We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ace Hotel New York to your Saves list
Ace Hotel New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We first stayed at the hotel in 2011 and loved it so much we returned there for Christmas! The rooms are pretty big for New York (we stayed in a medium room) and the beds are so comfy it's difficult to leave! It has a great coffee shop on the ground floor but when it's too busy there's plenty more options nearby...that's the great thing about Ace, the location is perfect! There's a host of attractions, restaurants, shops and bars in close distance and the transport links are literally right on your doorstep.

The only negative would be that we preferred the room much more the first time around. I appreciate it's all to do with personal taste but the overall design was much nicer. That being said it's still an awesome hotel and I would definitely recommend it. I've stayed in 5 NYC hotels and this would definitely come out top.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hello GinaAlexandria:
It means a lot to us that you returned for a second stay! Thank you. Please feel free to reach out to us at nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com prior to your third visit so we can book the room that is right for you. It would be a pleasure to assist.
xoxo
The Staff of Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    442
    125
    55
    25
See reviews for
137
416
150
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varese
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Cool hotel with amazing design (industrial), nice hall with free wi-fi and cafeteria (great brioches!). Wonderful location, between Broadway and 5th avenue - 1 min walk from Madison Park and 30 sec walk from Subway. Stunning view from the rooms: right in front of the Empire State Building.
Things that should be free: tea bags in the room, luggage deposit (25$ each if more than 1 day).

Room Tip: ask for a room with Empire View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi Marta83_Varese,
Thank you for your visit and valuable feedback. We are super happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We always take guest suggestions into consideration and we thank you for providing yours.
Warm regards and hope to see you again soon!
xoxo
The Staff of Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Everything about ACE hotel is great: location, decoration, comfortable beds and fluffy pillows, helpful stuff, vibrant bar and caffe in the lobby, nice gym, everything you need for an unforgettable stay is there!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Many thanks Constantina-Mar!
We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,
The Staff of Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is not a cheap hotel, but the management make it seem so. I send packages and they "lost" them for two days; really bad lighting in the room; people parting in the rooms in work nights and uncomfortable folding chairs in the conference room. Really cool lobby for drinks. Stay somewhere else and go there for the free wifi as half NYC did.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi FlaViajera,
Your feedback is important to us. After hearing of your issues during checkout, we reached out to you immediately via your personal email and phone to obtain additional information. We would like to make things right and hope you will respond back to us at your earliest convenience. We currently have a few pieces of the puzzle and are not sure where the miscommunication happened. Although we learn from our mistakes we would never want to frustrate our guests in the process.
Please email us at nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com.
Warm regards
The Staff of Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Loved the hotel. It has a great vibe, awesome decoration, welcoming staff, and the facilities were nice -- especially the bars, restaurants and coffee shop it's connected to. Don't miss the coffee shop for anything. The only draw back was lack of parking (as is the case in almost any hotel in Manhattan anyway).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I've stayed here a couple of time, and really love the Ace Hotel. Great young vibe, lovely big lobby where people just hang out with coffee or cocktails in the evening. The rooms are great, not big - but nicely designed. Great food + atmosphere. Brilliantly located for sightseeing too, just off Broadway and not too far to walk to all the sights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I live in New York and have been going to the ACE Hotel for drinks/coffee/hanging out for about two years. I am by no means a regular, but have enjoyed coming here on and off, it's a great vibe.

A week ago - in case ACE managers actually read this - on Friday 1/10 around 10pm I came in with a few people to wrap the night up after a semi-business dinner. When we got there I had just realized that I'd lost my cell phone in the cab. Without going into the ins and outs here, the service I received from every single member on staff that night, especially at reception and from security, was EXCEPTIONAL. I asked them for help because really, I didn't know what else to do. As anybody who has ever lost their phone knows, one is in a slight state of shock, it's not fun. At that point I had not yet spent a single dollar at the place that night, I wasn't a hotel guest and still, they went out of their way to help me figure this out. Everybody was so genuine and kind and helpful, really trying to figure out ways to get this phone back and I found that quite stunning when really they couldn't have cared less especially given the fact that this was entirely my fault and had nothing to do with the hotel whatsoever. I am also very happy to say that ONLY because of the help and persistence from a really wonderful ACE security person did I actually get my phone back within a few hours.

This was a very unexpected, very beautiful surprise. The ACE Hotel is great, but there are a lot of great places down there, especially in that neighborhood and below. Sometimes an experience like that, makes the difference. I'll be sure to keep recommending this place and keep coming back - without the drama next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear AnaAna A,
We are reading this and we want to say thank you for letting us in on your beautiful surprise at Ace NY!
We are big fans of a happy ending. Congratulations on getting your phone back and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
xoxo
The Staff of Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel New York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.