Spain. The Midtown East location, has full bar and plenty of room for private events- come celebrate your party here!! Join us for a Spanish brunch, a delicious dinner, or a glass of wine at the bar. All our locations are open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and we welcome reservations and walk-ins. We also offer catering and are available to customize a menu for your own special event.
Barletta, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

It has been a nice surprise this paella bar in Chelsea. The atmosphere is really European and there was a genuine Spanish sophistication. The waiters were great: the were really professional (yes, they deserved the tip!). The food was mainly great! I had one of the greatest sangria in NYC with a gorgeous serrano ham. The paella reminded me the one I had in Santa Caterina in Barcelona last year... Delicious! They should improve the quality of the desserts, but overall it has been a great and nice experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    36
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

What a nice little surprise for my friends and me when we stumbled upon this restaurant on 2nd Ave midtown. The kitchen was open till 11pm we walked in at 10:45. We were not rushed at all. The waiter was nice, funny and professional. He made great suggestions for the bottle of wine. The paella was awesome and the perfect amount for the three of us. It was so good we contemplated going back the next night to try a different paella. We didn't then but I will be going back. Great time and great food.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Very good Tapas Bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Delightful experience among friends, the food is great, the staff is very polite and friendly. I am vegetarian and I still found some good opportunities, while my guests, carnivores, ate a delicious paella. Very good drinks. It was, undoubtedly, a nice evening. I my humble opinion, I highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The paella was great, wanted it a little crusty at the bottom but it was really good nonetheless. Scallops was wonderful, too, but the serving was small. The waiter was annoyingly pushy and wanted me to order all sorts of food on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food good, atmosphere, not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My adult son and I ordered the arroz negro paella, which was very good and the portions were appropriate to share between two people. My problem was with the seating arrangements. We were seated at a long bar table , with dinner companions placed across from each other. Unfortunately you are literally rubbing elbows with the people next to you. The guy on my right continually snorted back into his head what ever was in his nasal passages, then took the t-shirt that he was wearing and wiped his whole face with it. I realize that dining establishments are not responsible for the personal hygiene practices of their patrons, but this was just gross, especially at such close proximity.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOCARRAT Paella Bar Chelsea also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to SOCARRAT Paella Bar Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SOCARRAT Paella Bar Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.