We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in NYC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1871 House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1871 House
Save
You added 1871 House to your Saves list
130 East 62nd Street, between Park and Lexington, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christmas in NYC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at 1871 for 12 nights across the Christmas and New Year period. I wish I had heeded the warnings about the hot water. It is totally inadequate for a family of 5, regardless of following the instructions. The reality is, there is insufficient hot water for the building. The sheets on my daughters bed were ripped, exposing the matress protector. The bathroom needs a good clean with "exit mould". The utensils and cutlery in the kitchen were dirty on our arrival. Very disappointing. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone or stay here again ourselves.

Room Tip: Best to choose an alternate option for accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1871House, Owner at 1871 House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
After smoothing over a complaint about paying the room deposit (which is outlined clearly in our policies), we welcomed this party with the top-notch preparations we offer every guest. Staff members alerted us to the guest issues mentioned to them, and we responded to each concern with the special attention and care due to every guest. But most, if not all, of these complaints were never made to us during their stay.

Most shocking of their complaints is the disputed bedding – not nearly the crime of the century, but a complete bewilderment to us. Since we weren’t privy to the actions inside the suite, we can only share these details: there was no rip in the sheet when we made the bed. When our housekeeper tried entering the room, she was quickly shooed away and told her services were not needed. When the guest left, we found the ripped sheet – an irreplaceable, French 700-count sheet measuring 30 x 70 – hidden and balled up with a rip measuring 40 x 28.

To address the reviewer’s other points individually:

Over the holidays we are fully booked. We have a commercial-grade, high-capacity water heater that generally satisfies any demands placed on it. The reviewer’s entire party consisted of ten people (two suites), who all generally embarked around the same time each day. Ten people potentially all showering at virtually the same time can put strains on the hot water. We do not dispute this and mention this as an occasional issue in our literature. The resolution in these circumstances is to wait ten or fifteen minutes; we have a gas-fired water heater with a quick recovery time.

There is no mold in the room. Our housekeepers went through the suite with us before the party’s arrival, spot-cleaning and tidying. Several people prepared the suite and saw no mold, an issue that would be new to us in the long history of 1871 House. Were the allegation correct, we would take care of the issue right away, as we certainly consider mold to be a serious issue. After a thorough inspection in the suite after the guest’s review, we can only infer that what the guest is referring to is a small amount of discolored caulking that is 100% clean, just discolored. Tubs are re-caulked roughly every year or so and it can be the case that caulk begins to discolor in as little as 4-5 months.

We checked the dishes and utensils as we unloaded them from the dishwashers and stored them in the kitchen.

We find these complaints about cleanliness unexpected. We have two housekeepers, three general managers and two owners who constantly attend to the rooms by inspecting them regularly. Our housekeepers have been with us for five and six years; they often get tips and thanks from guests for their work. They are, however, human and if they ever overlook anything, we would hope that our guests would feel comfortable enough to speak with us privately. We are more than happy to review anything that a guest feels was overlooked.

Certain members of this party were upset well before arrival – and we feel they took it out on us in this public forum. While they were here, we never heard complaints about cleanliness, mold, or sleep quality and we've carefully inspected the room to find there are no traces of those issues. A party of five (staying with a related group of five more in a nearby suite) showering at the same time will eventually run out of hot water if the showers are not staggered. That is the historical nature of the house and hot water – but please be assured we do always have hot water for those willing to wait a bit and our staff are more than happy to help orient guests in these matters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    41
    9
    7
    8
See reviews for
45
27
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the 1871 House just after Thanksgiving. I wanted to be walking distance from Central Park and stay in a place that was cozy and comfortable. The 1871 House was exactly that! We LOVED the Rear Library Room. We felt like we were staying with family. The staff was very responsive and respectful. It is quiet and private and very well taken care of. Yes, the water took a few minutes to warm up and sometimes the wifi was sketchy, but that can happen at my home too! I will be traveling to NY a lot this year for work, and hope to stay at the 1871 House exclusively. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The location is superb and the system that allows you to have the keys as if you were at your own home is also great. The room we satyed, the Mission Studio, is really nice. But as it is in the basement needs to be more carefully cleaned and maintained. We also noticed that, except for Anita (kind and interested in helping with directions) the Autumn staff was not so much interested in helping guests. People who made our reservation by email in the begining of the year were nicer. We think that simple changes can make House 1871 better since there are very few places likethat in New York

Room Tip: We think rooms upstairs can be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just returned from a lovely long weekend trip to New York. 9 Women taking on Manhattan. Some of the ladies were never in New York previously, none of us have ever experienced 1871. We stayed in the Library front and rear and the Madison Suite. Both rooms were very pretty with nice amenities. It is probably best to stay in the rear of the building as it is very quiet. The front of the building sometimes gets a traffic noise in the night. The girls were forewarned it was a walk up, but after many hours walking the lovely streets of NYC that last climb always met with a little groan. Holly Golightly we ain't, but it truly is a NYC experience not to be missed. And, if you're first in the shower you need to let it run a good long time before the hot water appears, but that's because it's a very old building and plumbing is upgraded to as much as they can. The kettle was always on the boil, and the refrigerators in the the kitchen were a nice touch to store a snack or a leftover from a fabulous meal or that next bottle of Pinot Grigio :) . so the house was like coming home to a warm and cozy place with a very comfortable bed, not a sterile environment . It was truly perfect for our Girlfriends reunion.

Room Tip: Stairs are narrow, so remember your luggage and pack light, Also, rear rooms are quieter than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The staff was wonderful and the room looked exactly as it was pictured! I checked all of the reviews before I booked and thank all who have posted. Someone mentioned that the bathroom they had was old. Well, yes, it is, but I have a one hundred year old house so it didn't faze me and on balance, everything is so clean and so charming...and, the neighborhood is wonderful, an old bathroom is a fair trade!!!!!! I used to live in Manhattan in the 1970s and have stayed in hotels on visits since then. So cold and sterile! Now that I've found the 1871 House, I would never go back to a hotel...and, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Front Office Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you!! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the House. We hope we provide a cozy alternative for those who want to explore NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We ( 2 adults + 2 14 years- old ) just spent 4 nights at 1871 House in New York during hurricane Sandy!
At 1871 House you feel at home immediately. On our arrival on Saturday October 27, 2012 we didn't need much time to feel as true New Yorkers. The location is just splendid, near Starbucks, Le Pain Quotidien, The Bread Factory, a couple of nice restaurants (Fishtail from David Burke, Italian restaurant Pane & Vino and many others), Smiley's 24/24 right on the corner. New York isn't cheap but in this part of town you get quality for a decent price. At no time did we feel worried because of Sandy coming. We realize we were very lucky. Because of the great location of 1871 House we did all we wanted to do walking ( subway and buses were not in operation for a few days ) : Times Square, Central Park, Guggenheim,...
I would not recommend 1871 House to people who need a lot of reassurance or help in whatever matter. Basically you have a nice ( but old ) cosy appartement where the plumbing makes quite some noice and the outdated shower is not a rain shower as you find in new modern/boutique hotels. I do however recommend 1871 House to experienced travellers who want to discover New York by themselves and get the feeling of how a true New Yorker lives.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor: Lexington
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Front Office Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
It was a pleasure having you and your family here. We're so glad also that you loved the amenities of the area as much as we do. Our staff is here all day every day (8:30-6:30 on M-S, and 8:30-3:30 on Sundays). We try very hard to be non-intrusive, yet available: we hope you felt you could ask us for anything if you needed it. That's what we're here for! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tazewell, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

1871 House was part of my very first NYC experience in 2009 and I jokingly referred to it as my home away from home...the decor of my room was so much like my own home in Virginia that I was at ease from the start. The staff at the time, Jennifer, Hedy & Simon, were lively and wonderful and so gracious regardless of how many times I asked about directions, cab etiquette, broadway shows, or even bus schedules! I didn't meet Warren, but Lea and the girls were friendly and welcoming, but certainly not intrusive. I'm truly sorry that I didn't write this review right after my 2009 trip. On my last visit, I naively expected the same staff would be there and had a long overdue sercy for each of them. Of course, by now, they had moved on to other jobs, but the neighborhood was still as comfortable and charming as before. Everything you need is within walking distance, including a great section of Central Park. I stayed in the Library Suite Rear bedroom w/private kitchen. I had an extended stay and even though there's a scrumptious restaurant in just about any direction you choose, having the kitchen was a great option.

I've traveled back to NYC a number of times since and regardless of the amenities offered at large hotels, there hasn't been anywhere I've enjoyed as much as 1871 House. I'm planning another NYC trip soon and intend to stay at 1871 House again... It's true, there's no place like "home".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Front Office Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
It's never too late! Thank you for all your kind comments. We truly appreciate that you thought of us for your return trip to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1871 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1871 House

Address: 130 East 62nd Street, between Park and Lexington, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1871 House offers seven apartment-style suites in an historic five-story English Rowhouse, circa-1871 within the Upper East Side Historic District neighborhood. The house offers lovely views of other historic homes, is flooded with sunlight, has an incredible garden, and grand-scale details. 1871 House is surrounded by the Upper East Side's finest restaurants, stylish cafes, galleries, Madison Avenue's chic boutiques as well as world-renowned museums such the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), the Whitney Museum, The Metropolitan Museum of Art and The Frick Collection. Centrally located and just a short walk to Central Park & Fifth Avenue 1871 House is perfect for culture seeking visitors to the Big Apple. However, for business-oriented visitors, 1871 House is also ideally located near Midtown Manhattan. Easy access to public transportation makes 1871 House also convenient to Wall Street and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1871 House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1871 House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.