We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Ace Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 451 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter for a birthday treat - when the hotel found out it was my birthday they upgraded our room and put in fresh flowers. Check in was quick and very friendly. Our room was on the 9th floor away from the lifts and we didn't hear a thing at night. The room itself was great, big double bed that was really comfy and a separate seating area with a smeg fridge full of goodies but enough room inside to house your own drinks etc. Very buzzy lobby area so if you are a light sleeper ask for a high floor. Stumptown coffee and pastries are fab. Hotel is close to all the sights/restaurants etc. Would go back in a heartbeat - would totally recommend.

Room Tip: High floor away from lifts for a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you Tracey D.!
So your birthday is next month and it appears we will have to celebrate it without you this year!
You will be missed and we hope next year brings you back to us.
xoxo,
The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    358
    98
    43
    18
See reviews for
105
358
126
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the Ace Hotel for 2 weeks, and were overall okay with the experience.
- Rooms are clean, comfortable bed, small shower but didn't bother us too much
- TV in the bedroom was disappointing - it was delayed using the remote control so it was annoying to change channels/volume. Sometimes it would switch off completely.
- Hotel lobby is always filled with people, either working on their laptops or drinking at the bar. It's quite loud most of the time so if you're after a lobby that you can sit back and read a book - it's not the place for you
- A very hipster place, you get the vibe that everyone is "cooler" than you
- Location is great - it's close to subway stations and is easy to get to places, short work to Empire State Building
- Stumptown Coffee downstairs is great - always a line every morning but it's worth the wait for the morning coffee hit!
- Restaurants around the hotel were also great - it seems like a lot of locals dine at these places, not just hotel guests
- Considering we were staying there for 2 weeks - we asked for an extra chair for the desk so that we could both use our laptops. First time was at the lobby with a girl with short blonde hair - she pretty much rolled her eyes at us and made a fake promise to see if this could be done or not and we never heard from her after that. Second time was an email to the hotel manager - no reply.

Overall, location and the hotel is good. For what we paid for and staying there for 2 weeks, a simple request for an extra chair seemed a bit too much for the hotel staff. If you're looking for a hotel for a short stay (3-4 days), this is the perfect place. I wouldn't recommend it for long stays, because the slight chance of requesting something may or may not be done. We're not normally the type to make a fuss or special requests and really wanted to like this place as we were looking forward to it so it was disappointing. It pretty much hindered our overall opinion for the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear 262annad,
Thank you for your visit and honest feedback. “Overall okay” is certainly not what we strive for and we would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We would also like to ensure this kind of miscommunication does not happen in the future and so we ask that you kindly reach out to us at nyc.fdmgrs@acehotel.com so we can gather some key pieces to this situation. It would mean so much if you would consider visiting us in the future – we would love the opportunity to turn your disappointment in us around.
Warm regards,
The Staff of Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoy quirky & interesting hotels and the Ace certainly qualifies. We loved:
- the superb location
- comfortable bedding & quality linens
- friendly greeting at the door & at registration ( a charming young lady of Mexican background)
- the shower ( fortunately did not need it while the hot water was out)
- sparkling clean room
- sampling the excellent ( and reasonable ) dining choices within walking distance of the Ace
What we wished for:
- lights! The dark walls, floors & shelves added a gloomy feel
- lights by both sides of the bed
- coffee or tea in the room
- courtesy when the key cards needed to be replaced. Our one unfortunate staff experience was with a surly blonde lady who
scolded us as she muttered about key cards near cell phones.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We popped in here for brunch on recommendation. The cool people are most definitely hanging out here. Music is fab, food excellent and brilliant service. Worth a wander around just for the decor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Ace is in a crappy part of The City. It's no man's land. It hasn't been redeveloped and what's there is so old and uninteresting and has no character (at least not as far as NYC goes). But you can see the potential. It's definitely coming back. The hotel itself is quirky. Lots of interesting features. My room came complete with a turntable, some albums to play, an acoustic guitar and an old school style refrigerator, stocked with the finest libations a credit card can buy.

The room is comfortable. Bed was fantastic. Lots of character inside the hotel. But the best feature about the hotel is perhaps the Lobby. The Ace is the place to hang out if you're self employed, or you're a photographer, or an editor, or some kind of day trader. All day long, the lobby, which boasts super comfy chairs, table space, pretty good wifi and really nice munchies, is packed with young up and comers who've found a nice place to do business and get out of the home office and meet others just like them, young and old. The hotel restaurant is also really nice. Big focus on pork, but the meals were outstanding.

In short, it's a good place to stay. The neighborhood isn't interesting, but it's safe, clean and it's just a cab ride away from all the cool stuff.

Room Tip: I had a room facing Broadway. It was just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pros - We stayed at the Ace hotel at the start of October, the room and bathroom were very clean with plenty of hot water and fresh towels. The bed was the best I think I have ever slept in very comfortable with great pillows. Very helpful reception staff. Central location but there is a distinct lack of affordable restaurants close to the hotel. Try Guy & Gallard on 6th Avenue great food and staff.
Cons - the room was too dark with brown painted walls which don't reflect light and when the actual lights in the room are not good either you do find that you have to have every lamp on in the room so you can see anything.
The hotel is expensive, $18 for two cans of beer at the bar and $14 for a bowl of oatmeal for breakfast!! Needless to say we didn't eat in the hotel!
We were on the 10th floor but without very good double glazing we could hear the street noise throughout the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I went for the first time at Ace hotel in Oct 2013.I enjoyed the professionnal but decontracted service offered by the staff.
As the hotel was oversale, They offers me a room in the Attic, not so easy to go (2 differents elevators) but so stylish inside.
For sure, next time I'll go in NYC, I'll choose Ace hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Hugo W!
We wanted to say thank you for your visit and kind words. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back and we look forward to it.
xoxo
The Ace NY Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel New York 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.