We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Full Chelsea Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel Chelsea to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel ) (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #306 of 464 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
“Get the Full Chelsea Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was very clean and the free wifi and robes were definitely a plus. Many things are in walking distance, including the A, C & 1 train along with wonderful paces to eat also and there is on street parking! The only con was the room size, the rooms are smaller than expected but it wouldn't discourage me from staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to hear you had such a wonderful experience here at the Gem Hotel Chelsea. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area so that we can share some of the exciting new changes and upgrades that are coming soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    297
    113
    41
    21
See reviews for
62
237
94
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Duncan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel and room were very clean. The front desk is awesome! The rooms are small so please take note. It is convenietly located, a few blocks from MSG & The Empire State Building. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, November 30, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for the great review and staying with us at the Gem Hotel Chelsea. Our rooms are very cozy, but we are glad you had a good experience with us. We look forward to your next stay and to share our new and improved lobby lounge and bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Room was too small for two person and very dark. Did not feel comfortable and definetly other than the pictures in the internet suggested.
Location in Chelsea is great.
Roof top was also a dissapointment. Just some tables with chairs. Noisy surroundings from all the machinery.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Good location, close to restaurants and shops, Chelsea markets and the high line. A/C was a big issue for us as it woke us every night. Difficult to get any responses via email but helpful in person..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesate
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Right price for a nice clean and comfortable room provided with good WiFi. A bit noisy during night (my room was on The corner of The street).........................................….................

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Gem Hotel Chelsea while visiting New York City. We appreciate your review. We apologize for the external noise surrounding the hotel, perhaps on your next stay, you may enjoy one of our interior guest rooms. We look forward to your return and to share our newly renovated lobby lounge and bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The GEM Hotel Chelsea and would be happy to be able to stay there again. The front desk was friendly and helpful and there was everything needed within walking distance.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMhotelChelseaGM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi DONNA9051981. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The location of the hotel is one of the great attractions for staying at the GEM Hotel Chelsea. Its something we consistently hear from our guest.

Please considering us again the next time you require accommodations in the Chelsea New York City area.

Lastly, thank for taking a few moments to share your thoughts about your stay.

Warmest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have enjoyed staying at the Gem Chelsea many times over the past few months. I can usually find free parking on 22nd st just steps from the hotel which is an added bonus in to the already reasonably priced rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMhotelChelseaGM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi mojojo9955, thank you so much for staying with us again. We love to learn that our past guests are returning. It means that we continue to meet their expectations.

I think it's awesome that you continue to locate free parking on our New York City streets. Its one of the bonuses of the GEM Hotel being in Chelsea. You get the best of both worlds. The location allows you to be in the heart of New York City near multiple trains and buses yet the neighborhood has a presence of local residents and boutique stores.

Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Chelsea and more important thank you for sharing your comments about your stay.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wireless internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.