We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE HAD A GREAT STAY...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1871 House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1871 House to your Saves list
1871 House
130 East 62nd Street, between Park and Lexington, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 84 New York City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WE HAD A GREAT STAY...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A family of five (children 17, 15, 12,) we stayed for a week in the Madison-suite. Looking at the other reviews (good and bad) that taken together paint a realistic picture, we have a few remarks and suggestions of our own. To be clear: these are mostly minor details to us, as on a whole we were very happy with our decision to book a stay in 1871 House.

In our case staff service was very capable, pleasant and personal; coming from Europe, we were able to use the NYC-address of 1871 House for delivering of tickets we ordered through the Internet; on arrival everything was waiting in our room. During our stay we could use their equipment to print tickets and boarding passes. The owners keep a distance to the day-to-day running of the operation, and we didn't meet them.

For our family there was more than enough space in the Madison Suite. Having only one bathroom asks for some improvisation. Also, we think the decision to put a relatively large cabinet in the front-room (not in the photos) to hold a tv could/should be reconsidered. Waterpressure (?) at times was low, so we couldn't get the shower running instantly; there always was warm water though. The beds are good and everything was clean. We used the small kitchen for breakfast (fresh croissants at Le Pain Quotidien, around the corner) and also a few times to cook dinner. We missed some basic supplies you don't want to buy for a relatively short stay, like tablets for the dishwasher. And for a party of five an extra chair at the table would be pleasant. Yes, in an old house floorboards make noise when you walk and you sometimes hear your neighbours, but for us that added to the charm.

Public transport connections to the rest of the city are excellent; proximity to Central Park a plus. It is great to do your own grocery-shopping in the nearby stores, and to open the door to your own kingdom with your own keys. It really gave us a "home away from home"-feeling. We didn't want to leave.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1871House, Owner at 1871 House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We thank the guest for taking the time to share their thoughts and we very much appreciate the kind comments!! We are located in an amazing part of the city and love it here ourselves. In regards to a few of the guest's suggestions: the approx. 21-inch deep armoire serves to hide the TV when not in use; we will add a photo of the room which shows the armoire to give a sense of the space to guests who haven't stayed with us before. It's a beautiful, functional antique and although it takes up space, we hope it elevates the feel of the room. :) Per the guest’s suggestion, we have added an extra chair in the Madison Kitchen so five guests can sit at the kitchen table. There are also two chairs located in the adjoining room which provide extra seating. And finally, the water pressure is sometimes affected by simultaneous, multiple uses in the house (flushing toilets, showers, dishwashers) but should stabilize quickly.

As owners, we have a hectic schedule so we are not always available to directly interact with guests. However, both Warren and I are on premises and very much involved with the day-to-day management of 1871 House. There is always at least one staff member available during business hours to service, interact and assist our guests. Our 3-person management team is personable and more than happy to converse and assist in any way possible.

We thoroughly enjoyed having this guest at the house, and appreciate the time and effort of the suggestions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Second time at 1871 House. No surprise. Fantastic location and atmosphere. Friendly and nice staff.
The B&B is perfectly located 5 mnutes from Central Park and 5th Avenue.
Being one of the most rated residential area staying at 1871 House makes you feel a true newyorker.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fraso62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Really nice staff! We stayed in the Garden Room and we wished we could have enjoyed the terrace however the week was pretty cool so we did not use it. In warmer months it certainly expands on the space and space in NY is always a plus. I have to say that the shower is strange albeit usable. I understand that in a house of that age that there are compromises to be made and no doubt it was the best that could be managed. The room is a good size, the bed comfortable and the quiet was a pleasant surprise as we pretty consistently heard how noisy NY could be. You hear people on the stairs but not noise from outside the building. If we visit again we will stay at 1871 House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireZ250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the 1871 House. The staff, especially Jennifer, were very accomodating in terms of googling and printing off directions as well as recommending restaurants etc. We stayed in the Garden room. It was cozy yet very spacious. We were fortunate enough to use the terrace(weather was good) which provided an additional living space and a great place to enjoy our morning coffee. The Queen bed was very comfortable and the trundle bed was perfect for one as well. There was ample storage space for our clothes, two dressers and an armoire. A perfect table for writing and/or snacking. While the bathroom was definitely unique and small it was good enough for showering. We had plenty of hot water at all times contrary to reviews I had read previous to our stay. The additional sink in the room was a welcome addition for teeth brushing and washing before bed.
The neighbourhood was very nice. Minutes away from Park Ave, Central Park and a short subway ride away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square. The little fridge was perfect for housing our juice etc for breakfast and the kettle providing our morning hot drinks. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay at a place with cozy comfy place with character vs a hotel room.

Room Tip: Garden room perfect in spring time, terrace is private and provides additional space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1871House, Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review! It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in the house (and to chat about vegan restaurants). Please come back and stay with us again!

Jennifer, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Wonderful stay in the Madison suite with our 3 children, for their first visit to NYC. Perfect accommodation and location for us. Yes the house plenty of stairs as others say, but so does the subway and we More than coped. The house is charming and we can't praise the service provided by the lovely staff too highly. We didn't meet the owners but Jennifer and Anita were delightfully helpful. The rooms are comfortable, clean, tastefully decorated and well equipped. The per-ordered hamper was nice and the advice re Sprinkles cup cakes on Lexington for birthday cake fare was perfect. We had 5 jam packed days and the location close to the park for the zoo and skating and easy subway access downtown was great. Hope to stay again and will tell our friends. Thanks again.

Room Tip: The Madison is good for families with 3 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb510161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1871House, Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are so happy to have been part of your celebrations and vacation! We would love to have you back for the next one, and to further discuss the best cupcake flavors. :)

Best,
Anita & Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the Lexington suite on the top floor. Although it was a challenge to maneuver up four flights of narrow stairs with near-fifty-pound suitcases, the rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. For our family of five, there was ample space (more than I could have imagined while staying in New York City.)

Our home is in a relatively rural area, and we are not used to city noises at night. Our recommendation to any light sleepers is to bring earplugs. With the occasional knocking of the radiator, horns, and brakes, you may need them to get restful sleep-although the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank santafekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

3 of us stayed in the Madison Suite during a week in which we had snow, rain, and 50-degree weather. During it all, 1871 House provided the perfect 'home base' for sightseeing, and a wonderful refuge for tired feet (and wallets) at the end of the day. The beds were all comfortable, with impeccable linens and plump pillows. Being able to have a fire while it snowed outside was a huge bonus of which we were happy to take advantage! Yes, the stairs are many, and yes, it's an old walk-up building -- but with that comes undeniable charm, warmth, and intimacy, the likes of which you don't get in the large hotels, or in any place in NYC, especially at this price point. This place is a sure bet, and I'll look no further for a place to stay next time I travel to New York. I could easily have moved in permanently -- it's that great. (P.S. Hot water was plentiful every time I sought it).

Room Tip: Madison Suite provides great separation and is perfect for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,984 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#322 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1871 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1871 House

Address: 130 East 62nd Street, between Park and Lexington, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1871 House offers seven apartment-style suites in an historic five-story English Rowhouse, circa-1871 within the Upper East Side Historic District neighborhood. The house offers lovely views of other historic homes, is flooded with sunlight, has an incredible garden, and grand-scale details. 1871 House is surrounded by the Upper East Side's finest restaurants, stylish cafes, galleries, Madison Avenue's chic boutiques as well as world-renowned museums such the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), the Whitney Museum, The Metropolitan Museum of Art and The Frick Collection. Centrally located and just a short walk to Central Park & Fifth Avenue 1871 House is perfect for culture seeking visitors to the Big Apple. However, for business-oriented visitors, 1871 House is also ideally located near Midtown Manhattan. Easy access to public transportation makes 1871 House also convenient to Wall Street and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your 1871 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1871 House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#