We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 stars hotel at all, mire like 3 stars.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Strand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Strand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 West 37 Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save 10%
Ranked #42 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not a 4 stars hotel at all, mire like 3 stars.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is located steps away from a lot of things. Construction outside was very loud very early in the AM so couldnt have a good night sleep..Room was small but cozy and very clean. This hotel may call themselves a 4 stars but i got the feeling it is more like 3 stars hotel, i say this because ive stayed at 4 and 5 hotels in NYC but this one was just like those 3 stars hotels like Best Western or comfort Inn..not enough room to move around, TV in the room was very small and the bathroom was not all that great. I honestly didnt see anything luxurious about it, all it is the terrace with views of the Empire State Building and the location, nothing else was exciting. Breakfast was from 6 AM to 10 AM though i didnt have time to try it out. This hotel didnt meet my expectations so i will not be stay here again. There is many of 4 and 5 stars hotel in NYC that are way nicer than this one.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience. We were pleased you found the location convenient and the rooms flawless and cozy. We do offer various room categories that may be more in line with the size that you expected. We apologize if the room size did not meet your standards and would certainly like to extend the opportunity to speak to you more about these available categories in the future. We’re doing everything possible to ensure that guests are never affected from the sounds of neighboring activity, but this can sometimes be a challenge of operating a hotel in a big city. We again thank you and hope to here from you soon. I can be reached directly at 646 368-6415.

Warm Regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    735
    408
    71
    26
    12
See reviews for
238
549
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Strand is small in comparison to most New York Hotels and the reason we chose this hotel was because of the wonderful reviews we had read and we were not disappointed. The welcome was wonderful, our room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean with lovely complimentary toiletries. The bar and restaurant area had a relaxed feel and breakfast was a bonus as not many hotels in New York include a breakfast. There was a whole range of food to chose from, all of it delicious and you could even take a coffee to go. We also had dinner in the restaurant one night which was wonderful and beautifully presented. The icing on the cake is the roof top bar which overlooks the Empire State Building, the glass roof opens on warmer evenings. We won't stay anywhere else in New York now, this is a great hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My Girlfriend had always wanted to go to New York at Christmas and I had always dreamed of taking her there and proposing, however the thing that made this tricky is that she is quite a private person and New York is a pretty busy city (especially at Christmas). Therefore in order to pull off the perfect NYC Christmas proposal I trawled the internet looking for a room with a view, so we could have our private moment as well as the stunning New York view. From all the reviews and pictures this hotel seemed to tick all the boxes and so I contacted the hotel to tell them what I wanted to do, they couldn’t have been more helpful, they gave us a top floor room which was perfect it had ceiling to floor windows with a stunning view of the Empire State Building.

Not only this but the hotel itself is modern and clean, the hotel breakfast was really good with fresh bagels and cereal etc. and the location of the hotel is great too, just a short walk from 5th Ave and right in the heart of mid-town so not too far to walk in order to get to all the major sights. Our Christmas trip to NYC was perfect in every way and I’d like to thank The Strand hotel for providing a great room with a unforgettable view.

Room Tip: As higher floor as you can get with an Empire State Building view is a must, as long as the budget a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
We are so grateful that you selected the Strand for such a special occasion.
Nothing is more gratifying than the understanding that we were the perfect setting for your romantic getaway. We are particularly thrilled to have read that all of the many details to your proposal were perfectly executed and look forward to welcoming you for the next chapter of this enchanting tale,

Warm Regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable rooms, although small. Good location within walking distance we can reach broadway, the vivid avenues and NYC library and Bryant park. The view from almost rooms include a perspective from the empire state building, which make it magic at night. The roof top bar must be enjoyed and be prepared for good cocktails. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is good to begin your day although it may take a while to bring back some run out items.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your enjoyable stay with us. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts. The New York Public Library and the Morgan Library are both within walking distance, adding high culture to the mix of shopping and entertainment that surround and that make The Strand’s location so convenient. We hope you’ll return to enjoy our hospitality again soon.

Warm Regards,
John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

It's my second time at The Strand. I did not use the Restaurant or the Gym. Was there on a business trip and most of the time in meetings or working in the room. Both times I've got a great room, with great natural light and an invaluable silence being in the center of Manhattan.

The space of the room, great. The bed, comfortable. The pillows, perfect. Small bathroom, but will all you need.

One detail to remember: free WiFi. WiFi it is one of the most ridiculous expenses Hotels now charge to their clients, when we all now that's a service that should be given included in the price, like showers, beds or electricity in the rooms. Again, a good marketing detail coming from The Strand.

And the service at the Lobby, really nice. They make an effort to smile all the time and for my surprise, when I got to my room in my second visit, there was a bottle o wine and a personal letter from the GM to me, thanking me for repeating visit and welcoming me.

What else can you ask for when you get to the Big Apple?

I'm not sure if it's a good idea to share all these things... next time in NYC I wouldn't like to find the Hotel full or the prices tripled!

Congratulations for a great service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from our first trip to New York having had a brilliant time.

We were so pleased that we picked The Strand - its tucked out of the way but within easy walking distance of most tourist attractions although we cheated once and got a cab to the 911 site.

Unfortunately there is a new hotel being built next door. Work goes on during the week from about 4 in the morning to about 11 at night. We were given an upgrade to a room facing the Empire State Building - obviously we were delighted but unfortunately we were on the corner above the building work so sleep time was limited. They don't work at weekends though so a bit of a bonus.

The room was fabulous. Previous reviews have stated them as small - they are ample and in New York you find you are out and about all the time anyway. The bed and pillows are just so comfortable. The bathroom is small but very modern and contains everything you need. Free wifi too so great to be able to use Skype to contact the kids back home.

Our stay included a free continental breakfast although we were told by the guy on reception that you can actually have anything as long as you pay anything over $18 each. We found this covered most things we wanted, apart from the cooked breakfast that was pitifully small for the money and we wouldn't recommend.

We ate in the hotel twice during our stay and it was the nicest food we had. The organic chicken is mouth-wateringly good.

All in all we had a brilliant stay ... When we return to New York it will be to The Strand BUT it won't be until Spring 2013 when the building work is expected to finish.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about the many things you enjoyed at The Strand. We were pleased that you mention our unique location, being nestled on a block just off of 5th Avenue, as well as our complimentary WiFi and comfy bedding. Outside noise can be a fact of life in big cities like New York, and we make every effort to shield our guests from these sounds. We hope you will select us again when in New York and can promise that you will continue to enjoy our great views and attentive service.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park CA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel. They used to provide breakfast. But not this trip. Staff is great. Location is very good. Room was small, but this is NYC. But what MBA suggest they stop providing breakfast? It is about the customer, after all.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at the Strand Hotel NYC at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. In response to our guests request' for greater variety, we've enhanced our breakfast service to offer a broader a la carte menu includng traditional hot offerings. Although a la carte, and no longer complimentary, We have found many guests are enjoying the new level of service, quality of items and comfortable ambiance of our bistro.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope you will try Chef Kelvin's weekly additions to the morning menu.
Sincerely,
John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: 33 West 37 Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Strand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Strand in New York City, offering contemporary luxury in Manhattan's trendy Midtown Fashion District. Guests will discover classic charm and warmth along with style and impeccable service at this exciting Manhattan hotel.Featuring 176 guestrooms, many with fabulous views, the 21-floor Strand is ideally located just around the corner from the Empire State Building, steps from prime NYC shopping, the Theatre District, Madison Square Garden, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station and many more things to do in New York City. With so many things to do and reasons to visit New York, the Strand offers the perfect midtown Manhattan location.Sleek and distinctive on the exterior, the interior has an atmosphere all its own. Each room features custom furnishings inspired by mid-century Bogart elegance and designed by Lisa Knight. True to this style, the Strand is accented by a collection of vintage photography from the archives of Conde Nast. The stylish lobby of this luxury Midtown Manhattan hotel features a stone-and-glass circular staircase and the lush visual and sound effects of a two-story water wall. With its uniquely contemporary and upscale tone, the Strand is a memorable, modern, ideally-situated oasis for New York business and leisure travelers alike. It's perfect for a New York City weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.