We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch time location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie's Cuban Cuisine

Sophie's Cuban Cuisine
96 Chambers St, New York City, NY (Manhattan)
2126089900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,222 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Woodhaven, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good lunch time location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Lunch is always good at Sophie's. All lunch specials are good and the fruit shakes are also good. JWT

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I always go to Chambers Street in lower Manhattan. I ordered the baked salmon, with rice and beans and maduros for $12.95 total. Add a little gravy and green sauce and it's so good. I take out because it's usually crowded during the lunch hour. The salmon was moist and not overcooked. The cuban sandwiches, baked chicken and pork chops are my favorites also. It's one of the better eat in/take out places to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Sophie's is a great place for lunch. Food is always very fresh and authentic. Roast pork and Roast turkey are my favorites as well their green sauce which I use on my salad as well. I usually order for delivery so I can continue working, but eating in is pretty quick as well. It does get a bit smokey sometimes when eating in so I would consider the atmosphere so-so for eating in. In terms of value, it is very hard to find a better value for the quality of food you get.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsford, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Cuban sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Advertised as the best Cuban sandwich in NYC and it likely is. Really good authentic Cuban.... tight fit for seating, loud and close... but great food, prompt good service and clean. Will most definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The steak sandwich rocks, it is truly the best.
The fried pork sandwich with fried plaintain is also excellent.
Josie

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's Cuban Cuisine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sophie's Cuban Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophie's Cuban Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.