We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1871 House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1871 House
130 East 62nd Street, between Park and Lexington, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the Lexington suite on the top floor. Although it was a challenge to maneuver up four flights of narrow stairs with near-fifty-pound suitcases, the rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. For our family of five, there was ample space (more than I could have imagined while staying in New York City.)

Our home is in a relatively rural area, and we are not used to city noises at night. Our recommendation to any light sleepers is to bring earplugs. With the occasional knocking of the radiator, horns, and brakes, you may need them to get restful sleep-although the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    40
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
45
27
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

3 of us stayed in the Madison Suite during a week in which we had snow, rain, and 50-degree weather. During it all, 1871 House provided the perfect 'home base' for sightseeing, and a wonderful refuge for tired feet (and wallets) at the end of the day. The beds were all comfortable, with impeccable linens and plump pillows. Being able to have a fire while it snowed outside was a huge bonus of which we were happy to take advantage! Yes, the stairs are many, and yes, it's an old walk-up building -- but with that comes undeniable charm, warmth, and intimacy, the likes of which you don't get in the large hotels, or in any place in NYC, especially at this price point. This place is a sure bet, and I'll look no further for a place to stay next time I travel to New York. I could easily have moved in permanently -- it's that great. (P.S. Hot water was plentiful every time I sought it).

Room Tip: Madison Suite provides great separation and is perfect for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We don't mind waiting 4-6 minutes for hot water in a hotel or maybe even 14-16 minutes, but 40-60 and still NO HOT WATER??? Not acceptable!! I made a reservation at 1871 House in August 2012 to stay in the Front and Rear Libraries in December 2012 for the Christmas season. I had plenty of time to call and e-mail the staff, make requests and peruse their website! So when I read under Link #2 1871 House: What to Expect, "in extreme cases you may have to wait a few minutes for your shower" and "water heater is new and all of the plumbing has been redone", the thought that we may have NO HOT WATER never crossed my mind!

Our daughter was going to stay with our family at 1871 House as part of her graduation gift from NYU. When she heard that the HOT WATER was "HIT OR MISS" in our Bed & Breakfast, she opted to stay in her dorm room. In fact, one of our guests schlepped all her toiletries across town for a hot shower in our daughter's "dorm room" because we had such difficulty getting hot water in either of our 2 bathrooms! Very disappointing and embarrassing for us as her hosts, especially in light of the high cost of our 2 rooms!!! (over $4,000 for 5 nights)

The "middle man", Anita, at 1871 House did her best to try to appease us by coming to the room and running the water late in the afternoon on our third day there. There was warm water; but at that time many of the guests had checked out, and the remaining guests had taken their daily showers. I asked for monetary compensation for the discomfort and inconvenience and was told, "No, we don't do that." I asked to speak to the owners to discuss our dissatisfaction and was told, "No they don't talk to the guests; you have to deal with me. Also, we need your credit card so we can collect the balance of your bill." (A very different story from the reviews on their website about the warm and hospitable, yet unobtrusive, staff and owners.) So I paid my balance and my family and I had "HIT OR MISS" HOT WATER for the remainder of our trip. Again, a huge disappointment!! Be advised!

I would also encourage you to read ALL comments on Trip Advisor pertaining to 1871 House before making your reservation. Some very valid points have been made. Unfortunately, I read these comments after my stay when I was writing my review. Lesson learned!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1871House, Owner at 1871 House, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Although we disagree with most of what this guest claims, we, too, believe guests should do some light research before booking anywhere. We also absolutely agree with this guest that waiting 40-60 minutes for a shower is unacceptable – but this is never the case at 1871 House. As we state, if the house is at full capacity, there can be a wait time of 10 minutes until the gas-fired water heater recovers entirely for a guest to enjoy a hot shower. In the case of this reviewer’s two half-floor units, our assistant went to check on the status of the hot water and found it to be satisfactory. We would like to take the reviewer's claim at face value, but we have never heard of an hour-long wait for hot water here, and have trouble believing the report is accurate given the basic dynamics of our heating system. If this reviewer is speaking truthfully, we can only offer that this experience was an absolute anomaly. An overwhelming percentage of our guests are repeat customers - we doubt so many people would tolerate the wait time this reviewer mentioned if it were the standard, not the exception. It may also be the case that in this room's bathroom, the cross handle/knob in the shower was spun several times to the right, which interferes with the temperature regulation in the suite. We offer written instructions on how to operate the shower, which sleepy guests might overlook.

The mention of money and financial compensation is a red flag to us. If the guests read the policies ahead of time, as they insist, then they would have known our check-in procedure (with which they did not comply). The complaint – and many other details of this guests’ stay - makes us think the guests did not read our policies ahead of time, did not agree with our policies, and generally did not want to be here.

If one should want an experience at a big-box hotel that sits over a mediocre burger bar and features fluorescent lighting, then there are plenty of other places available. If, however, one wants a cozier suite with apartment-style rooms, we are one of the only venues to offer such a stay. We love our guests - they seek us out for specific reasons. On the off-chance someone finds us and books a stay without knowing we aren't a chain hotel, they are usually pleasantly surprised - especially for our location in NYC. But sadly, in this instance, it has become clear that this guest was totally unaware that he would be staying in a quaint, cozy, elegant hotel that is less like a chain and more like a private home.

1871 House is a historic brownstone, over a century old; there will be occasions of senility where the house simply has a mind of its own. We advise our potential guests on these quirks and ask for their understanding, which many of them gladly give. We are most sorry that the house did not meet the expectations of this guest, as we felt we did everything in our power to remedy their issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I agree with the previous review ...has potential if hot water and cleanliness issues are addressed. Anyone interested in the Victorian style pays attention to those details. Crisp bedding, fluffy white towels, attention to those shower corners, paper products and cleaning supplies for the kitchen, would go a long way to providing some normal away from home.
The neighbourhood is safe and abundant stores for all shopping; close walk to subway and Central Park. Minor adjustments would make this a superb stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rear Library and enjoyed the books on Jackie, Kennedy's etc. A history of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at 1871 for 12 nights across the Christmas and New Year period. I wish I had heeded the warnings about the hot water. It is totally inadequate for a family of 5, regardless of following the instructions. The reality is, there is insufficient hot water for the building. The sheets on my daughters bed were ripped, exposing the matress protector. The bathroom needs a good clean with "exit mould". The utensils and cutlery in the kitchen were dirty on our arrival. Very disappointing. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone or stay here again ourselves.

Room Tip: Best to choose an alternate option for accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1871House, Owner at 1871 House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
After smoothing over a complaint about paying the room deposit (which is outlined clearly in our policies), we welcomed this party with the top-notch preparations we offer every guest. Staff members alerted us to the guest issues mentioned to them, and we responded to each concern with the special attention and care due to every guest. But most, if not all, of these complaints were never made to us during their stay.

Most shocking of their complaints is the disputed bedding – not nearly the crime of the century, but a complete bewilderment to us. Since we weren’t privy to the actions inside the suite, we can only share these details: there was no rip in the sheet when we made the bed. When our housekeeper tried entering the room, she was quickly shooed away and told her services were not needed. When the guest left, we found the ripped sheet – an irreplaceable, French 700-count sheet measuring 30 x 70 – hidden and balled up with a rip measuring 40 x 28.

To address the reviewer’s other points individually:

Over the holidays we are fully booked. We have a commercial-grade, high-capacity water heater that generally satisfies any demands placed on it. The reviewer’s entire party consisted of ten people (two suites), who all generally embarked around the same time each day. Ten people potentially all showering at virtually the same time can put strains on the hot water. We do not dispute this and mention this as an occasional issue in our literature. The resolution in these circumstances is to wait ten or fifteen minutes; we have a gas-fired water heater with a quick recovery time.

There is no mold in the room. Our housekeepers went through the suite with us before the party’s arrival, spot-cleaning and tidying. Several people prepared the suite and saw no mold, an issue that would be new to us in the long history of 1871 House. Were the allegation correct, we would take care of the issue right away, as we certainly consider mold to be a serious issue. After a thorough inspection in the suite after the guest’s review, we can only infer that what the guest is referring to is a small amount of discolored caulking that is 100% clean, just discolored. Tubs are re-caulked roughly every year or so and it can be the case that caulk begins to discolor in as little as 4-5 months.

We checked the dishes and utensils as we unloaded them from the dishwashers and stored them in the kitchen.

We find these complaints about cleanliness unexpected. We have two housekeepers, three general managers and two owners who constantly attend to the rooms by inspecting them regularly. Our housekeepers have been with us for five and six years; they often get tips and thanks from guests for their work. They are, however, human and if they ever overlook anything, we would hope that our guests would feel comfortable enough to speak with us privately. We are more than happy to review anything that a guest feels was overlooked.

Certain members of this party were upset well before arrival – and we feel they took it out on us in this public forum. While they were here, we never heard complaints about cleanliness, mold, or sleep quality and we've carefully inspected the room to find there are no traces of those issues. A party of five (staying with a related group of five more in a nearby suite) showering at the same time will eventually run out of hot water if the showers are not staggered. That is the historical nature of the house and hot water – but please be assured we do always have hot water for those willing to wait a bit and our staff are more than happy to help orient guests in these matters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the 1871 House just after Thanksgiving. I wanted to be walking distance from Central Park and stay in a place that was cozy and comfortable. The 1871 House was exactly that! We LOVED the Rear Library Room. We felt like we were staying with family. The staff was very responsive and respectful. It is quiet and private and very well taken care of. Yes, the water took a few minutes to warm up and sometimes the wifi was sketchy, but that can happen at my home too! I will be traveling to NY a lot this year for work, and hope to stay at the 1871 House exclusively. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The location is superb and the system that allows you to have the keys as if you were at your own home is also great. The room we satyed, the Mission Studio, is really nice. But as it is in the basement needs to be more carefully cleaned and maintained. We also noticed that, except for Anita (kind and interested in helping with directions) the Autumn staff was not so much interested in helping guests. People who made our reservation by email in the begining of the year were nicer. We think that simple changes can make House 1871 better since there are very few places likethat in New York

Room Tip: We think rooms upstairs can be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1871 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1871 House

Address: 130 East 62nd Street, between Park and Lexington, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1871 House offers seven apartment-style suites in an historic five-story English Rowhouse, circa-1871 within the Upper East Side Historic District neighborhood. The house offers lovely views of other historic homes, is flooded with sunlight, has an incredible garden, and grand-scale details. 1871 House is surrounded by the Upper East Side's finest restaurants, stylish cafes, galleries, Madison Avenue's chic boutiques as well as world-renowned museums such the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), the Whitney Museum, The Metropolitan Museum of Art and The Frick Collection. Centrally located and just a short walk to Central Park & Fifth Avenue 1871 House is perfect for culture seeking visitors to the Big Apple. However, for business-oriented visitors, 1871 House is also ideally located near Midtown Manhattan. Easy access to public transportation makes 1871 House also convenient to Wall Street and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1871 House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1871 House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added 1871 House to your Saves list