We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn on 23rd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on 23rd

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Inn on 23rd to your Saves list
The Inn on 23rd
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   131 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Charlottesville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Inn on 23rd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The entire establishment is fabulous. From check-in to check-out, our family was well cared for. The room was extra roomy and exceptionally clean and tidy. The Breakfast and Wine and Cheese on Friday and Saturday were well stocked with great options. We were given great tips to and from each event we planned. We loved it and have vowed to only stay at the Inn on 23rd in the future. Excellent!

Room Tip: Ask the staff and they will provide. Our room had no noise and we had a view of the beautiful staine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    48
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
88
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wherever
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I went to the Goose to meet some friends on a recent visit to Manhattan. Ken was our bartender and helped us try some great beers. Before we knew it we were having a great time and just laughing. Tried the chicken pot pie and a Reuben and great frites. Just good stuff.
Hadn't decided where to stay for the night and after comparing some prices at other options decided to try the Inn. Room was spacious, clean and quiet. Plus got out of the city super quick in the am.
Thanks to Ken and all the folks at the Ion23rd.... will be going back again for sure, this is a great find.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Three of my girlfriends and I stayed in two rooms last week to see the Christmas decorations and a play. Couldn't have been any better. Short walk from Penn Station, just down the street from Eataly, and the rooms were good sized and very clean. Staff couldn't have been any friendlier or helpful, and breakfast was great. Also enjoyed the honor bar and the house cat!
Would definitely stay again, and will bring my husband for a romantic weekend this spring.

Room Tip: Room 41 has a fun, city view. Room 44 is very big and very quiet at the back of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had an excellent experience staying at the Inn. We stayed in a big, very confortable room.
The staff is very friendly and professional. They go all the way to please their customers. We sincerely thank all of them. The location is very good, close to subway staions. We plan to come back when we return to NY.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The best things about this inn are the friendly, helpful staff people; a good breakfast; drinks and snacks available 24/7; and its location in the center of a block that has subway stations at either end (which makes getting around Manhattan easier). The restaurant on the ground floor, the Guilty Goose, is a nice place for lunch, dinner, and/or a drink in the evening, and guests of the inn receive a 25% discount on food. The inn's homey atmosphere is a major, and generally welcome, change of pace in New York, but the funky decor may not be for everyone. And, although the staff people were very nice, certain types of services seemed lacking. We handled our own bags and were on our own getting to the airport -- which, since we once lived in NYC and visit fairly often, wasn't a big problem for us but might be for less-experienced visitors. If I stayed there again, I would avoid the "Loft Room" because it has no view except of the sky.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The perfect place to stay in New York City. We spent a week here and after days of long walks this was a nice place to return to.Within walking distance of some of New York's best parks. Subways half a block away, the city is at your finger tips. Nice breakfast, wonderful staff, a great place to ease into the day. I like to be surprised on vacation and the Inn provided that when they put out a flyer for Open House New York. Right next door, included in the open house, was the first French church in New York dating back to 1857. We got a wonderful tour of the facility(free).
The Church with it's dwindling congregation is scheduled to close next year unless it receives an historical landmark designation. Edith Piaf was married here! This was just one small sample of what the Inn provided. Already we are planning our next trip and it will be staying at the Inn. Just like the old commercial: "you've tried the rest, now try the best".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I like everything there is about this place. Intimate, charming, quaint, great beds (feels like waterbed even!), spacious, every room is a statement piece, unique and definitely one of the kind in a place like NYC where everything else seemed commercialized and impersonal. Its location is also a plus - away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy Time Square but not too far away if you want to soak yourself in the ambient of it - probably just 10mins cab ride away with good traffic.
They are also very generous with their offerings...and it's almost help-yourself-with-everything-they-can-offer-at-the-bar. you just have to give reasonable amount of tip and you can get all the privacy you want. The staffs are never intrusive and give you good private space but definitely extend their helping hand anytime you need one. We have been serviced by Thomas (whom i really loved his style and dressing!) and Paola...
One thing i have to say about Paola was - she actually took the initiative to find me a website that sells value-for-money baby strollers cuz i was on the lookout to buy one. So she actually looked for one and slip a note under my room door. I was pleasantly surprised and didn't have a chance to thank her personally.
Breakfast was simple but generous and strangely my husband and I never got tired of their breakfast! You know it's prepared from the heart!
Definitely the place to stay in if you are spending your holiday in NYC. No regrets.

Room Tip: We had the Victorian room which wasn't our first choice but nonetheless it was spacious and char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on 23rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on 23rd

Address: 131 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on 23rd 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on 23rd is a marvelous bed and breakfast at modest prices in a neighborhood that has few choices for lodging. It's the right place at the right time. Walk to midtown Manhattan, the Empire State Building and Herald Square. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn on 23rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on 23rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.