We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not recommend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1871 House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1871 House
Save Saved
You added 1871 House to your Saves list
130 East 62nd Street, between Park and Lexington, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“would not recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The first morning the shower didn't work and hot water was NOT an option. Also had trouble with the knob that caused the shower sprayer to spray. Getting water to run in the bathroom sink was intermittent. Called the staff and they were helpful - sort of. The guy who came up to help had a bit of an attitude. Told us it's an old building, hot water travels up from the basement, if everyone in the building showers/bathes at the same time, there are sure to be issues. He also informed me that the "manual" in the room explained all that and he repeatedly used the phrase "I know for a fact..." which began to be annoying before our "visit" was over.

Second morning - likely because we inadvertently got a later start - the shower issues were better.

There is no overhead lighting in the larger bedroom or the sitting area (we were in room 6 on the top floor). The lamps in the bedroom were fairly inadequate.

And one word of warning - there is no elevator so if you have heavy bags, it's a LONG way to the top floor. On a positive note, you certainly get your heart rate up!

Overall, would not recommend staying here - we will not be returning to this property. Just doesn't stack up well against other B&B experiences we've had.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the upper floors if you're traveling with heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1871House, Owner at 1871 House, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We were sorry to hear that these guests felt that they were inconvenienced during their stay. We are a small business and aim to please as many guests as we can but understand we cannot please everyone. The suite these guests occupied is located on the top floor of our building (4th floor) and although that is a lot of stairs for some people, it is quite typical for a turn-of-the-century building in New York. For many travelers, the appeal of 1871 House lies in the home-like charm and old world elegance of our individual suites. A modern, high-tech facility we are not, and we try our best to inform guests of our advantages as well as any shortcomings we may have. As an example in regard to not having an elevator, we do everything possible to notify our guests on this issue on our website, on our booking confirmations and in email correspondence. We include the following statement in all our initial emails when sending out rates: Prior to making your decision, carefully consider there is NO elevator at the 1871 House. All rooms are accessed via our central staircase.

We understand 1871 House isn't for everyone, and to that end​,​ as mentioned​,​ we try to provide as much information about our facility as possible to potential guests through our website, phone and email correspondence and social media channels before booking a stay at 1871 House. Guests are made aware that on unusual occasions, a few minutes patience will be required for hot water. Generally, this will be during off-peak use hours. We have an “instant hot” timer feature that creates immediate hot water during prime use times. Our commercial-grade, high capacity water heater is usually more than adequate to provide on-demand hot water for the entire building and we also have a backup furnace coil system which combined make it a rare occasion where there is not enough hot water.
We take repair complaints seriously and after reading this guest's review we tried to replicate the issues mentioned and were unsuccessful. We only wish that these guests had come to us while here so that we could offer them guidance on the difficulty they were having with the shower diverter. It is quite possible that the guests were operating the diverter incorrectly and that it would have been a simple matter of showing the guests how to correctly operate the diverter knob.

We reviewed the lighting provided in the suite and found that there are 4 table lamps in the front room, 3 lamps in the larger back bedroom (including a headboard light) and in the smaller bedroom there is a chandelier with 4 bulbs plus a table top lamp. We feel any more lamps and the accommodations will start to look like a lighting showroom. However we will certainly check to see if the lamps in the suite could take higher wattage bulbs.

As far as the staff member being rude to the guest, we can’t help but feel that this was a misread of personality. Our assistant has a somewhat deliberate manner of speaking which may have been misinterpreted as condescending. However, knowing him as well as we do, we find it extremely difficult to believe that he ​​was being rude​ to the guests​. He is one of the kindest most helpful people we know and ​an exceptional quality​ person​.

We ask that all prospective guests and travelers review our website and supplemental reading materials before booking a stay with us to better manage their expectations. ​ ​Ultimately, it is our hope that 1871 House provides a valuable alternative to the often sterile and more costly hotel options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    40
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
45
27
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hcktri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This review is written with full awareness, based on other critical postings, that management and ownership will dispute every issue and attack the comments and the author. They clearly operate in an environment of “the customer is always wrong”. While ownership has attempted to discredit the numerous other critical postings by citing declined requests for refunds or other types of compensation, please know that despite the issues to follow, at no time did anyone in my party request monetary compensation nor is that the intent here. It is purely to make those considering the 1871 House fully aware of the experience ahead.
First, some background on the credentials that help inform my professional opinion and critique. I have spent 30 years building a career as a senior level executive in the hotel, resort and hospitality industry. Additionally, I have traveled the world extensively staying in a wide variety of accommodations including many bed and breakfast style properties. Regardless of the type of facility, those that are successful share a common trait in that they strive for excellent hospitality. Ownership and staff delivering hospitality exists regardless of whether the property is a country inn, a small bed and breakfast, or a full service destination resort. Hospitality is even more important for those properties that might not otherwise provide the amenities of larger full service establishments. Hospitality means that the traveler is made to feel welcome, as he or she has entrusted the innkeeper with their most valuable assets- money and time, often for a once-in-a-lifetime special occasion. As explained in more detail below, any notion of hospitality is completely absent in all material respects at the 1871 House. In fact, the opposite atmosphere prevails.
First, I’ll start with the only positive of our stay. The 1871 house does have a very good location on the eastside, in a nice neighborhood within walking distance of the upper eastside amenities. That, however, is where the benefit of staying here ends.
My family and I stayed for 6 days occupying the 3rd and fourth floors of the building and the bill was approximately $9400. Management’s comparison of their pricing and value to other hotels such as the Plaza Athenee (see Trip Advisor response of August 12, 2013) is incredulous. From beds, to bathrooms, to televisions to service, this is the worst accommodations experience I have ever had. Ownership would be better to compare themselves with a youth hostel or boarding house but even there they would fail in service comparison.
To begin, while I am not sure what “A New York Style Bed and Breakfast” means as headlined on their website, I would consider it false advertising. Forget about the clever fine print and understand there is NO BREAKFAST, NO COFFEE, NOTHING OFFERED that one might come to expect at a Bed and Breakfast. One also comes to expect a level of warmth and hospitality, especially from a Bed and Breakfast, that is non-existent. The only service that exists is rude and nasty.
The following is a list of just some of the issues we encountered:
-Beds-our 3 “rooms/suites” had a total of 6 beds, half of which were in desperate need of replacement. The double mattress in the Madison room sags no less than 5 inches across the entire middle of the mattress. The single beds are in awful condition. Historical building is fine, ancient beds are not.
- We reserved an extra bed for one of the rooms prior to our arrival. The bed was never set up. After several attempts to secure the bed, the attendants woke us up, three days later at 11pm to assist. The mattress was in such poor condition that you could feel the underlying slats. The attendant could not find sheets to fit so we improvised and slept on duvet covers as sheets. We had to wait another day until housekeeping provided appropriate sized sheets and made the bed.
-Baths-Do not expect a hot shower in the Madison suite at least 50% of the time. Management will tell you it is a historic building issue, but that is only part of the problem. The fixtures on that shower are old and do not function well with low pressure. So in order to take a hot shower, the pressure lowers and releases the tub/shower pull redirecting the water to the bath.
-The “flat screen televisions in every room” technically is correct, however, a suite such as the Madison with 3 rooms only has one extremely undersized television serviced with standard non-HD service and the service intermittent at best.
-There is no common space as one comes to expect at a Bed and Breakfast. No place to gather. Should one try to access what appears to be a common room off the lobby area, be prepared to be rudely escorted out and told “this is the owner’s space”.
-In 6 nights and 7 days, except for one room, beds were only made ONE TIME and linens never changed. The bathroom in The Madison Suite was NEVER cleaned nor even refreshed. The bath towels are old, rough and nasty and provided in small quantities. Some of the bed sheets were tattered and excessively worn.
-The main bedroom of the “Madison Suite” did not even have a door on it but rather ugly sheet like curtains and the “single bedroom” is barely large enough to house the bed. All that for only $650+ per night!
-An important FedEx package that was sent to me sat in the office for over 24 hours (and the office was not accessible as it was not staffed as indicated). After dialoguing with FedEx and wasting a day searching, when David finally was found and asked, his response was “oh yes it is here in the office but I was too busy to notify you of it”. Incredible-no time to notify a guest of a FedEx? This establishment has no issues notifying the guest of every little thing they do wrong (see below) but no time to notify a guest about an important package.
-In most rooms there is a blue binder with pages of rules and regulations that management and ownership will quote to you when you break the rules. Never in my 30 years of hospitality have I seen nor expected a guest to read nor obey such onerous rules. No red wine drinking, no talking 9pm-9am, $35 charge if fireplace used (plus $10 per log), $35 charge if you stay 1-1/2 hours longer than the 10:30 am check out, and it goes on and on. We received 3 type written letters during our stay and were summoned to the office for rules violations (drinking red wine. Full disclosure, a tiny bit was spilled and we cleaned after management made a big issue out of). Never once did management or ownership attempt to converse with us nor welcome us. Nasty, rude typed notes emailed and left in rooms and taped to the banister are their preferred means of hospitable communication. Upon return home, we received an email which stated that the small red wine spill had seeped thru the bed spread and stained the sheets and that we would be charged for a new set of queen sheets. No wine saturation had occurred as we inspected carefully when cleaning the bedspread. The nickel and dime nature of the 1871 House borders on a consumer scam.
The 1871 House is a lovely and charming place if you are two
people who like to go to bed by 9:00 pm but are ok with climbing steep creaky stairs and reserve one of the rooms with an acceptable mattress and decent fixtures, enjoy reading a manual of rules before and during
your stay, and don't need any type of service, particularly friendly
service. For everyone else however ...

Room Tip: Strongly suggest staying at a hotel if you desire a good experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1871House, Owner at 1871 House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are not surprised to see this party has left such a lengthy defamatory review, given the disrespectful and uncooperative approach they took during their entire stay. Though we ordinarily address points made on TA reviews in order to clarify anything for prospective guests, in this case, we feel that would be a needless exercise: we can sum up quite plainly that the content of this guest's post is fabricated and written out of hostility.

The writer of this review was part of a large group consisting of mature adults; they consistently returned back to the house very late in the night (between 2-5AM each night) and were not interested in being quiet and respectful as they returned. We received *several* noise complaints over multiple nights and felt we were only doing our job to respond to other guests' requests as we relayed the information to this party. Adding to the unfortunate situation was the fact that these guests violated our “red wine” policy and did so in about as egregious a way by drinking in bed. One can guess the rest.

We left a note for these guests to kindly take care of the wine stains before they set in further, as we wanted to give them the option of getting the various stained bedding treated and dry-cleaned instead of us purchasing a new bedspread and sheets at a potentially higher cost. We never heard back from them on the matter of the stains nor on the noise matter. They did have the stains taken care of which we only learned of on their departure.

In our opinion, this guest’s comments are issued out of spite and retaliation that they were asked to behave respectfully of others and take care of their damages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

this 1871 bed and breakfast is a great place to stay upper east side nyc. Very clean and beautiful room more like a house then hotel. excellent location very close to subway, shops, and restaurant. I stayed two nights the room called front parlor a very romantic studio. great view of the street. Perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at 1871 House for three full weeks for a work trip. In that time, I stayed in the Parlour Room, the Front Library Room, and the Mission Suite. The Parlour room has very high ceilings, the Front Library Room is cozy, but the Mission Suite was my favorite. It's modern, cool, and quiet, and had the nicest layout of the other rooms in my opinion. Felt very private.

The area (E. 62nd & Lexington in the Upper East Side) was wonderful. Very close to the NRQ, 456, and F trains, and tons of shopping (Bloomingdale's Zara, Sephora), and so many delicious restaurants. Just a 6 or 7 minute walk from Central Park and Columbus circle. Really wonderful area, and for the prices they offer (which are well below other hotels in the area), you can't beat it.

The staff at 1871 House are friendly and helpful, but the one thing I found very challenging was that there's not a front-desk person on 24/7 like there are at larger hotels. My work schedule while in town was from 5am-7pm every weekday, so there was never anyone there if I had a problem after hours, which I did: they once forgot to move my luggage from one room to the next while I was at work, so I came back to my new room and my luggage was locked in a room 2 flights up; and I had internet connectivity issues a couple of times and it was hard to get ahold of staff after hours, although they did eventually get back to me. They were always helpful once I was in contact with them, and they did apologize for the luggage mix up.

Housekeeping only comes every couple of days, but that didn't bother me at all. They also do not offer refunds on cancelled bookings, so just be aware of that.

Overall, 1871 House was clean, comfortable, and a great price. I would stay here again. If you're looking for something that feels more like home, and want a room that's much bigger than the average hotel room, give 1871 House a try.

Room Tip: The Mission Suite is cool and quiet, since it's in the basement, and has a nice kitchen space wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1871House, Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Misty,

Thank you for the kind review. It’s wonderful you were able to experience so many of our suites during your three week stay. Each room has its own personality, and we’re glad you found one to call your favorite.

We couldn't agree more about our location. Time and again we hear from our guests that our cozy hotel is a well-placed gem (nestled perfectly between Park and Lexington), offering a quiet escape from the hustle and bustle of the roaring city and all of its delights.

As a small family owned operation, we do recognize the challenge of meeting our guests’ “after-hours” needs, and our staff often goes to great lengths to accommodate late-night requests (And although we bill ourselves as a “self-serving” establishment, office managers are readily available to assist guests outside of regular business hours). As you mentioned, sometimes a unique scenario arises that requires our attention, and our staff will work to ensure your comfort and happiness, no matter the time of day or night.

1871 House doesn't consider itself an ordinary hotel, and as such, some of our procedures and policies (such as our cancellation policies) are designed to make our small business run more efficiently and keep guests’ costs down.

We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and it's always a pleasure to hear, "1871 House was clean, comfortable, and a great price. I would stay here again." We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Firstly, this place has mice. My stepdaughter saw one in her room, and then we saw another one in my room. The owners are perfectly aware of that, because their contract says they bear no responsibility for both incects and rodents. I find that ridiculous given the price they charge. Secondly, wi-fi wasn't working when we arrived. Though it was eventually fixed, I expected the service be much better. The place is a perfect example of a B&B being operated by amateurs. I will stay at a hotel next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay there if you are afraid of mice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1871House, General Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Inna,
We regret that your experience was anything less than extraordinary at 1871 House. Our Bed
and Breakfast aims for a level of care and personal attention not found at larger hotels and the
staff was deeply hurt by some of your more imaginative inaccuracies.
Family owned and operated for nearly 20 years, the hotel is an inviting and authentic NYC
experience, but because of the urban setting, the staff concedes that a small pest might escape our notice now and then, but the event is a rarity, and handled swiftly.

As for our rates, it’s well known that 1871 House offers one of the best values in the
neighborhood. For similar dates in August, nearby lodgings such as the Plaza Athenee,
price one room with 2 adults, 1 child, sharing 1 king-size bed at $495 per night (they cannot
accommodate 2 children in one room) and $1355 per night at the Plaza for 2 adults, 2 children.
Rates in the Fall (including our own) are usually some multiple of these rates. Based on our location, the quoted rate and accommodations you received were particularly generous.

Lastly, regarding internet connection, at no time was Wi-Fi unavailable to you. Your comments
indicate otherwise. Guests at 1871 house can enjoy free Wi-Fi access in our front lobby, 24/
7. Upon arrival, and after a short interlude, internet access was administered to your personal
rooms.

The Staff of 1871 House is shocked by your remarks, but wishes you the best of luck in your
future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We loved our stay at 1871 house! The location was fantastic-close to everything like Central Park and shopping. It is in a beautiful neighborhood. It felt like a home away from home. I enjoyed staying there so much more than staying in a hotel room. We stayed in the Mission Suite which was decorated with charming antique furniture and a great kitchen area and newly renovated bathroom. The suite was huge! We will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at several places in New York, to experience different parts of the city. Our stay at 1871 house was a pleasure. Even though it is an apartment, the service provided by the staff was equal to hotel concierge levels.

I found the rooms a little cramped, and couldn't stay for extended periods, but nicely decorated and spotlessly clean.

The location is brilliant, not just because it is close to the park, but because you have the choice of 5th Ave, 7th Ave, Madison or Park....it is right in the middle of several different shopping and eating experiences.

Overall could recommend this

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, We really enjoyed having you and your family staying here, and it was a pleasure meeting you all. I really appreciate especially the lovely words about the staff, as we try our hardest to provide the best service to each of our guests. We hope to see you again!

All the best,
Erin, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1871 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1871 House

Address: 130 East 62nd Street, between Park and Lexington, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1871 House offers seven apartment-style suites in an historic five-story English Rowhouse, circa-1871 within the Upper East Side Historic District neighborhood. The house offers lovely views of other historic homes, is flooded with sunlight, has an incredible garden, and grand-scale details. 1871 House is surrounded by the Upper East Side's finest restaurants, stylish cafes, galleries, Madison Avenue's chic boutiques as well as world-renowned museums such the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), the Whitney Museum, The Metropolitan Museum of Art and The Frick Collection. Centrally located and just a short walk to Central Park & Fifth Avenue 1871 House is perfect for culture seeking visitors to the Big Apple. However, for business-oriented visitors, 1871 House is also ideally located near Midtown Manhattan. Easy access to public transportation makes 1871 House also convenient to Wall Street and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1871 House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1871 House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.