We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for a trip to NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Strand Hotel to your Saves list
The Strand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West 37 Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$40 DINING CREDIT DAILY!
Ranked #47 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Base for a trip to NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

After a long search through hundreds of expensive hotels we came across the Strand in the middle of Manhatten which close to Times Square and metro stops and at a reasonable price too.

The rooms were brilliant, clean and huge beds, which you need after the long amounts of walking you do.

I recommend checking out the roof bar for an amazing view of the Empire State Building at night...simply incredible to have a drink or two and watch this incredible landmark!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for those heartwarming comments. We’re so pleased to know that our accommodations, service, and fantastic rooftop bar all met and exceeded your expectations. You showed that careful research pays off, and I thank you for sharing your experience with readers.

Have a spectacular summer.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    561
    106
    29
    13
See reviews for
345
767
73
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

There isn't much to this hotel as it is small, but the rooms are great and clean and the service is FANTASTIC. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in midtown. Also an amazing rooftop bar with an excellent view of the Empire State Building.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

A thousand thanks for declaring The Strand’s accommodations and service fantastic, and for recommending us to others. That’s the reaction we try to produce every hour of every day, and your kind review indicates that we succeeded. Glad you enjoyed our rooftop bar as well. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location--in midtown but street is quiet and easy. Excellent service and comfortable rooms. Just small enough to allow for guests to feel special and personally welcomed. The Roof is great and the staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We treasure your comments, and thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are always pleased when guests appreciate our quiet location in the heart of Midtown, with spectacular views of the Empire State Building – and that’s just the beginning.

Have a wonderful summer.

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I'm a huge fan of The Strand...was debating where to stay in NYC for a quick weekend visit and I'm so happy that I chose this hotel. We were greeted warmly by John in reception...we were also surprised to be upgraded to a corner room on the top (20th) floor with a balcony and view of the Empire State bldg...how's that for awesome hospitality? The staff was super nice...always smiling and saying hello to guests. Rooms were very clean, spacious and modern. The hallways were quiet and there was very good soundproofing...we didn't hear a peep during our stay. The king-size bed was comfortable, sheets were soft and new. Bathroom was new and modern, great shower pressure. The location is great...we walked to great restaurants. There are many tourists but it wasn't right in the craziness of Times Square. However, if you are a walker, it's easy to get everywhere. There was even a bike rental location on the corner where we rented bikes for the day. They held our luggage for us on the last day so we could explore the sights. The rooftop bar clinched it for me...we headed up there daily for a drink and to relax, while taking in the NYC view. This Jersey girl is happy because this is my new go-to hotel when staying in NYC from here on in...thanks Strand staff!

Room Tip: Corner room on 20th floor...
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't mind reusing towels or sheets....we liked that the hotel promoted recycling.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

I can’t thank you enough for taking the time to write about the many things you enjoyed -- our central location, outstanding accommodations, and great service. Your comments mean a lot to us, and future guests will certainly benefit from your tips, like the nearby bike rental and subway options.

Hope to have you back soon.

Warm regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location in the Garment District. Many attractions are within walking distance. The staff were nice, rooms were clean and comfortable. We asked for a room with a view, but got a room with a brick wall view. We were disappointed, but the room ended up to be very quiet. The Bistro was good and nicely decorated, service was slow. The selling point for The Strand is the rooftop lounge. It's a real gem!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for confirming that our rooftop lounge, with those spectacular views and friendly vibe, is a New York gem. You were most kind to take time to write a review, and we hope to welcome you again soon.

warm regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Mills, MD
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My daughter and I went to NYC by train for a concert at Madison Square Garden. The Strand Hotel was the perfect location for our visit. We arrived at Penn Station and it was only a 10 minute walk to the hotel. On the way we loved getting into the NYC vibe. You can feel the energy in the air! The Strand is convenient to The Garden, Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Times Square, and shopping. We were there for one night only but what a night it was! At check-in I asked John if our room had a nice view. He said it had a view but the room category I had booked only went to the 6th floor. He said he had an Empire Room on the 17th floor available and offered to show us both rooms for comparison. So, off we went on a quick tour. The decision was easy - a view of the buildings across the street or perfect view of the Empire State Building. John gave us a very nice rate on the Empire Room - a very nice rate!!! Thank you John! Check in was a breeze. The room was comfortable, lovely decor, very clean, and well appointed. We had a nice dinner at The Lounge - metro chic décor, comfortable seating, nice bar, beautiful aquarium, and super nice staff. After the concert, we returned to have a drink at the Rooftop Bar. The weather was perfect and the rooftop was open to a beautiful night sky and unforgettable view of the Empire State Building. I felt like I could reach out and touch it! The drinks were good and the music suited the ambience of the bar. This is where I started to get that "New York State of Mind" feeling. I love this chic, boutique hotel. The staff was exceptional, very helpful, and there to make each guest feel special...which we did. I'd put The Strand at the top of my list of places to stay in Manhattan. Now I'm looking for reason to return and it shouldn't be too hard to do. I ♥ The Strand.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view and quieter the room. I personally loved the 17th floor wi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Green Leaders Silver Label. Very environmentally-friendly hotel.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a fabulous review. It means the world to us. The Strand Restaurant is quickly becoming a favorite with guests and locals alike, and I thank you for mentioning its charm and tasty cuisine. We want to always be on the top of your list, and look forward to seeing you every time you visit Manhattan.

sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The perfect base for a few days' sightseeing, everything within walking distance (for a good walker) and a wonderful view of the Empire State Building from our 16th floor south facing room. Our room had two double beds so the family could pile in comfortably. Free wi-fi was great, although coverage was a bit patchy and signal up and down like a yo-yo. Staff were courteous and not overbearing - welcome bottle of wine was a lovely touch. Things I would address - shower weak, and bathroom dark with no close up mirror for make-up. Otherwise a wonderful stay and I would visit again,

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the Empire State Building are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write after coming all the way across the pond to visit New York. It’s great to know that the Empire State Building views were everything you’d hoped for, and that our service was just right. I appreciate your comment about a make-up mirror in the bathroom -- convenient for shaving, too.

Have a lovely summer, and please do visit us again

Sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#24 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#26 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,324 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#70 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,176 reviews
Chelsea
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
#35 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,500 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#28 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 33 West 37 Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Strand in New York City, offering contemporary luxury in Manhattan's trendy Midtown Fashion District. Guests will discover classic charm and warmth along with style and impeccable service at this exciting Manhattan hotel.Featuring 176 guestrooms, many with fabulous views, the 21-floor Strand is ideally located just around the corner from the Empire State Building, steps from prime NYC shopping, the Theatre District, Madison Square Garden, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station and many more things to do in New York City. With so many things to do and reasons to visit New York, the Strand offers the perfect midtown Manhattan location.Sleek and distinctive on the exterior, the interior has an atmosphere all its own. Each room features custom furnishings inspired by mid-century Bogart elegance and designed by Lisa Knight. True to this style, the Strand is accented by a collection of vintage photography from the archives of Conde Nast. The stylish lobby of this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel features a stone-and-glass circular staircase and the lush visual and sound effects of a two-story water wall. With its uniquely contemporary and upscale tone, the Strand is a memorable, modern, ideally-situated oasis for New York business and leisure travelers alike. It's perfect for a New York City weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.