We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gotham Walking Tours of New York City

Gotham Walking Tours of New York City
New York City, NY 10282 (Financial District)
646 327-3995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 810 Activities in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lina Viviano, the Founder of Gotham Walking Tours, conducts private tours of New York City (Manhattan and Brooklyn), with an emphasis on the extraordinary historical, cultural, architectural, ethnic, and culinary traditions that have made New York City one of the greatest and most diverse cities in the world. Experience New York City on foot. Experience New York City up close and personal with a licensed guide who has been researching New York City history for over twenty years and who has a passion for this incredible City. All tours are conducted by Lina. Walk Gotham!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
1 review
“Repeat customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have lived in New York for seven years and hired Lina in March to lead a tour of Lower Manhattan for my visiting parents. The first tour was so good that we came back in October for another--this time of the Upper East Side--that was given to another long-time New Yorker as a birthday gift. Lina's knowledge of the city, its history and architecture, is amazing and entertaining. Recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina V, Owner at Gotham Walking Tours of New York City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
A pleasure, as always, walking with you, family, and friends through the Upper East Side. One can't beat it - especially during the holiday season - when this part of the City becomes pure magic. I especially enjoy recounting stories about Gilded Age New York when walking the streets of this storied neighborhood, with its former mansions, exclusive clubs, embassies, houses of worship, and charming brownstones. And, then, there's Central Park. Need one say more? Warm regards, Lina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    26
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Jewel in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spending an afternoon with Lina touring Chelsea was so much fun!! I learned about architecture, history, fun facts and so much more. Lina is a wealth of information and I look forward to touring again with her soon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina V, Owner at Gotham Walking Tours of New York City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
From the High Line, to Chelsea Market, to art galleries, to brownstones, to row houses and more, one has to admit that Chelsea has a little bit of something for everyone. Thank you, C., for sharing this incredible neighborhood - and the Meatpacking District - with me! Who would have thought that one of the men most often associated with Chelsea, Clement Clarke Moore, is best remembered for his poetic ode to Santa Claus - "A Visit From St. Nicholas" and/or "Twas The Night Before Christmas." But did he, really, author this well-known work? It's up for debate my friends . . . . Best, Lina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Brooklyn Bridge, DUMBO and Brooklyn Heights - a great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

On a beautiful sunny October Saturday morning we walked with Lina across the Brooklyn Bridge, explored the trandy warehouses of DUMBO before heading into quiet and leafy Brooklyn Heights.
Our four hour walk was perfectly paced and plotted, while to call Lina's knowledge encyclopedic would be something of an understatement! We will certainly take another tour with her on our next trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina V, Owner at Gotham Walking Tours of New York City, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
A lovely day indeed! Thank you C & S! It was wonderful walking and talking with you - like spending the better part of the day with good, good friends.

Readers - do walk the Brooklyn Bridge and then venture into Brooklyn. Belgian Blocks, old warehouses, riverfront views in DUMBO and, then, genteel 19th Century NYC life in Brooklyn Heights - also with spectacular views! You won't be sorry!

Okay . . . in the interest of full disclosure, I hereby admit that I lived in DUMBO, Brooklyn Heights, and Cobble Hill in the past, and loved every moment of it.

P.S.: Did you know that Brooklyn was once referred to as the "City of Churches?" As the "Walled City?" And that it was the 4th largest city in the U.S. before consolidation with Manhattan, etc. in 1898?

Go Brooklyn! - Lina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Great tour of FiDi and Battery Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was super impressed with the amount of knowledge Lina has from the history to every architectural detail on each building. I gleaned so much and loved Lina's approach to teaching! It is clear that she LOVES what she does!! I am going on every neighborhood tour she offers.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gothamwalkingtours, Owner at Gotham Walking Tours of New York City, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Yes! What's not to LOVE about these incredible neighborhoods, and how fortunate am I to be involved in an endeavor about which I am truly passionate! Meeting extraordinary people from all over the world, from all walks of life, and from my own neighborhood(!) is the proverbial "icing on the cake." Thanks so much for writing in T. Wonderful to add you to the roster of friends that make up the Gotham Walking Tours family! Warm regards, Lina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Greenwich Village Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Lina is amazingly knoweldgeable, approachable, and truly enjoyable. We did a private walking tour of haunted NYC/Greenwich Village on a beautiful Sunday afternoon recently. In addition to detailed descriptions of haunted areas, Lina sprinkles interesting tidbits of historical, cultural and architectural information which made our tour well rounded and engaging. Lina is prompt, energetic and professional, and it was truly a wonderful afternoon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gothamwalkingtours, Owner at Gotham Walking Tours of New York City, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
It was wonderful meeting you V! I truly love walking the Village and exploring the "ghost" stories -both the traditional ones and others one wouldn't ordinarily think of - in one of the most vibrant neighborhoods this great City has to offer. Many believe in the notion that "ghosts" exist in forms other than those in which people commonly understand them, and that a ghost tour need not be a "boo" or a "scary" tour in order to be entertaining. It's important - and fun - to learn about the Village's past - the ghosts of buildings, now gone, of cafe's, clubs, and personalities that made the Village the heart of a bohemian and immigrant community - and that disappeared long ago. In doing so, we insure that the history of this community remains very much alive. Thanks for coming along on the ride! Ciao, Lina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Walking Tours of New York City also viewed

 

Been to Gotham Walking Tours of New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gotham Walking Tours of New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.