We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great things in a small package.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Jane to your Saves list
The Jane
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Jane Street, New York City, NY (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great things in a small package.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are the tiniest I've stayed in. If you're not planning to hang out in the rooms, it works out well. The beds are comfortable and clean. The shared baths are also well appointed. A highlight for us was that bicycles were available to explore the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    337
    127
    57
    58
See reviews for
51
151
379
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Jane is a comfortable , clean and in a great neighborhood kind of hotel. I mean your room is actually about the size of most Americans closets, but it has a good bed, clean linens, a robe and slippers for going down the hall to use the bathroom and a TV. So for a 100 bucks in NYC, you can't really go wrong. Sure you might see some hot Sweedish girls or an old geezer brushing their teeth when you use the shared bath, but its part of the experience.
There was some weird guy who looked as if he lived there for the last 10 years or so on the 5th floor, but MGMt was talking about trying to get him out of the property, cuz he was weird and left his door cracked the whole time I was there.
The cafe downstairs has great food and banging coffee.
The downstairs bar is fantastic, feels like you stepped into the Versailles to have a proper martini. I would def get there for happy hour, cuz later it turns into some kind of hipster hangout.
The roof top bar , which is only open a couple nights a week, is also very nice, great view.

so, the staff is friendly too and if you don't mind not being able to do a yoga pose in your room and you want a cool, quiet neighborhood that is reasonable, then the quirky Jane could be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Jane for one night. My room was about 5' by 10'. Clean, great heat and quiet. I booked on their website for $135 but when I got there, they only charged $99. The bar/restaurant is very nice and friendly. I saw tourists and business travelers. Front desk people were fine. I will stay there again but It was the smallest room I had ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Because of Hurricane Sandy the elevator, tv, and wifi were down, but the staff was uniformly gracious and concerned, sharing the bath was never a problem, the shower is terrific and the towels wonderful, and everything clean. There are only hooks for hanging things, so either plan on laying things flat or bring a few hangars. The cafe on the ground floor is bright and has a good menu. On weekends one might prefer a room higher up to avoid traveling sound of the music in the ground-floor bar, though they said at the desk that had I called down they would have told the bartender to turn it down. An easy walk from a number of restaurants, shops, and the entrance to the High Line, and taxis nearby.

Room Tip: Higher floors get less music from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed in The Jane Hotel with a friend in a double bunk bed room and we felt very safe and cozy in this hotel. The rooms are very, very tiny, but the hotel itself is charming, the room decor is nice (radio with iPod docking station, two tvs, bath robes and slippers, fluffy towels) and the bathrooms were always clean. A special treat are the antique-style bikes the hotel gives out for FREE and the neighbourhood of the hotel is perfect for a little biking tour (it feels pretty cool to bike through New York…).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at The Jane for 3 nights,it was my first time in New York and I found the hotel to be Clean well run and they are happy to help you with any problems.
This hotel would be my first port of call when I return to New York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed in a single cabin, room 519 - with a window facing inwards. You do hear noise from other guests banging their doors, although I still slept quite well with earplugs. The internet works very well - quite fast. The showers are ok for shared bathroom facilities, I would recommend wearing flip flops though just to be safe. I did wake up one day and had itchy spots on my arms and my ankles, my room may have an issue with bedbugs, or these could have been mosquito bites, I am not sure, this was the unpleasant part of my stay. The room itself is very small, but efficiently laid out so your belongings can be stored safely. The staff are attentitive and make up your room everyday and give you free water. The area is also very nice, lots of good restaurants and there is a supermarket nearby. I did not try the cafe downstairs, I have tried this before and it was a bit overpriced, there are better options in the area. The lobby gets a packed on Thurs, Fri and Sat nights with people wanting to get into the club on the ground floor, although this is not such an issue - on the 5th floor I did not hear any noise. Overall a good hotel, good value, worth considering.

Room Tip: Facing inwards was ok, fairly quiet, I see other travelers had sound issues when facing outwards as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jane

Address: 113 Jane Street, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#249 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jane 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jane Hotel New York City
Jane New York City
Jane Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.