We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to learn about the history, culture and architecture of Soho and Greenwich Village!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gotham Walking Tours of New York City

Gotham Walking Tours of New York City
New York City, NY 10282 (TriBeCa)
646 327-3995
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lina Viviano, the Founder of Gotham Walking Tours, conducts private tours of New York City (Manhattan and Brooklyn), with an emphasis on the extraordinary historical, cultural, architectural, ethnic, and culinary traditions that have made New York City one of the greatest and most diverse cities in the world. Experience New York City on foot. Experience New York City up close and personal with a licensed guide who has been researching New York City history for over twenty years and who has a passion for this incredible City. All tours are conducted by Lina. Walk Gotham!
Advance, North Carolina
1 review
“Great to learn about the history, culture and architecture of Soho and Greenwich Village!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Our tour with Lina was extremely interesting. I expected to hear about the clubs and talent associated with this area, but I was very suprised to learn so much about the evolution of the architecture, interesting bits of information about historical individuals, as well as some about the celebrities who reside there today. I was fascinated with the details and still think about them. Despite the bitter cold, it was an excellent outing and well worth the cost. I highly recommend!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    26
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Truly informative and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Took a very informative and fun walking tour in the upper west side!
It was my first and hope it will not be my last. I would recommend this to any new york residents as well as tourists!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lena was so knowledgable and we enjoyed our tour thoroughly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Thank you Lena for the insightful and very enjoyable walking tour. It was great to experience a whole different perspective!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Emerse, eat, learn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My family and I (including three kids aged 17, 15 ad 10) booked a walking tour with Lina this past January in an effort to get a real feel for the areas of Greenwich Village, Soho and the Lower East Side. Lina customised a wonderful walking tour for us covering these areas, where we learnt so much and grazed all day on wonderful local specialties. We got a great feel for this part of Manhattan from someone who has lived worked and studied here. Information provided was both of a historical and pop culture nature - something to suit everyone. Lina was generous with her knowledge and patience as we soaked everything in. One of the BEST things we did in this wonderful city - we will be back to discover more with Lina!
PS Am still dreaming about the pastrami sandwich from Katz Deli and those grand finale donuts!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
1 review
“An amazing experience, should be considered one of NY's top things to do for visitors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband found Gotham Walking Tours on trip advisor when we were planning a family trip for our youngest's 21st birthday. He then contacted Lina for more information and told her we were interested in a tour of Central Park which would include the upper east side as our daughter was a huge fan of Gossip Girl. She told us she didn't know a lot about the show but the area was definitely worth seeing. When we arrived we began in Central Park. Lina's knowledge is extensive and she is fascinating to listen too. Her love for her city and job is clearly evident. She makes you want to live in NY! When we got to the upper east side, almost everything we saw she related to a scene or a set from Gossip Girl. We were very impressed that she took the time to research the show. Our daughter was thrilled! We can not recommend the tour enough if you want to know anything about the city - past, present, future, architecture, society, etc... She even concluded the tour by taking us on the subway and showing us how to navigate the system, which we used for the remainder of the trip saving a ton in taxi fees! We feel like we made a friend and will definitely take another tour next time we are in NY. Thank you Lina, you were truly a highlight of our trip!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Walking Tours of New York City also viewed

 

Been to Gotham Walking Tours of New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gotham Walking Tours of New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.