We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...did not disappoint!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ace Hotel New York to your Saves list
Ace Hotel New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“...did not disappoint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was hesitant to stay here since the lobby being sceney gets loud at night (I used to reside in NYC & held meetings here). I was coming off from an Asia trip & luckily this place did not disappoint! Elaine was great at the front desk, she really helped me get a spacious room with an early check in. Thanks again!

Room Tip: If you want space (especially for NYC hotels) get the Medium size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi mauikit,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback. We will make sure to share your experience with Elaine.
Looking forward to many more returns!
xoxo,
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    482
    139
    58
    30
See reviews for
154
439
163
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Locations good, lobby hopping. Rooms and hotel tower are Glorified euro youth hostel. For the price there is much nicer in the area.

The room cleaning was ok. The morning I left someone had puked or pissed in the elevator the night before and no one had cleaned it up so people were tracking it they the lobby. I told the front desk and said yeah he knew it had happened the night before. For 400-500 a night not the answer I was expecting. I will not stay there again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi VCaldwell,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our location and lobby. Please accept our apologies for your check out experience. We will be reaching out to you directly to apologize and assure you that this by no means is our norm, nor does it fit the high standards we hold each other to. It would be a privilege to restore your confidence and we hope to have that opportunity.
Warm regards,
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked a little last minute as the hotel we had originally booked was being renovated - blessing in disguise.

Well kitted-out, contemporary, stylish rooms, great bar downstairs, helpful staff - only thing we'd recommend is to check your bill when checking out as someone from the bar downstairs had put drinks on our room number.

We stayed in one of the mini rooms - compact, but exactly what we had hoped for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi seymourstuff,
Many thanks for the kind words regarding your visit. We are happy to hear your billing issue was sorted out and we apologize for any frustration it may have caused. We hope to see you again, please let us know if we can assist in any way. (nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com)
xoxo
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Having popped in the lobby on our last visit we were keen to try the Ace hotel, so spent part of our stay in New York there. For me the public areas are the best bit, very trendy. The rooms were nice, but i have to say for me they felt maybe a bit studenty. The view from our room was great, on some nice buildings and the Empire State Building. The staff were ok but to be honest maybe a little too relaxed, we got so little attention that we were not quite sure who was a guest and who worked there. The location is very good, in the Flatiron district, walking distance to some nice squares, some shopping and good restaurants. If you like walking you literally can get anywhere on foot from this location. All in all it's a nice place and for the right price i'd recommend it but i didn't fall in love with it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Lyds76,
Thank you for your visit. We continually strive to improve our service and amenities, so your feedback is really important and we appreciate it. If you would like to discuss your experience further, we would love to listen and can be reached at nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com. We hope to see you again!
Warm regards,
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

As a travel agent, I have been to many great destinations and have seen beautiful hotels. New York City’s charm and cultural signature is so diversified and yet so unique. It was a wonderful experience to travel with my teenager to his cousin’s wedding event. Most of the wedding party guests chosen to stay in one hotel and, needless to say, it was quite a task to identify a location which would accommodate both group rates and a festive experience for people who came from all over the U.S.

The décor of the front lobby, the genuine old-age record players and the checkered duvet style with immaculate bedding were very memorable. Also, the rooms had some of the most comfortable pillows (and I am really fussy about my pillows) and 60’s style refrigerators with all the modern day goodies topped with wall graffiti designs, cool lamps and funky shower. The Ace Hotel stood out, uniquely New York and people friendly.

Special kudos to the reservation department, Tiffany – you are prompt with emails, considerate and responsive! Guys at the front desk – you are polite, cool and ready to accommodate any request, cleaning lady – thank you for your patience! Overall atmosphere in the lobby, and special gratitude to the elevator maintenance guys, I went on many trips up and down before my key worked… Ace Hotel is a best destination for representing New York, its style, history and people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi V M,
Your feedback is a delightful read for all of us at Ace New York and we thank you for sharing it. We particularly enjoyed the shout outs to our Staff members (with special kudos to our Tiffany). We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
All the best,
The Ace New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Decently sized rooms, open floor plan lobby to hook up my Mac, combined with a fantastic gastropub

If I were to design my house in perfect NYC style, this would be it. Both fun and cheeky !

Service does need a little tweaking as a great design and location can only take you so far.

In any case, I will be back!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi HoldenBea,

Thank you so much for your review. We're thrilled you enjoyed our whole building! We are constantly tweaking our service and if you'd like to reach out about anything in particular we'd love to hear from you.
Be well, Sean Walsh (nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is amazing! Monica and her staff are absolutely amazing. The hotel is clean, comfortable, affordable, and easily accessible. The WiFi is really good which is always a bonus. The decor is very hipster, but it makes the room very attractive and cool. If you want a fun atmosphere with a good location, then you have to stay at this hotel - it's awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi jborg5,
It really was our pleasure having you and we are delighted you enjoyed your Ace New York experience. Your feedback means a lot to us. Thank you. A shout out for Monica and the Staff doubles the fun!
We hope to see you again soon.
xoxo
The Staff of Ace New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#39 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Chelsea
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,561 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#79 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#216 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#54 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,342 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#24 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#207 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel New York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.