We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEDBUGS, BEDBUGS, BEDBUGS.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Jane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Jane to your Saves list
The Jane
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Jane Street, New York City, NY (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 464 Hotels in New York City
lagarconne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEDBUGS, BEDBUGS, BEDBUGS.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Was excited to stay at the Jane Hotel. Heard really good things and was pleased with the room, but was awoken in the middle of the night only to find that I was being eaten alive by BEDBUGS!!!!!

I was so disgusted, I left my room at 4 am and Jane Hotel staff did not do ANYTHING to help the situation. I was not offered an alternate room (it would probably be infested with bedbugs as well) or compensation. I spent the rest of the evening/early morning waiting in the neighbourhood starbucks.

NEVER AGAIN. Completely traumatised.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Jane, Manager at The Jane, responded to this review, August 4, 2009
Unfortunately, bed bugs are an issue in New York hotels from time to time. We do thoroughly inspect all rooms prior to check in, and rooms that are found to have any signs of trouble are immediately taken out of service. We do a complete two-part extermination in the room using the most current treatment methods available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    353
    136
    59
    61
See reviews for
53
159
396
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Let's face it, you don't go to the Big Apple to sit around in a big hotel room suite all day, right? Yes, the room is really small. Yes, the bed is incredibly small, especially if there's more than one person in the room. Yes, you have to share a bathroom with other guests. But for $99 a night, or less, you have probably the best bargain in Manhattan. And even though the rooms are small and the bathrooms are shared, they are both immaculately kept. I literally saw the bathroom being cleaned every time I used it. I will stay here every time I visit New York, and they will be adding larger rooms in the future, if they haven't already, with private bathrooms and queen and king sized beds. The front desk person was always very helpful as well and the location was close to subways and dining and drinking. While it may not have all the ammenities as other hotels, The Jane is a great place for singles who won't be spending a lot of time in their room, you just have to know what you're getting into before you go.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

My bad. I should have read all of the reviews. Particularly the ones that warned of odor. I was prepared for a 50 square foot room and even prepared for the bath down the hall. I was not prepared for the dingy condition of the room, the hallway and the distinct odor of the bathroom. Depressing and sad.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

The hotel profits from an excellent location, close to subway station, close to a variety of nice bars, restaurants etc.

Staff was really friendly.

There is a popular club to be accessed via the lobby of the hotel, people are standing in line in front of the hotel at night ...
At the moment, it seems, that no rooms are for rent in the 2nd floor. I would make sure not be attributed a room on the 2nd floor, as soon as they are renovated.

As also stated by other reviewers, it is obvious, that this place serves as a rooming house still to some extent. So, on the floor, it just smells horrible from some single rooms.

Bathrooms are clean, rooms too. Even if the effort to hoover at both the carpet at both ends of the bed could be increased.

The rooms are very small. But there is more than enough space to accomodate your luggage. There is even a built in safe.

I would go there again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Literally the worst service I have ever had. Nothing personal. Just horrible service.

MODELS W NO SERVICE EXPERIENCE.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Great for single travellers on a tight budget who don't want to compromise on location, you're just ten minutes walk from the A, C, E and L trains at 8th Ave/14th St subway station and a tree-lined street or two from the delights of the West Village (Sex & The City's Magnolia Bakery is very near), and the designer boutiques of the Meat Packing District.

The Jane has bags of West Village shabby chic charm. The rooms, or "cabins", are certainly small, but so well designed that I never felt cramped. They're very well appointed with air conditioning, fan, flat screen TV/DVD, iPod dock, safe and more than adequate storage. And with the whole of NYC waiting outside, you're not going to be spending much time awake in your room in any case.

Some may baulk at the thought of using shared facilities, but this was never a problem for me. The stylish retro black and white tiled bathrooms were always very clean, and I never had to wait to use them. There was always ample hot water and great, powerful showers. The white waffle robes and slippers are a nice touch.

My only minor gripes were that the cabins got very hot and stuffy, but in such a small staff the air conditioning unit was so loud as to make listening to music or watching television impossible. Also, although this is a non-smoking hotel I often smelt cigarette smoke in the hallways - this however is more of a problem with fellow guests rather than The Jane istself.

All the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Even the old-style elevator is charming! As a lone, but independent, female traveller exploring NYC for the first time I found The Jane, although still mid-refurbishment, to be an excellent base, and I would recommend it to anyone needing a safe, secure single room in the city.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I suffered finding a cheap hotel in NYC. But I trusted this wab page, and all I read was right.
Rooms are really small (for 2), but the neighborhood is nice, cute and full of young people.
It's in the middle of a remodelation, but it's paid back wth the pemanent-wellcoming attitude of the hotel crew.
You're given clean towells (each), slippers, soap, shampoo and conditioner. Bath is ALWAYS clean (I have to underline it) !!!
I would repeat it !! Try it, you wont regret it!
:)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jane

Address: 113 Jane Street, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#250 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jane 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jane Hotel New York City
Jane New York City
Jane Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.