We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea to your Saves list
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   131 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly The Inn on 23rd) (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 88 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Okoboji, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My friend and I visited during the coldest time of year and had the warmest welcome! Everyone was very helpful and called us by name starting the first day. The beds were very comfortable and the space was cozy. I recommend the restaurant below as well. Great food and great conversation. Thank you for making our trip memorable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    58
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
103
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were on a business trip in Princeton, sleeping in a hotel with absolutely no soul whatsoever for 2 days. Being Europeans we decided to prolong the trip with an extra night in Manhattan. The choice of hotel was quite accidental. The placement was more or less the only reason for the choice. But sometimes you can get a pleasant surprise. We arrived at a hotel that has more soul than the rest of hotels in NYC. You really felt like you were in the home of a close friend. The room was very uniquely decorated, in a way I normally wouldn't like in a hotel, but here it just felt natural and in line with the style. The receptionist was extremely helpful and the information we received was accurate and useful. Breakfast was fine, though nothing special, but again it had the essential items and one did not feel anything was missing except for the bacon to the scrambled eggs :-)
In the hotel they have a house cat, so the only people I would not recommend this place is allergics. Thanks to the inn on 23rd for a nice experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you as me don't fancy to stay on 23d floor, stay at this little cupcake at 23d Street. The rooms are very special, clean and very convinent. The breakfast in the liberary is so cosy. Beside the entra entrance there is a really nice pub/bar. I will be back!!!!

Room Tip: The captens room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We are glad that we chose the Inn on 23rd. We have stayed in big hotels, but prefer a nice little hotel in the big city.

Here is very personal. The staff is very helpful. There is a cozy living room where we had good and variet breakfast and met the other guests.

There are water, the and coffe available all the time and we often took a cup of tea to the room followed by the cat Dorothy. We are a cat family, so it made great impression that
Dorthy can ride with a lift.

We have recommended the hotel, so you will be visited by friends who also like a hotel with a lovely atmosphere.

See you again in 2015.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We found the Inn on 23rd to be most welcoming and the staff went out of their way to help us in every way, with recommendations for dinner, general advice/help when requested and to provide a very friendly atmosphere. We enjoyed their continental breakfast with a hot dish, wine and cheese on week-end evenings and good, reasonably priced wine available every evening. Our bedroom was very spacious compared to many other centrally positioned New York hotels in a similar price range. We would be happy to go back there next time we visit New York.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Fantastic location. Amazing night's sleep. Nicely priced for those of us who do not have a NYC income. We most enjoyed, after a long day in the city, coming back to the Inn to enjoy either it's wine and cheese offering, or the ability to purchase a beverage for just $3. Breakfast was perfect. We even found cookies one afternoon waiting for us. The simple thing of having pitchers and fresh water available to take to your room - at no charge - is priceless. The Library is cozy, welcoming, relaxing. The staff is friendly and went the extra mile for us when we lost our phone chargers. Our room and our bathroom was large. Clean. We are both allergic to cats but found we had no problems. Prefer the Inn over a hotel chain any day. With 23rd street a stop on numerous subway lines, it is convenient no matter your agenda.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn on 23rd. I would highly recommend this inn. Great location in Chelsea. Everyone was extremely nice! It was like spending a weekend with friends. Hotel has a restaurant downstairs for a quick bite. Also provides free breakfast and a honor bar for guests. Prices were very reasonable. Airplane sized cocktails for $3. Great for a nightcap or a drink before heading out for the evening. Rooms were comfortable with really nice antique/ eclectic finishings. Would definitely stay again!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
Chelsea
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
#36 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,484 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#16 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#5 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Address: 131 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly The Inn on 23rd)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea is a unique bed and breakfast in one of the most dynamic and convenience neighborhoods in New York City. Walk to restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and sightseeing such as the Flatiron Building, the Empire State Building and The High Line. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.