We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on 23rd

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Inn on 23rd to your Saves list
The Inn on 23rd
131 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 95 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is my first review but was so pleased with the Inn on 23rd I felt it was only fair to give the a thumbs up.

We stayed here on our way back to London from Florida for two nights. We arrived very early due to the airline moving our flight but the Inn was very helpful in accommodating this change.

Location is good subway station at the corner of both blocks, 3 stops to times square very easy but we got a cab if it was late as it only costs $8 for four.

Room was nice if a little small but we had just arrived for Florida (huge rooms) and there were four of us. We only needed somewhere nice to sleep and you can relax in the breakfast room. Can't remember watching the TV but I'm sure it had one, WiFi in the rooms and breakfast room is handy for checking plans etc.

Staff we all very nice and helpful to us, provide help and advice when asked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    52
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
94
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Subway-station at the corner and walking distance to to Union square.
We stayed in the 1940´s room. It was very big (had both king-bed and seperate sitting area) and quiet (even though it was facing the 23rd street.) Very clean. Bed was ok. (I am spoild and missed a fluffy cover.) Big bathroom with nice shampoo/soaps provided. WiFi in the room. Breakfast with cereal and bagels, coffee/the was served in the beautiful library room set up with a long table in the middle and smaller tables by the window, so that it is up to the guests if they want to interact or not. Very helpful staff that is much more service-minded than the personel at some of the more expensive hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I just celebrated his Birthday with a trip to NYC and we found this wonderful Bed & Breakfast called The Inn on 23rd Street. Upon our arrival, there was a bottle of Prosecco chilling in our room. What a wonderful way to celebrate after a 3 hour drive. The Inn was beautifully decorated, the staff was so friendly and helpful and our room (The Victorian) was large and very comfortable. We had a few windows, but they looked toward another building, but this was the reason the room was so quiet. I forgot we were in the city. The eat in library served a lite breakfast in the morning an an honor bar. The Inn is in the heart of Chelsea and near many museums and art galleries and they even had a few free passes. There is also a subway entrance right threre. We used www.iconparking.com to find a parking garage right across the street. It was so easy and convenient. We would definitely stay here again and we are so excited to find it. Thank you to the wonderful staff for your advice and help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As part of our 20th wedding anniversary trip to NYC, my wife and I booked our stay at The Inn on 23rd via Living Social. The offer included a complimentary bottle of Prosecco, which, by the way, was chilling on ice upon our arrival, a free beer tasting and $30 meal voucher at the adjoining eatery (The Guilty Goose). We were pleasantly surprised with how nicely things worked out. Although we had other meal plans and did not take advantage of the $30 voucher, this really was a great value for what we paid. We stayed there 1 night, from Monday, March 11th to Tuesday, March 12th (room #42).

This quaint and charming boutique hotel is everything that the large hotel chains are not. In fact, I saw that one reviewer described it as the "anti-hotel," which is absolutely dead-on. This bed and breakfast-like property has such character and an almost communal feel (an honor bar and shared kitchen space with a refrigerator). Every staff member we encountered was very pleasant and cordial. Ethan, the clerk at the desk when we checked-in, was very nice and accommodating. He took us on a tour of the place and showed us all of the cute amenities (a great personal touch), which included an eat-in library (overlooking 23rd street) with comfy seating and plenty of natural light, ideal for quiet time with a good book and a cup of their complimentary tea or coffee.

We stayed in the Rosewood suite. Although we did not have much of an outside view, our room was cozy and intimate and the decor was quite eclectic and chic, containing a curio with many interesting books and bric-a-brac. The exposed brick wall just screamed NYC, with all of its raw beauty. The queen-sized bed was very comfortable and the bed linens were clean and fresh (trust me we always check). The bathroom was clean and well maintained, which is a personal must for me! The water pressure in the shower was good also, which is something that I always appreciate personally.

Put on your comfy walking shoes, as The Inn on 23rd is within walking distance of a large concentration of art galleries (e.g. Agora Gallery), and other city attractions such as the iconic Chelsea Hotel, the Flatiron Building, The High Line Park, Chelsea Market, Eataly and many more. It is also part of the fashion district. Hop in a yellow cab or jump on the 1 or 3 train and you are only 10 minutes away from Times Square and other, more touristy sites.

The Inn on 23rd does not offer parking (parking on the street is at your own risk). Although there are numerous parking garages in the immediate vicinity, they mostly cater to monthly parking and did not have availability for overnight parking. After driving around for about an hour looking for a place to park, we gave up and drove over to a parking garage we've used many times driving into the city (located on West 49th between 9th & 10th Avenue). We then grabbed a yellow cab from there to the hotel. Parking was around $35 for 24 hours and the cab was about $11 (not including tip if you are so inclined).

Overall, we would definitely stay at the Inn on 23rd again! This was only a 1-nighter, but next time we will stay for a couple days or so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator, as it could sometimes be a little noisy, especially late at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband & I stayed @ "The Inn On 23rd" for our wedding anniversary & it was very enjoyable. We stayed in the Rosewood suite & although no "view" of the city in that particular room...it was private & quiet. Which we really appreciated!! (Because city views usually come w/city noise). Accomodations are very warm, cozy & VERY CLEAN!! Location is awesome & only a few short blocks from the Chelsea Market & the art gallery district. WE both agreed we would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: travelers should be aware however, that hotel does not have it's own parking so it may be a chal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here last month during the pleasure portion of an extended holiday. The "library"/lobby is gorgeous(your personal kitchen) and rooms are huge.

Rooms are spacious and feature exposed brick and comfortable beds. My only complaint was a lack of channels with their DirectTv packages, but isn't that always the case. The bathroom was decent (no frills, but a larger shower and tons of extra amenities around--never happens, right?). Dust off your old ethernet cords!!!(hotel offers ethernet, but wifi is only available in certain areas). I very much enjoyed the Victorian room(especially its toned down decor) and slept like a king in its bed.

The library/lobby: is your personal kitchen and library, including books, magazines, travel inspirations. Additionally, the staff here is prompt and very helpful(a plumber was called w/o hesitation right when I mentioned an odd furnace in my room). Breakfast includes scrumptious pastries, hot water/tea, fresh fruits, juices and (I think) coffee.

The area: I generally dislike Chelsea, but I love its central location. The Inn is perfectly situated for cheap taxi rides Anywhere! Great subways(often more $) are also nearby(including right up to most broadway/off-broadway shows). The hotel is semi-close to the amazing shopping in Soho(check out Vince, if you're a man who needs pants... heaven!). Cheap gym or two w/in 1/4 mile on 23rd.

For food, I highly recommend going to East Village/ 2nd Ave, where this reviewer grew up, and enjoying endless amazing restaurants there on St. Mark's Place, especially if you need a NYC ethnic food fix(there's also up and down Columbus and Amsterdam up around the 70s). I highly recommend Ports Coffee over Joe the Art of Coffee; there's also Eataly and Patsy's Pizzeria; Lenny's for to-die-for(literally) ruebens; Chelsea Market for amazing breads(and amazing fruit tarts at the bakery before Amy's Breads).

I would definitely stay here for any extended stay in NYC, because hotels are like golddiggers -- not to be tolerated for too long :-) For the price(~ $200) and the spaciousness, how could I not give The Inn 5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This litle Inn on 23rd street in NYc is very comfortable. The staph is helpfull and nice.
We just stayed for a week with our 2 children in the Suite, room 51. Large living room and double bedroom, good with space for 4. Personal and comfortable. The breakfast is good and exactely what you need before starting a long day of touristing in NYc. The location on 23 rd street is great, all major Subways have stops on this street. The Inn has a many Membercards to the most popular museums, these are free to borrow for the Inns guest. What a bonus to pass all lines!
We would never stay in any other hotel if we return to Nyc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on 23rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on 23rd

Address: 131 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on 23rd is a marvelous bed and breakfast at modest prices in a neighborhood that has few choices for lodging. It's the right place at the right time. Walk to midtown Manhattan, the Empire State Building and Herald Square. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Inn on 23rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on 23rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.