We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, but hip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Ace Hotel New York to your Saves list
Ace Hotel New York
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 458 Hotels in New York City
NE US
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Quirky, but hip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a hard hotel to review. It was quite a lively spot and clearly popular. We did a one-night staycation booked via Vacationist. We were first shown to a dungeon on the 3rd floor (302) that was of a nice size, but dark and the windows had the foggy glass you used to see on bathroom windows. We called to request if it were possible to have a room with more light and immediately Carribe brought us to a nicer room on the 9th floor (910). The room was a nice size, but had no drawers or real closet: it did have a guitar and real turntable though… The hotel has a dark feel with dark walls. Our room had good light, but still felt dark with the black paint on 1 wall sucking the light away. The bathroom was narrow. When sitting on the toilet one felt shoehorned in place. Location was good: a one block walk to the N&R subway line on 28th St and a short hop to Madison Park. The hotel gets points for being interesting, but I do not think I could handle more than a 1-2 night stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Bondsammax.

We thank you for your feedback. We believe our hotel provides a different experience than most hotels, but our goal is always to ensure that our guests are happy and comfortable while staying with us. We offer a variety of different room types with unique layouts, and are confident we have something for everyone. We’re thrilled our staff was able to respond to your requests and move you to a different room right away. We’d greatly appreciate the chance to have you back with us, and hope you’ll reach out directly so we can find a room that better suits your needs. If not for another staycation, we’ll look forward to having you back for a drink in our lobby or some Stumptown coffee.

All the best,
graham milliken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    403
    113
    48
    25
See reviews for
123
389
140
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

It's place is just cool. Acoustic guitar in every room. Great service, clean, and a great bar/restaurant scene in the lobby. Furniture was very nice and stylish. You definitely want a larger room, their junior rooms are pretty tiny.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staff makes you welcome and provides you with the experience you expect. The lobby provides 24 hours excitement in style ... You walk out of the elevator and feel NY excitement. No "stuffy" people .. Just a fun friendly crowd. Every room is fun and fairly priced... the higher the floor the higher the price because of the view. Rooms are very spacious what is unusual for NY. No better location with subway and Madison park in walking distance.
In summary we will be back - a memorable experience for my wife and I for a quick 4 day weekend. Do not forget to taste the best coffee in town next to the lobby (independent store)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I like the Ace for the scene. It has a fun lobby bar and two great restaurants. The rooms are very small and I felt like I was stay in a Dorm room. I like the retro decor. It is in a great location in midtown. I don't know if I would stay again. Not a hotel destination but a fun place to crash after a big night in the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great hotel if you want somewhere cool to stay, but not great for long stays or business.

Rooms aren't practical - plugs in random places, weird lights. But enjoyed having a deck in my room and a great bar downstairs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We only stayed here one night but really enjoyed the style of the hotel. The hotel staff were really attentive and almost all of them had great haircuts. It's also good walking distance to some of the big NY attractions like Empire State, Rockafella, Grand Central and the Shake Shack (you have to go here). We also had a really good breakfast in the restaurant downstairs - the one with all of the animal paraphernalia. YUM.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Everything about the Ace Hotel just adds to your enjoyment. The excellent bar - where the tip is included in the price, a great thing for a non American like me - which doubles as a club or gig venue hosting very exciting acts. The vibe is open and friendly but also very trendy, without being pretentious. The staff were incredibly helpful. The rooms: the bed sent me to sleep almost instantly and the touches of having lovely products in the bathroom and a beautiful tapestry on the wall made the whole experience just that bit extra above what I expected. My fridge was contained within a box that roadies keep live music gig equipment in.

Room Tip: Some rooms face inwards to a quadrangle yard and don't get much natural light, while others look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#183 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel New York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.