We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Jane to your Saves list
The Jane
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Jane Street, New York City, NY (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #301 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I probably have a biased view of The Jane as I got upgraded to a larger room. $80 for a large room with a balcony and massive bathroom is just ridiculous. Still, I have heard good things about their standard cabin rooms - shared facilities, but based on a boat and small but luxurious.

The local area is good, a four block walk to the subway, nice pubs and restaurants, and feels safe.

I liked it, it feels personal, and even at $200 the room would have been excellent value.

Room Tip: Get upgraded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Jane, Front Office Manager at The Jane, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
So glad you got the chance to try the royal treatment! Thanks for writing. We're happy that you enjoyed :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    353
    136
    59
    61
See reviews for
53
159
396
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I would recommend the very stylish Jane Hotel to anyone traveling to NYC on their own for a few nights, or for a couple of friends who want to share a room on the cheap, in a fantastic location. The standard cabin rooms are absolutely tiny but very well worked out -- with storage above and below the (single) bed, a flat screen tv, an iPod dock... everything you need really. Also the old-fashioned steamship cabin theme is really well done so if you embrace all that, the small quarters won't bother you at all. I'm not too mad about the shared bathrooms, wish they had separate ones for men and women -- but alas, no.
You really can't beat the location (High Line, Meatpacking, West Village, Soho are a stone's throw away), or the price, or the various perks (gorgeous decor, nice restaurant downstairs, free wifi, a bottle of complimentary red wine for each guest, free bikes to use).
i can't speak for the captain's room or the bunk rooms but i imagine they're equally as fun as the single.
Also, the staff are nice and friendly, and happy to help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

By NYC standards this place is good value for money although it won't suit everyone. The location is West Village (I think) which means you're quite far from the major shops and city attractions although you're only a hop skip and a jump from the Village and it's cafe/bar scene. There is a cafe/bar on the ground floor which serves decent enough food though I'd say the service is questionable as they made me wait an eternity for my change.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are tiny. My room was clean although it did feel kinda "lived in" and well used. The TV and IPOD dock was a nice touch. WIFI was a bit temperamental. The shared bathroom was clean although I only saw one on our floor so I can imagine it gets real busy at times.
All in all good value for money considering that this is at the bottom end of the price scale in NYC.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great location - lovely historic building in a trendy neighbourhood - close to subway and within easy wa.king distance to great bars, shopping - cafes. Tiny rooms but lovely and clean and comfortable with iphone dock, in room safe, tv, air con - fluffy towels and robes and slippers. The shared bathrooms were problem free. Cafe Gitane a real quirky bonus! As a single traveller The Jane was perfect - I felt very safe - the perfect place to retreat to recharge the batteries - would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Despite the previous reviews we chose The Jane for its location and history and were not disappointed. What an incredible place this is! The decor is stunning and feels like you are on safari and the Meatpacking district is interesting, vibrant and the Highline is less than 5 minutes walk.

We chose a Captain's room for our ten day stay and were delighted with the room. A large 2nd floor room with a king bed, stunning bathroom and a deck. On check in (Tuesday) the staff enquired whether we minded noise as the room was above the nightclub on the mezzanine level. We opted to take the room and think about moving to another room later in the week. On Thursday we asked to be moved and were given a room on the 5th floor. It was a bit noisier as it overlooked the expressway running beside the Hudson but we thought we could deal with it. Later that night (around midnight) we struck the bed bug problem. We were expertly dealt with by staff (special mention to George who is exceptional) who moved us to a fresh room and had all our gear treated. The next day we were moved to another Captain's room that was fantastic and where we stayed for the remainder of our time.

Despite our issue with the bed bugs we will be staying at The Jane on our next visit to NYC. The staff are fantastic, the decor is brilliant, the location is perfect and the cafe is superb.

If you want an extraordinary experience stay at the Jane, if you want a chain hotel experience then do yourself a favor and book one.

Room Tip: Ask for advice on what sort of room is suitable for you before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The single rooms are tiny. The beds are smaller than a twin size bed. There is space to store your luggage (shelf above the bed, large drawers and space below the bed). The hotel and room was impeccably clean. The carpet in the room was impeccably clean (a pet peeve of mine as my feet are sensitive). The hallways and entire hotel was impeccably clean and extremely elegant. The staff (all of them) were nice, cool, and friendly. I arrived at 10AM to store my luggage as check-in time is 3PM. The hotel desk checked me in early. I was very pleased right away. Another plus on check in was the complementary bottle of wine they give you. I am not a drinker, but it is a super nice touch. I asked for a quiet room and they gave me room 420, which was very quiet. The shared bathrooms are a minor hassle. You (of course) have to dress or robe-up to go to the bathroom and since the rooms are so small any movement (including dressing is a bit of a hassle). But the accommodations are very inexpensive in a GREAT part of the city so shared bath is a consolation. The bathrooms were always clean and available.
This is a super classy, very cool, very friendly, swanky hotel within easy walking distance of the swankiest/coolest parts of lower Manhattan. It is across the street from the Hudson River bicycle/running path which by the way you can bicycle on or run (if you're that fit) all the way literally around the island of Manhattan. The hotel has about 12 complementary touring bicycles. Get them early because they go quickly. The neighborhood is incredible!!!! It is in a great area between Chelsea and Greenwich Village and within easy walking distance to the absolute coolest areas in Lower Manhattan. It is a five minute walk to the 14th street 8th Ave Subway station that gives you access to the entire city. It is a block away from the highline (renovated elevated train line now a city park). I highly recommend the hotel. Just know that the rooms are TINY (about 5 feet wide by 7 feet long). I wouldn't recommend staying longer than 5 days because the small room size may get annoying after a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The property is old with a lot of history. It was quiet and rooms were really small but we spent so much time out and about it did not matter! The bikes were a bonus along with the in room safes.
The bathrooms were shared and kept very clean. Robes and slippers were provided in the room.
Cafe and roof top bar were good. Improved on the room keys need improving as they demagnetized often for many guests. I would stay there again and price was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jane

Address: 113 Jane Street, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#252 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jane 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jane Hotel New York City
Jane New York City
Jane Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.