We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky,cool, historic vibe. Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Jane to your Saves list
The Jane
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Jane Street, New York City, NY (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Orlando
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quirky,cool, historic vibe. Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

First off, I love cool, unique, historic and art/creative inspired places and experiences. So The Jane appeared to fit most of the features. *****The Positives - built in 1912 and still exhibits much of it's original charm. The staff was exceptional - friendly, helpful and fun. They all dress is cool, period type uniforms, which adds to the charm. Even though there was no ice machines on the floors, they would deliver a bucket to us whenever we asked. The Hotel was exceptionally clean. Even though there are shared bathrooms, they were constantly being cleaned by the staff. Each toilet and shower is individually enclosed with the ability to lock. So the bathrooms are shared by both men and woman. Our particular room was facing West so we had a nice Hudson River view out of our small window. The location is pretty quiet and only a few blocks from the very cool High Line and it's accompanying restaurants and bars. The Ballroom that accompanies the hotel lobby is exceptionally beautiful (period antiques, working fireplace, something out of a movie set) and is extremely popular on weekend nights. ****The Not so Positives and other thoughts - If you haven't figured this out already, the rooms are exceptionally small and there are bunk beds. The beds are only matresses that are on top of wooden planks. . . so they have a habit of sliding around if you move in your sleep (or whatever else you do in bed). The pillows were very nice. The elevator (only 1) is very cool with antique features. . . but is slow and can only hold 6. The closest subway is about 10 minute walk through the nice meatpacking district. The AC unit wasn't the best. . . but the fan on high ensured we stayed cool. I didn't mind this. . . but the hallways and the bathroom areas are not air conditioned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    353
    136
    59
    61
See reviews for
53
159
396
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Having stayed in Easy hotels in London I am used to tiny rooms, but this was better for a single traveler as there was plenty of room under the bed for my bags. The A/C worked fine as felt comfortable despite the boiling heat outside. It was a little noisey but it was easier to get used to than the heat. The shared shower and toilets were good, always clean and never busy when I needed either as there was 2 of each. The big downside was the elevator was broken down when I checked in and and when I checked out although the staff were willing to carry my bag if needed, and even when working it seemed slow.
There was a nice cafe I don't know if it is a part of the hotel but you do access it from the hotel. Served nice food and drink with friendly service.
Great location if planning to enjoy the nightlife, if planning to see the rest of the city not too far from the nearest subway station which has direct trains to Times Square and the WTC Memorial.

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms but I had a single room on the 4th floor with a view of the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Jane is a great rate in a great location in a great city, but the rooms are so tiny you can barely move. If there are 2 of you in the bunk bed room, forget it. One of you has to leave the room so the other one can turn around. Pack soft luggage so you can stow it under the bed or hang it on the hooks that serve as the "closet." Bring a good toiletry kit because you have to carry everything to and from the shower and bathroom. Stay here if you are on a budget or adventurous.

Room Tip: Don't book a bunk bed room. There is not enough room to move around and you will keep hitting yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Jane is an out-of-the ordinary hotel in a great location. My daughter and I stayed in a small room with wood panelling and bunk beds, and it looked just like a cabin on an old cruise ship - the whole atmosphere was like something out of Casablanca. Although it's nowhere near luxurious, we had all the amenities: wifi, AC, separate TVs, towels and bathrobes, slippers & bottled water. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom down the hall was quaint, clean and not at all congested. The staff was very nice. We even found parking easily on the street nearby. Saturday night we walked all around the West Village and on Sunday we borrowed two bicycles (free for guests) and cycled for hours around lower Manhattan. It was a great experience. The only negative things I can say are that there is very little room for luggage (although now I know they will store it downstairs for free) and the room doors are a bit noisy when opening/closing (could be a problem for light sleepers). I strongly recommend it as an experience, in addition to being a very convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

History and style, architecture and nostalgia with a great vibe. The theme harkens to the building's history as a mariners' retreat. Survivors from the Titanic stayed here! Recreating a ship's layout, the shower/toilets are down the hall. They are spotless, and furnished with everything from hairdryers on the wall to shampoo, conditioner and soap mounted in the shower stalls. The bar is full of atmosphere and there is a Moroccan restaurant on the premises for everything from breakfast to late night dining. The location is convenient to public transportation. All the raves aside, if you are claustrophobic, funny about sharing a bathroom, or adverse to the mustiness that can build up when the power-saving features shut off the fan when you are out, the Jane is not for you. But for me, and I am sure countless others, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Last day today after 4 nights here
Recommended by a friend in England
Staying in captains cabin
Wifi, aircon, free daily bottle of water and good map
Bed good, pillows amazing
Location spot on and bell boys all really helpful
Ignore any negative reviews is my experience
Would stay again and look forward to it!!
Just the 8 hour flight to deal with later...!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed at The Jane for Halloween, as I wanted something a little fun and different from The Bowery (sister hotel). Rooms were spacious, well-equipped but definitely felt a bit 'budget'. The downsides are no room service, no lifts (and no door man to help you up the stairs with your luggage) and bed is not all that comfortable (no luscious feathery duvet here). Lighting is low, so not great for doing any work. It's not the kind of place where you'd want to chill in your room. I had a nice balcony which was great. On the positive side, the staff were very jolly and helpful. It is a cool hotel and in a nice quiet residential street. The bar is amazing and the highlight of the hotel - worth a visit even if you don't stay here. I realise that it the price reflects the amenities and in that respect, it's a great quirky, hip place to stay like the Ace Hotel... I don't think I would go back - despite the cheap nightly rate, I prefer the conveniences you get for more bucks but if I was on a tight budget, it's definitely an above average option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jane

Address: 113 Jane Street, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#250 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jane 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jane Hotel New York City
Jane New York City
Jane Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.