We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Strand Hotel to your Saves list
The Strand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West 37 Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dennyloanhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. Myself, my sister and my two sons stayed 7 nights. Great location. Handy for visiting all the attractions. Room was very clean as was the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable especially after almost 12 hours out sightseeing and walking. Beds were always turned down at night with yummy chocolates. Slept like a baby as I was not disturbed with any noise from outside or the bar as we were on the 18th floor. Staff were polite, pleasant and helpful. Rooftop bar was fantastic although disappointingly it was closed on a few occasions for private functions. Would still highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review that mentions how convenient our location was, and how peaceful the rooms were for sleeping. Our entire team is delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and I am personally grateful to you for recommending The Strand to others. I hope you will come again the next time you cross the Atlantic.

Best regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    457
    85
    27
    13
See reviews for
271
607
60
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great location. Comfortable rooms although a little small. Stayed for 4 nights and moved from the 2nd floor to the 18th floor after the first night at the receptionists suggestion and had a great view of the Empire State. Staff attentive. Restaurant a little expensive

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I appreciate your positive comments about our convenient Midtown location and the initiative taken by our staff to make sure you had room with a spectacular view. Your feedback reinforces our entire team’s commitment to making guests feel welcome and appreciated. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to New York.

Many thanks,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Strand Hotel NYC. Its in a great location in midtown Manhattan just off 5th Avenue and within walking distance of all the major sights. Room was immpeccably clean and had a very large bed. There were nice finishing touches which included egyptian cotton sheets and chocolates on the pillow every evening. Room was well equipped with fully stocked mini bar and nice toiletries in the bathroom.
Hotel facilities were also very good. Dinner in the restaurant was nice but a little overpriced for what we got. The roof top bar is just fantastic with an amazing view of the Empire State Building - this is a must after a long day sightseeing or shopping.
I have to give John from reception a mention as he was so good to us - he even ran to 5th Avenue to get us a taxi during rush hour. Overall stay at the Strand Hotel was excellent. I will stay again and recommend to my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Strand, and for recommending us to family and friends. It was gratifying to read that the Egyptian cotton sheets, luxurious toiletries, and chocolates on the pillow were a hit. I am particularly proud of our team members who, like John, do whatever it takes to ensure that each guests’ stay is perfect from beginning to end.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is an outstanding Manhattan property. The rooms are great and the location is also a winner. Unique to The Strand Hotel is the open air, rooftop bar; a must-see, with an inspirational view of the city and the best starting point for a blissful NYC night.

But the best feature of The Strand is the staff. If you have a question or need, you can count on them to go beyond the call of duty to meet your needs. My girlfriend's birthday occurred during our stay at The Strand. I wanted a cake waiting in the room upon our return one evening. I spoke with Greg and Peter, and quickly made the arrangements through their expanded room service through an outside bakery. Later in the day, I called in to let them know we would soon be returning to the room. They let me know everything was set-up. When we returned to the room, not only was the cake in the room, they had also sent up a bottle of wine, glasses, and a card. Later, I found out that the bakery requires a 48 hour notice, so Greg personally drove to another bakery in town, bought the cake, and brought it back to the hotel so that it would be there in time.

This is just one example of how wonderful The Strand takes care of its guests. I highly recommend you experience The Strand for yourself. Here's a shout out to Greg, Peter, John, Alec, and Sal. You guys rock.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are grateful for your amazing review of the Strand, NYC. Your depiction of our outstanding staff is truly first class, and as you can imagine extremely excited to pass this along them. What we are most proud of, are the efforts made by our ladies and gentlemen to execute many of the small details that ultimately create memorable experiences like yours.
I look forward to having you back again in the near future and thank you again for the time you have taken to write.

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

1. On my way to the hotel after landing at the airport, I did check to see if king rooms were available.

After my dialog with the front desk, below, I checked again (yep still available) - and I called, yep I could have booked a room....

I would have been able to check into a king that night using the web.

So, I get to the front desk and ask if I could upgrade. The front desk (ps., this desk is grade school sized, as is the lobby,- this is another story but the lobby cannot hold more then 7 people comfortably) said, sorry no rooms available.

OK, a bit confused here and after driving up (cab could not find the place) and seeing a desolate looking street (the buildings across the street are vacant, the building next to the hotel is being renovated and is in scaffolding) I didn't feel at all safe staying here (another ps., I used to work at 399 park and lived in NYC for many years....) so I asked her to kindly just let me leave and I would stay somewhere else.

She(front desk) wasn't sure of the cancellation policy. Trust me, this was so bad I would have paid a nominal fee to get out. then after several minutes, she does find this and tells me you have to cancel 2 days before, so I was stuck staying there...

She wasn't sure if she could fit me into a king room the following night (I had booked 2 nights).
She told me if she could, it would be a 50.00 upcharge

NEXT- I check into a room that is the size of a closet. There is a queen size bed (that was really uncomfortable, springs made noise and it was one of those beds that you kind of sink into and not in a good way... There was a bed, a very small desk and a small amoire (I didnt notice until the next morning when I needed to dry my hair that there was no hair dryer...)
There was no place in the bathroom to store my toiletries (wonderful, got to use the toilet seat...

There was no divider from the shower to the floor of the bathroom, it was all one marble slab. So the shower water is on the floor in the bathroom. Not so safe and I have a feeling that there was some urine on the floor by the toilet (or in the shower) because that room, after I showered emitted a really strong URINE smell.

INTERNET- "we have complimentary WIFI" ok, but it doesn't work! around 10 pm, one guy came into my room. Could not help me. Then he called another guy, same thing. both of them were in my room over a 1/2 hour. (the room was not big enough for three people...)

BAR- LIPSTICK GROSS all over my glass. But let me backup. I entered the bar ordered a martini (and a common gin) sorry, we are out. Ok, tried something else. While I am ordering a man who was sitting with a women (she worked there and I am not sure if he did) started accosting me. I was very uncomfortable. the bartender got into the fun. I wanted to leave.

BACK in my room- I had taken a few sips from the glass, and then noticed.... PINK LIPSTICK all over the glass.

FOOD- the lady at the front desk told me that there was food until 10 (it is now 945) - I went to the bar "sorry " only soup.

ROOM SERVICE- "excellent room service"- no room service in the morning (it does not start until 12 during the week. Yep, this is a business friendly hotel..



Back to the night before. the women on the front desk calls we can move you tomorrow for 50. Have your bag packed and we will move it to your new room for you. Ok I did this, got up early to do this..... (read what happens the next day!)



Remember, they were going to move my suitcase? well I get back to the hotel the next day. First they said "we didn't move you because we were not sure you wanted to move because of the charge..... While I am standing there another guy is checking in:
"Mr. xxx we have given you a complimentary upgrade".

Then they did somehow decide that I didn't have to pay for the upgrade (was it the lipstick glass, trouble in the bar, lack of wifi connectivity or the urine smell in the room)- but my bag was still in my old room.

After a 15 minute run around, they got my bag to my room but this made me late for a dinner meeting.

At this point, I did speak to the manager.

MY NEW ROOM- is bigger, yes. I had called the front for ice. After 30 minutes I get a call - we are really busy, it is going to be a bit longer (ok, forget it).

I get a beer out of the honor bar. It is warm. Try another one. Same thing.
Call down. LEt us bring you a free beer (another wait). I gave the guy the two beers from the "refrigerator" - he knows they were awful.

The elevator smells like pot, could get a contact high.

The bar on the roof - yes, there is a bit of a view of the empire state building. Through plexiglass. The roof bar I would estimate at 12x12 or so, crowded and LOUD.
They use plastic martini glasses up here ( I think they reuse them...)

Finally I get to bid goodbye to this place. One of my colleagues decides that we will use the "hotel" car to take us to LGA. the guy could not speak english. I think, but am not sure, that he was speaking spanish.(I am fluent but could not understand much of what he was saying) We get to the airport. I tell him I am going from gate c- is that as well, terminal c? He takes us to terminal C- which turns out to be wrong (he was right and wrong here, he said united was the main terminal which is where he took me but he said a c gate was terminal c. He then took my associates and me to terminal d. I said I wanted to go back to the main terminal.. Slamming the breaks, punching the gas, complaining to someone on the cell phone "blaa blaa blaa terminal c no blaa blaa main...." this guy was clearly mad!!!!!

"our location, just off Fifth Avenue, near the Empire state Building is considered amount the most central in NYC....."
maybe the most central but there is NOTHING to do near this central location- no good food, no good shopping and there are better views from the empire state building....


When I checked out there was a post - it on the computer at the front desk "VIP room xxx" that was me... If that's how they treat VIP's I feel sorry for the rest of us.

keep remembering more! the hairdryer in my new room didn't work.
They moved my coffee machine to my new room (but didn't empty it out) nor did they give me any creme).

there is major construction going on next door to this hotel and on the street. I am not sure what time it was, but very noisy construction in the wee hours of the morning. I guess staying in the closet room which had a view of the alley (that was wonderful...) was a better sleep choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

I was certainly flabbergasted by your recent review and can assure you that a considerable amount of time has been made to explore your comments. Although I empathize and certainly will always take full responsibility with anyone whose hotel stay was not a positive experience, I will however emphatically respond that your depiction of the Strand is perplexing as you appear upset with issues that indeed are unwarranted.

We have complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, we offer excellent room service and restaurant services until 10 pm as clearly stated on our website and in our in- room collateral, In-room coffee makers are available upon request as clearly outlined on our website (in fact received shortly after your request) Our cancelation policy is very much in line with all NYC hotels. Most popular NYC hotels that have very high occupancy rates and policies are very clear. Our front desk made every effort to explain that we unfortunately were fully committed that evening and would be able to upgrade you the following day to a larger accommodation without any additional charges from the queen accommodation that you in fact reserved. It should be noted, as promised, we upgraded you the very next day (when we had the opportunity) What is truly upsetting and unfair is that you posted your review after the first two minutes of your stay on your mobile devise without taking a minute to speak to our front desk or manager that evening or the following morning with respect to your concerns. I myself and our management team view these comments as less than accurate and frankly unfair to our dedicated staff.

Our guests rooms, and there are many categories, are all well within the customary size range for New York City. Our location, just off Fifth Avenue, near the Empire State Building is considered among the most central in NYC. Perhaps your simply prefer a different experience than we were not able to provide. Please know that as GM, I am sincerely sorry that neither your experience nor comments are a reflection of our guests experience and certainly do not reflect our usual high standards.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I booked a last minute 3 night trip to manhattan. After reading the reviews we decided to book the Strand. We arrived from our early flight at 9am and we were welcomed by Mathew (assistant manager) at the front desk. He was great and always said hi to us and when we checked in he was able to get us a room immediately and he upgraded us to a king size suite. The room was amazing (very big by NY standards), the products in the room were very high quality. In addition the roof top bar has an incredible view of the empire state building.

The location of the hotel is great as well as it is walking distance to most sites and as well is close to both train stations..... Which is convenient because we took the train in from Newark airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that you selected the Strand during your recent trip to our great city. I was glad that Mathew was able to check you into your room so early in the morning and for appreciating the Strand culture of accommodating you so early when avaiable. We thank you for mentioning our excellent location, wonderful room quality and the empire state building views from our cozy all season retractable roof top bar. Please feel free to contact us directly for the best available rates.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked multiple rooms as well as adjoining rooms/suites for ourselves and our guests for our son's wedding weekend. The suites were used for the wedding party to get dressed the day of the wedding. We found the hotel is impeccably clean and the rooms are tastefully decorated. Other than the young lady from Group Sales with whom we had to work (she was frustrating to deal with as she had great difficulty understanding our needs, dates, etc.), the staff was amazingly gracious, accommodating and helpful. We could not have been more pleased in every way. And by NYC standards, the prices were pretty reasonable which was appreciated by our guests. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for selecting the Strand for your son’s wedding. The fact that the Strand will be part of such joyous memories is humbling to us all. I was so pleased that you overall stay was wonderful and hope you will consider staying with us next time you are in NYC.
Congratulations on your son's wedding, we wish them all the happiness in the world!

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 33 West 37 Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Strand in New York City, offering contemporary luxury in Manhattan's trendy Midtown Fashion District. Guests will discover classic charm and warmth along with style and impeccable service at this exciting Manhattan hotel.Featuring 176 guestrooms, many with fabulous views, the 21-floor Strand is ideally located just around the corner from the Empire State Building, steps from prime NYC shopping, the Theatre District, Madison Square Garden, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station and many more things to do in New York City. With so many things to do and reasons to visit New York, the Strand offers the perfect midtown Manhattan location.Sleek and distinctive on the exterior, the interior has an atmosphere all its own. Each room features custom furnishings inspired by mid-century Bogart elegance and designed by Lisa Knight. True to this style, the Strand is accented by a collection of vintage photography from the archives of Conde Nast. The stylish lobby of this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel features a stone-and-glass circular staircase and the lush visual and sound effects of a two-story water wall. With its uniquely contemporary and upscale tone, the Strand is a memorable, modern, ideally-situated oasis for New York business and leisure travelers alike. It's perfect for a New York City weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.