We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey feeling was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on 23rd

Save Saved
You added The Inn on 23rd to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on 23rd
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   131 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Long Beach, CA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Homey feeling was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2005

We just stayed at the Inn on 23rd this weekend and it was great. The staff was friendly, the location great and people were able to get to know each other and exchange city finds in the library over breakfast or early evening cheese and wine. There is a subjway stop just on the corner which made it very easy to get around. The only suggestion I would give is to ask for a room off the street. You are still going to hear traffic (it is NYC after all) but it would be reduced greatly if off the street a bit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    46
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
86
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westerly, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2005

We're back at work after our weekend stay at The Inn on 23rd and still congratulating ourselves on having the good fortune to find it and the good sense to book it. Our son lives in NYC and we make the trip a few times a year to visit with him. We have stayed in hotels in Midtown, Greenwich Village, and the Financial district, but the Inn beats them all. Lewis was very welcoming and warm when we checked in, the room was comfortable and reasonably quiet, the whole place sparkled everywhere we looked, the Library was fantastic, and we even had a cat to scratch behind the ears to take the place of the ones we left at home! When we got back in on Saturday night after a very full day, there was the simple pleasure of ending the day with tea and cookies. The big chains could take a few lessons from them. We'll definitely be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2005

The Inn was everything you could ask for. It was clean, beautiful woodwork, great location, and safe. The people were veryl accomodating. We look forward to going back again. Jean and Todd

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2004

I spent 4 nights in the Inn and I was not disappointed. Nice rooms (I stayed in the Suite Room, next time I will ask for a back room...the city is to noisy), the staff was nice. The only negative point was the breakfast...well at least from a Portuguese point of view. Any way I will comeback to this cozy B&B in NY.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Oh
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2004

Is it worth the money? A little too much hype about the breakfast being baked by the school down stairs. Cereal, bagels, a great big fruit bowl with yogurt, limited mini pastries, hardboiled eggs, and of course, juice, tea, & coffee. Pretty basic fare and the Library has a nice bit of decor to make it enjoyable. The room we stayed in, The Rosewood, was very comfy and chic and the bed was just right. Internet access was available in the lobby and the Library, but trouble with the Wi-Fi and in-room DSL line. Don’t bother lugging the laptop. The best part of the Inn is access passes to many museums and we took full advantage to see MOMA & the Natural History Museum. We are familiar with the city and appreciated this location in Chelsea close to Subway entrances. The Garden of Eden across the street, Whole Food Market a block a way, and a nice and friendly wine store just a few doors down make it easy to entertain yourself in the room. Wine and Liquor in the Library at reasonable prices is also a plus. Most disturbing was the inability of the staff to recommend restaurants, subway directions, etc.
Thank goodness for the Trip Advisor web pages, which is why the Inn needs to get their internet hook-up hooked up.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2004

I can definitely recommend this small and friendly B&B in Chelsea, NYC. Near the Flatiron building and Empire State, a 5 minute walk from Penn Street Station.
It is not typical of a Manhattan hotel, being only 5 floors, with around 11 bedrooms. Each room is individually designed and furnished. We stayed in the skylight room on 5th floor. Lovely comfy old brass bed!
Breakfast in the library was fresh and plentiful. Staff were so nice and friendly. We liked the honesty bar. Take a bottle of wine and leave the cash in a jar!
Cost about £150/night ($235 = tax). Worth it.
We will go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2004

The Inn on 23rd Street was a comfortable B&B. I visited New York with my 9 year old daughter to attend my nephew's wedding. Our room was cozy and the 2nd floor library had good amenties. My daughter was able to use the computer to play Nick games. The keyboard was a little sticky, though. 23rd Street is a very busy street. While our room was in the back, some of our windows faced the side of the building. The windows on the side of the building faced the alley between the Church and the Inn. The Church is used as a homeless shelter. While we did not hear the noise from the traffic on 23rd Street, we did hear the "residents" of the homeless shelter throughout the night in the alley. The people from the homeless shelter would congregate outside the Inn. On the other side of the Inn is the Services for the Blind. The phone system did not work well. There was no message light, so I had to keep checking to see if I had any messages. My husband tried to call me in the evening when we first arrived. There is no one at the front desk after 9:00 p.m., so my husband wasn't able to ask for my room number to contact me. The location of the Inn is convenient to subways and buses, but it is certainly not the upper West Side or East Side. The Inn may not suit the needs of every traveller, but the Inn's family-owned hospitality was evident throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn on 23rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on 23rd

Address: 131 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on 23rd 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on 23rd is a marvelous bed and breakfast at modest prices in a neighborhood that has few choices for lodging. It's the right place at the right time. Walk to midtown Manhattan, the Empire State Building and Herald Square. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Inn on 23rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on 23rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.