We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky Fresh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Ace Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 449 hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“funky Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Has all the basics, half way between park and broadway 23rd and 34th streets. Nice area to walk around, convenient for us to get to Chelsea,Union & Washington Square and Midtown dining. We liked the comfy beds, make sure you get the right size. The food and drink is good, the servers know their stuff. "Up all night" I was jet lagged so i got up and took a walk at odd hours, their was always somebody coming or going. I liked the wifi and all the convenient outlets in public spaces.

Room Tip: The small room works if you're not entertaining. Get a large room if you're a couple or have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi johnberndt,
Thank you very much for all of your visits and valuable feedback.
I would also like to thank you for reminding me how much better it is to take a midnight stroll compared to checking my phone and email when I cannot sleep!
Hope to see you soon.
xoxo,
Lisa and the Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    472
    355
    97
    43
    18
See reviews for
104
356
126
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a weekend here and the best thing about the hotel is its location - walking distance to just about everything. The hotel seems to actually be a converted apartment building. Rooms are a bit on the small side but clean and comfy and who's sticking around in their hotel room in New York anyways? The lobby is a very popular gathering spot throughout the day and particularly busy at night. The breakfast at the restaurant was quite good - not your traditional breakfast but more on the gourmet side. We rented citibikes and rode around everywhere - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear cruisernut,
We value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your weekend sounds wonderful and I hope you will return for many more NY adventures. Please let me know if I can assist!
Warm regards,
Lisa and the Staff of Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commugny, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Funky, retro environment, great service. Restaurant a bit too full of its own importance vs focused on customer needs, but food very good. Like the location on 29th Street / 5th. Lobby far too noisy during the day to enjoy really though. Recommended for a fun place to stay with nice rooms and great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi meltedmind:
Many thanks for your visit and feedback. Everyone likes a fun place with nice rooms and a great location and we were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Please accept my apologies for your restaurant experience. I have forwarded your comments to the manager, who will certainly address our concerns with the staff, if I can assist in helping you speak with her directly, please feel free to contact me (Lisa: 646-214-5772). I would love to help!
Warm regards.
Lisa and the Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cool hotel in a great location. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the quirky writings on the walls were refreshing. The lobby is really extraordinary - full of people and music, you feel like you're in the right place at the right time. Staff was helpful and friendly. We are a family of 5 so took the medium sized room with 2 queen beds and it was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Danny A.
We are happy to read you and your family enjoyed your stay and we thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback! The saying, "Everything is going to be alright" greets me every morning I arrive and it has the same impact it did when I came here to interview. Thank you for noticing and we look forward to seeing you and the family again.
xoxo,
Lisa and The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

You won't be disappointed. This hotel has spacious rooms that are unique. The staff is young, professional and helpful. The Breslin, located within the hotel, serves an English breakfast. It's located in Chelsea and close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden. Walk to Chelsea Market or to the theatre district. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Hello Madre25,
Thank you for your review and also for offering your location tips for future travelers!
Super thoughtful of you and we certainly look forward to your return visits to us,
See you soon,
The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a cool hotel. The main lobby is like a local hangout. People on their laptops, drinking coffee or a cocktail from the bar. At night the lobby transforms itself into a night club with a DJ. And the hotel staff could not have been more friendly. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready yet. They gave us a complimentary cocktail or coffee while we waited. Room was clean and trendy. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Anne G,
We are glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you so much for your feedback.
Hope to see you soon,
The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stay 6 nights with my wife and my son, the hotel is better than you aspect!
The music in the lobby was very kindly and the people you can meet too.
Also the restaurant where is possible to eat an amazing hamburgher and good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#110 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel New York 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, MrandMrsSmith, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.