We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Jane to your Saves list
The Jane
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Jane Street, New York City, NY (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #272 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Small, but awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you make up your mind before for tiny rooms and shared bathroom, you will find it awesome. Because, except these two, everything is excellent from price, location, staff and cleanliness. Perfect for solo visitors.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    318
    114
    52
    57
See reviews for
47
142
355
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I grew up a few blocks from the Jane, back in the 60's, so I have somewhat of a vantage point. Build in 1907 as a rest spot for sailors, this hotel breathes history and is in superb condition. It housed survivors from the Titanic in 1912. Beautiful building with a historic lobby and bar. Also has a restaurant.

Located in a great neighborhood in the West Village, two block from the High Line and right across the street from the Hudson River and park. Loads of restaurants. Only a mile or two from midtown Manhattan and the theater district. The prices of the rooms are reasonable, low to mid 100's for the smaller rooms and mid 200's for the larger rooms.

There are three types of rooms, the Standard, the Bunk, and the Captain's Cabins. The Standard, which is one bed, and the Bunk which is two beds, have the same incredibly small size of 50 square feet. That's about the same size as the bathrooms in most regular hotels. Don't forget that these rooms were build for sailors over a hundred years ago. It's especially tight in the Bunk rooms, where it's pretty easy to fall off the ladder right onto the person below.
The Captain's Cabins are much larger at 250 square feet.

The bathrooms and showers are shared down the hall and are very clean and offer sufficient privacy. The restaurant is nice but overpriced. The front desk and lobby staff are very courteous as are the staff that cleans the rooms, but some of the maintenance staff that clean the halls and bathrooms are less than polite. Lastly, the lamp fixtures over the bunks in our room had loose wires and seemed potentially dangerous.

I would recommend the bunk rooms only for people that either have good gymnastic skills and/or are up to the adventure of it all. The standard cabins with one bed are better. I would recommend the Captain's rooms for those that have more money to spend and don't want to deal with the gymnastics.

Overall, despite the flaws, this hotel is an adventure well worth having.

Room Tip: Don't try to fit two people into the single bed standard cabins. The mattresses aren't larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Jane's location is fantastic especially if you plan to spend time wandering around the West Village and Chelsea. The area is laid back but central. The budget rooms are TINY but what they lack in size they make up for in character and quirkiness. The shared bathroom was always clean and shiny in our experience. Best of all, the staff are charming, super friendly, and couldn't have done any more to make our stay fun and easy. Really amazing value for Manhattan.

Room Tip: There was a bit of door slamming going on in the corridor. I guess the rooms furthest from the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Jane Hotel feels like a place a Wes Anderson film was based on. Well designed, everything is considered, but still subtle, charming, authentic and low key. Everyone told me not to stay there because of the small rooms and communal bathrooms, but everything is tight quarters in New York - so deal with it - it's only $100 a night and in a great part of town! Plus, I think that adds to the charm and immediately attracts a unique breed of clientele to the place. It's like sleeping on a boat. Even if you don't stay there, the bar is awesome. Free open wifi is a huge plus too. The only negative I had was the smell of cigarette smoke in my room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Jane.............where to start??? This hotel was sooo good in sooo many ways!! First off, the location is awesome; far enough away from the craziness of midtown; but walking distance to most of NYC attractions! If not walking distance, there are bikes avalible or subways (5 min walk from hotel). Secondly, the staff was amazing and kinda hilarious; from the moment we arrived they went out of there way to help us with anything we needed (bags, resturant recomendations, directions, car service, ect.) all while smiling, joking around and/or singing. Between the location and staff I would definately stay here again!!

I was traveling with my boyfriend and when I told him we were staying in a hotel with bunk beds and shared coed bathrooms, he definately thought I was crazy and that we would be scrambling to find new accomidations for the weekend, but shockingly he seemed to love it as much as I did!! As advertised the rooms are tiny.... but equipted with everything you need for a weekend in the city. Bathrobes, towels, toiletries, slippers and water were supplied and despite the size of the room we had more than enough storage space for our clothes and shoes. We were only visiting for 3 nights, so bunk beds were not an issue for us. The room and bathrooms were very clean, and although it is a very old building, it appeared to be maintained well without losing its character.

There is a bar downstairs which gets very busy on the weekends, we stayed on the 3rd floor and could not hear anything, the only slightly annoying thing about this bar is after arriving back to the hotel after a long day is having to wait/squeeze through the lobby to get up to your room. This wasnt a big issue for us, but worth a mention.

I would 100% stay at the Jane again, maybe we opt for one larger bed opposed to bunkbeds if we were to stay longer than 3 nights next time.....

Overall, great hotel with a great history ( do the ' free tours by foot' darkside of the High Line if you want to hear some cool stories about The Jane), all for a great price!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Jane was recommended to me by a friend who lives in the West Village - it's definitely the cheapest around, and absolutely spotlessly clean. I stayed here 4 nights and wasn't disappointed. The area is amazing, you can walk around at night feeling completely safe and see a ton of restaurants and bars. I walked over to Washington Square Park and there was a guy playing the grand piano in there, on the weekends only apparently, so cool to see. The rooms are very small unless you splash out for a Captain's Cabin (Which I didn't), but they've got everything you need and in an area like that let's face it you're doing something wrong if you're in your room the whole time. Only a few blocks to the C train which gets you to Central Park/Museum of Natural History etc. I got a cab to the Empire State Building for less than $10. The free wifi is good, sometimes it won't let you on in the weekend because there are too many people on the network but that didn't last long. Really friendly service, I would definitely return and recommend it to anyone else I know going to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view to the street if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I loved my stay at the Jane. I loved the trendy location, away from the more touristy areas. It's about a 10 minute walk from the subway.
The rooms are tiny, but I knew that when I booked. The shared bathrooms were always clean and I never had to wait. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar downstairs was a nice place to enjoy a drink after a long day of exploring.
My only two complaints are that I stayed in March and I couldn't control the heat in my room - it was way too hot, but I was able to open the window which helped a little. And there was a really gross smell near the fourth floor elevator.
Overall, I loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again. It's perfect for solo female travellers as I always felt safe walking around in this neighbourhood.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jane

Address: 113 Jane Street, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jane 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jane Hotel New York City
Jane New York City
Jane Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.