We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Walk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gotham Walking Tours of New York City

Gotham Walking Tours of New York City
New York City, NY 10282 (Financial District)
646 327-3995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 810 Activities in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lina Viviano, the Founder of Gotham Walking Tours, conducts private tours of New York City (Manhattan and Brooklyn), with an emphasis on the extraordinary historical, cultural, architectural, ethnic, and culinary traditions that have made New York City one of the greatest and most diverse cities in the world. Experience New York City on foot. Experience New York City up close and personal with a licensed guide who has been researching New York City history for over twenty years and who has a passion for this incredible City. All tours are conducted by Lina. Walk Gotham!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Weehawken, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Lina was a wonderful and informatice tour guide. She gave me insight into the history of the various areas we walked through...like Washington Square Park, Greenwich Village...that I either didn't know or had never noticed. I've lived in New York most of my life and feel like I have a better understanding of the how and why of it all. Lina didn't just talk about the past, but also the New York of today and how we all got here! Alot has happened on this tiny island and I can't wait to go on another walking tour with Lina! She also knows the best places to grab a bite! Excellent!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    26
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“IF YOU WERE EXCITED ABOUT NY BEFORE WAIT TILL YOU FINISH THE TOUR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

For those of you who are history intellectuals,fashion extrodinairs or just plain old factual buffs this tour is perfect for you! If you thought you knew new york before I can asure you that you will revisit landmarks that will have you gasping "wow i never knew that!"
Its truly fun and the guide Lina is terrific!
Enjoy guys!
Tioshi

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Always the Highlight of Our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We have toured NYC with Lina on every recent trip and highly recommend her service. Her insight into the history of the city and ability to tailor tours to your individual interests are outstanding. Lina's tours are always one of the high points of our visits to NYC, and we look forward to exploring every city block with her. Forget the big bus tours and experience NYC with a more personal touch.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New York
1 review
“Transported to another time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

On May 14, 2011 my hubby and I spent 6 fascinating, fact filled hours with Lina. We started at Central Park, then a short subway ride to the Village and surrounding neighborhoods and eventually the financial district. Lina transported us back to the late 1800's and early 1900's. Her vivid descriptions of those eras made history come alive. We saw the speakeasy where Jimi Hendrix and Boby Dylan played, the building where Louisa May Alcott wrapped up her latest book "Little Women". We visited an Italian deli that has been around since 1892--(great sandwiches!) She told us the story of the 7,000 lb brass bull in the financial district along with many other histrocial locations involving Washington's visits to NYC. We got a quick lesson in architectural styles as we walked past several well preserved buildings. Last but not least was a stop at St. Paul's chapel where we learned how instrumental they were in assisting all the 911 volunteers. Inside is a tribute to all the people affected by 911. It was a wonderful tour and time passed very quickly. We thank Lina for being such a gracious hostess--it was like walking with a good friend. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
“A Great Day with Lina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour with Lina through Greenwich Village...the two hour tour felt like 30 minutes! My husband is not a walking tour fan, but after our morning with Lina, he had nothing but raves about our walking tour. We are anxious to return to NYC to explore another part of the city. Thanks to Lina, I now 'look up' and see so much more.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gotham Walking Tours of New York City also viewed

 

Been to Gotham Walking Tours of New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gotham Walking Tours of New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.