We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, great paella, average tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Socarrat Paella Bar

Socarrat Paella Bar
259 W 19th St, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)
(212) 462-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Socarrat Paella Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,383 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: Between 7th & 8th Ave
Transit: Close to A, C, E, L and the 1 train.
Description: Socarrat Paella Bar's ambiance denotes feelings of warmth, comfort and hospitality. A neighborhood staple with a small, intimate space comprised primarily of one large communal table with bar and table seating also available. Socarrat, the quintessence of the perfect paella and for which the restaurant is named, is the delectable, sensuous crust that forms on the bottom of the paella pan when the liquid is rendered and the rice reaches its peak of succulence. The menu, an authentic array of delicious dishes from the regions of Spain specializing in traditional tapas with an accent on paella and fideua (which substitutes fried noodles for rice) that can be characterized as a true exploration for the palette. Socarrat also offers several tapas, wines by the glass, Spanish desserts, and sangria.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, great paella, average tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place to meet with friends to chat on a breezy night. We were seated by the open patio windows which was awesome! The tapas were good but the star of the evening was the paella! We had the paella named after the house and it was covered with seafood. The tapas we had before were decent but a bit pricey for what came to the table. We ended with the chocolate doughnuts, which were more like deep fried truffles!

Overall definitely a great evening and place to catch up with old friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    36
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding food near Joyce Theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Soccarat is near the Joyce dance venue and was convenient for a meal with friends. We started with tapas, which was uniformly delicious and well presented. The suckling pig special was great, as was the anchovy and pepper special. The calamares was also succulent and very tasty, slightly charrred. For our paella we had the arroz negro (squid ink) that was perfectly prepared, with a nice assortment of seafood layered on top. Our waiter was very nice and provided good wine recommendations by the glass--both red and white. Service was prompt and efficient and the meal was served at a nice pace, leaving us time for post dinner coffee. We ate early--5:30, to make a 7:30 performance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paella with Panache”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I first found the first Socarrat in Chelsea last year and this year tried the newer uptown on Second Avenue and 51st Street. These charming small restaurants make fresh paella with several to choose from [each serves two] and while you wait you can enjoy great tapas and lovely Spanish wine. I love it, although a bit pricey, and the paella is substantial so don't order too many tapas. Great bar and cozy tables uptown, communal table downtown, both great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Went for a business lunch, 2 people. Service was great and the tapas and paella were tops. The Paella was cooked to order and to perfection. I'm not a New Yorker and found the place on a random Google search and decided to take a chance. Glad I did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Meat Lover's Paella - WHAT?!?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Red sangria was tasty, gambas ajillo was piping hot and just right, but the carnivor's paella was the best. Always a struggle to avoid certain shellfish we don't like. This really fit the bill!

Only negative is that you MUST order the paella for two--and a little pricey at that for rice and meat ($48) and not a drop of leftovers...I would have loved to have tried so many of the other tapas...paella for one would have been better so we could have made it through more of the delicious menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Socarrat Paella Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Socarrat Paella Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Socarrat Paella Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.