We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ace Hotel New York to your Saves list
Ace Hotel New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“#1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've been going to New York every year and have tended to stay at the Hudson more often than not. I thought I'd try something different this time and definitely have a new favourite now. The atmosphere in the lobby is superb. One can easily spend a few hours there. Coupled with great food at the Breslin, (Lamb Burger is outstanding) and very good coffee from Stumptown the amenities are more than what one could hope for. The rooms are of a good size and decor is well thought out. Wifi is free and all in all I was happy to part with my hard earned to stay at the Ace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Naz9999,
What a treat to read your review! We are pleased to be your new favorite - it means we will see you again and we certainly can't ask for more than that.
Thank you for your feedback and all the best,
The Ace NY Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    440
    125
    54
    25
See reviews for
135
415
150
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location for this seems a bit funky, but it's actually a 5 minute walk to all sorts of good things. Empire State building, Herald Square (Macy's), Times Square, Flat Iron, Madison Square Park, Union Square...Eataly.

The Ace bar has long been a cool spot to grab a drink and talk loudly, and the three restaurants right there (Breslin, John Dory, NoMad) are excellent IF you can get in to them.

They do an excellent job of capturing the spirit of young, energetic New York. You kind of have to walk through a party to get to your room at night and it's where a lot of New Yorkers hang out (or at least I did when I lived there) so you really get a sense of the spirit of the city.

It is however definitely not a place I would recommend for my parents or someone hoping to relax.

As far as the rooms are concerned - I would describe them as comfortable, hipster and efficient with their use of space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter for a birthday treat - when the hotel found out it was my birthday they upgraded our room and put in fresh flowers. Check in was quick and very friendly. Our room was on the 9th floor away from the lifts and we didn't hear a thing at night. The room itself was great, big double bed that was really comfy and a separate seating area with a smeg fridge full of goodies but enough room inside to house your own drinks etc. Very buzzy lobby area so if you are a light sleeper ask for a high floor. Stumptown coffee and pastries are fab. Hotel is close to all the sights/restaurants etc. Would go back in a heartbeat - would totally recommend.

Room Tip: High floor away from lifts for a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you Tracey D.!
So your birthday is next month and it appears we will have to celebrate it without you this year!
You will be missed and we hope next year brings you back to us.
xoxo,
The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the Ace Hotel for 2 weeks, and were overall okay with the experience.
- Rooms are clean, comfortable bed, small shower but didn't bother us too much
- TV in the bedroom was disappointing - it was delayed using the remote control so it was annoying to change channels/volume. Sometimes it would switch off completely.
- Hotel lobby is always filled with people, either working on their laptops or drinking at the bar. It's quite loud most of the time so if you're after a lobby that you can sit back and read a book - it's not the place for you
- A very hipster place, you get the vibe that everyone is "cooler" than you
- Location is great - it's close to subway stations and is easy to get to places, short work to Empire State Building
- Stumptown Coffee downstairs is great - always a line every morning but it's worth the wait for the morning coffee hit!
- Restaurants around the hotel were also great - it seems like a lot of locals dine at these places, not just hotel guests
- Considering we were staying there for 2 weeks - we asked for an extra chair for the desk so that we could both use our laptops. First time was at the lobby with a girl with short blonde hair - she pretty much rolled her eyes at us and made a fake promise to see if this could be done or not and we never heard from her after that. Second time was an email to the hotel manager - no reply.

Overall, location and the hotel is good. For what we paid for and staying there for 2 weeks, a simple request for an extra chair seemed a bit too much for the hotel staff. If you're looking for a hotel for a short stay (3-4 days), this is the perfect place. I wouldn't recommend it for long stays, because the slight chance of requesting something may or may not be done. We're not normally the type to make a fuss or special requests and really wanted to like this place as we were looking forward to it so it was disappointing. It pretty much hindered our overall opinion for the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear 262annad,
Thank you for your visit and honest feedback. “Overall okay” is certainly not what we strive for and we would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We would also like to ensure this kind of miscommunication does not happen in the future and so we ask that you kindly reach out to us at nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com so we can gather some key pieces to this situation. It would mean so much if you would consider visiting us in the future – we would love the opportunity to turn your disappointment in us around.
Warm regards,
The Staff of Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoy quirky & interesting hotels and the Ace certainly qualifies. We loved:
- the superb location
- comfortable bedding & quality linens
- friendly greeting at the door & at registration ( a charming young lady of Mexican background)
- the shower ( fortunately did not need it while the hot water was out)
- sparkling clean room
- sampling the excellent ( and reasonable ) dining choices within walking distance of the Ace
What we wished for:
- lights! The dark walls, floors & shelves added a gloomy feel
- lights by both sides of the bed
- coffee or tea in the room
- courtesy when the key cards needed to be replaced. Our one unfortunate staff experience was with a surly blonde lady who
scolded us as she muttered about key cards near cell phones.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We popped in here for brunch on recommendation. The cool people are most definitely hanging out here. Music is fab, food excellent and brilliant service. Worth a wander around just for the decor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Ace is in a crappy part of The City. It's no man's land. It hasn't been redeveloped and what's there is so old and uninteresting and has no character (at least not as far as NYC goes). But you can see the potential. It's definitely coming back. The hotel itself is quirky. Lots of interesting features. My room came complete with a turntable, some albums to play, an acoustic guitar and an old school style refrigerator, stocked with the finest libations a credit card can buy.

The room is comfortable. Bed was fantastic. Lots of character inside the hotel. But the best feature about the hotel is perhaps the Lobby. The Ace is the place to hang out if you're self employed, or you're a photographer, or an editor, or some kind of day trader. All day long, the lobby, which boasts super comfy chairs, table space, pretty good wifi and really nice munchies, is packed with young up and comers who've found a nice place to do business and get out of the home office and meet others just like them, young and old. The hotel restaurant is also really nice. Big focus on pork, but the meals were outstanding.

In short, it's a good place to stay. The neighborhood isn't interesting, but it's safe, clean and it's just a cab ride away from all the cool stuff.

Room Tip: I had a room facing Broadway. It was just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#121 Family Hotel in New York City
#190 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel New York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.