We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in NY, can't wait to go back :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Greenwich Village Habitue

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Greenwich Village Habitue
Save
You added A Greenwich Village Habitue to your Saves list
GREENWICH VILLAGE, New York City, NY 10014 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best location in NY, can't wait to go back :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a great time at this apartment and enjoyed every minute of our 9 nights stay!

Pros:

- Location: best location, felt very safe and there was a lot to see in a walking distance.
Only a few minutes from the subway.
we enjoyed walking to China town (great food) and Blicker street.

- Size: the apartment was very spacious and uniquely decorated.

- Cleanliness: very clean and tidy - was cleaned regularly during our stay.

- Info: Good tips from the owners and a lot of maps and magazines in the apartment.

- Comfort: Nice small kitchen for breakfast, a closet to hang all your clothes, comfortable bad and sofa.

Cons:

- None :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    7
    2
    1
    7
See reviews for
6
67
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bRISBANE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Thanks to Kevin & Matthew. We just loved our experience of New York. Would thoroughly recommend staying at Habitué and in the West Village area. The accom is quaint and so New York. Close to so many places to eat, have coffee and enjoy a night out. The subway is very close but walking is a great option also so many new things to see along the way. We stayed in one of the back apartments over looking the lovely courtyard and other accom but very quiet.
Enjoynifnyoundecide to stay and take it all in, 12 days wasn't long enough for us
Brisbane , Australia couple

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 15 nights recently and highly recommend it to anyone! We had apartment 1 at the back - perfect!

The West Village is the best area to stay in NYC and I don't think you can beat GV Habitué.

Lovely owners, friendly, trusting and happy to share advice.

We went to many local restaurants - Kava great for coffee, Corsino just a minute away is delicious! The famous Spotted Pig close by as well as access to The Highline - be sure to have a drink at the top of The Standard and watch the sunset.

Apartment had everything we needed, very comfortable bed and room to put all our clothes away.

Loved it!! Thank you Matt & Kevin

Room Tip: We had no issues with stairs but if this would be a problem ask for apartment on first level (1 or 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here recently for 11 nights and were very happy with the apartment. As everyone has noted, the location is ideal. A short walk to the subway, Greenwich Village and the fantastic high line. The apartment is great value, clean and neat, and was (surprisingly) cleaned regularly while we were there. Matt and Kevin were extremely helpful and prompt to assist with any queries we had. I would have no hesitation in staying here again. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, see if a room at the back is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The location of this B&B is fantastic!! Located in a picturesque Greenwich Village street, it's very easy to feel like a local staying at G.V. Habitue. Matthew and Kevin were very helpful and friendly, always wanting to make sure we were looked after.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at GV Habitue in May 2012. We were in Apt 3, which faced the back, which was great because it cut out the street noise and we awakened to birds singing and a view of the garden. The apartment was large enough to accommodate our luggage for 8 nights in NYC (albeit in the living room). The little kitchenette was convenient for making a pot of morning coffee and holding our cereal and milk, and it was wonderful to not have to find a place for breakfast each day (or pay $50 for a hotel breakfast). It is a 5 min walk to the 14th St subway and a 2 min walk to the south end of the High Line, a lovely park that gives you a great way to walk up to 34th St. We found our favorite morning espresso spot (Kava) just around the corner where they made a perfect mocha and cappucino (we are coffee snobs) and where they sell beans that they will grind for you for the coffee maker in the apt. We enjoyed walking to various spots in the Village, for brunch, lunch, and dinner. We also enjoyed walking around Chelsea Market on our final day (at the suggestion of the cleaner, Rey) which was a great way to spend our last hours and pick up some food for the flight home!

The downsides were minor and have been mentioned in other reviews: steep stairs, poor TV reception with no cable channels. The apartments could also use some drawers for storing clothes so they don't have to stay in suitcases all week. But those, as I said, were minor.

Dealing with Kevin and Matt was easy, and they were friendly and always prompt in answering my emails prior to the trip. We would return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed in apartment 2 at the GV Habitue in May 2012. It was perfect - the apartment was exactly as advertised: spacious, spotless, and recently renovated. Everything worked and the location is brilliant - easy to reach by public transport; downtown enough for an easy stroll to cool restaurants and bars in the Village and Meatpacking; but still on a nice, quiet, peaceful street.

What sets the GV Habitue apart from other places I've visited (and in my opinion, makes it preferable to any "standard hotel room" I've ever stayed in) is the attention to detail. The apartment is full of information on places to visit, eat, or drink in NYC; there's coffee, tea, and a toaster for breakfast in the morning; the owners are kind, flexible, and very helpful (for instance, emailing you directions from the airport beforehand and of their own accord), and the apartment even had an umbrella ready for use on a rainy day. The apartment was also very well decorated - it really felt like an authentic home, as opposed to the bland, artificial "interior-design-concept" hotel room with "nautical" or "minimalist trendy" themes you get in so many hotels.

In sum, if you want a closet-sized hotel room featuring the same bed, cupboard+minibar+tv, stool-desk-&-telephone combo that you've seen in a hundred million standard hotel rooms the world over, book elsewhere. If you're interested in renting a large apartment that will feel like home away from home in one of the coolest parts of arguably the only real city in the world, stay here. We absolutely did not regret it. We had an awesome time - I won't think twice next time I visit NYC.

Room Tip: Apartment two was ace; street-side but not noisy at all. Can't say about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Greenwich Village Habitue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Greenwich Village Habitue

Address: GREENWICH VILLAGE, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner occupied 1830's Federal style Brownstone has 2 completely private, self-contained, fully appointed apartments for rent - single or double occupancy ONLY - 7 night minimum stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Greenwich Village Habitue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Greenwich Village Habitue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.