We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fun night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel Chelsea to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel ) (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #306 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
“Had a fun night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I think I finally found a great place to lounge and have a casual night out with my friend. I overheard a friend's conversation and found out about this hotel's rooftop. Great place to have a smoke and a drink, you have to bring your own though :(. Would have loved it if they had a bar at the roof but still loved it regardless because it was so relaxing.

Room was cozy and nice, everything compact and nicely organized. Despite when I looked over to the other reviews in regards to the small room, I found it not so tiny as described, I actually liked it much better than it being a humongous room, cozy cozy cozy. Room was very clean and nicely organized. This will be my go-to place for such night out.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Greetings GloriaV517, thank you for sharing your charming review with us. It is our privilege to serve you and making your stay a delightful experience is our upmost dedication. We are glad that you found us and are devoted to exceed your exceptions each and every time. We enjoy indulging you with our services and amenities so your stay is most comfortable and relaxed. Our rooftop terrace is truly amazing with spectacular views and I am so pleased to know that you were satisfied. We take pride in the cleanliness of our guest rooms and it is motivating for us to know that have felt our passion for excellence. We are thrilled to be your hotel of choice and are committed to create wonderful and unique memories. We would be honored to have you as our special guest again and look forward to be at your service.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    297
    113
    41
    21
See reviews for
62
237
94
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay here at chelsea GEM. For the most part the rooms are average compared to other hotels around the city I believe, very small indeed. However, my stay changed with the service I received from the folks here at this GEM. Very well trained and very much customer oriented. Loved the fact that the desk folks pointed out all the goods they had in this hotel like the rooftop and the business center, fitness center and whatnot. Probably not the best hotel I have stayed in, but for sure the service piece of it was above most hotels I have been to. Now I was given this card at checkout to review this hotel, and here it is! 5 points!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Greetings WallaceK_1342391, we are so honored to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable experience and greatly appreciate your valuable time taken to share your review. It is our passion to deliver exceptional hospitality and create wonderful memories that will remain forever. Your kind words about our staff are inspirational and we are grateful to have the opportunity to serve you. It is our dedication to provide superior comfort and relaxation so your stay is most special. We are thrilled that you have felt the warmth of our personalized and attentive service. It will be a privilege for us to have you as our dear guest again and provide you with another amazing stay.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

If great staff and location are your primary concern then GEM is a great place to stay. I enjoyed being their but there are drawbacks. The rooms can be very small and the furnishings are cheap and only just cheerful! There are no issues with cleanliness or staff helpfulness but being in a room with a window that looks out onto a corridor between buildings less than 3 metres apart makes for very low levels of natural light. The cost is high and if I were looking to stay in this area again I'd use a B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Good Day Whishkyman, thank you for sharing your review and giving us the pleasure to serve you. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed our location and the cleanliness of our property was to your satisfaction. We regret to hear that the size of your guest room was not to your liking and allow me to recommend reserving our business class rooms that provide more comfort and relaxation. Your feedback is very valuable for us, as it is our most reliable source to identify the areas we have to work at, in order to bring our accommodations to the level where we can exceed every expectation of our highly appreciated guests. It is so rewarding to know your kind words about of staff and that you have felt the warmth of our hospitality. We are devoted to indulge you each and every time so your stay with us is most memorable and exquisite. It will be our upmost privilege to be your host again and ensure your experience is beyond perfect.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was only staying for one night but wanted somewhere close to Penn Station, as it's an easy transit from JFK to there. The Gem Hotel is about 10-15 mins walk from the station. It is located in the lovely neighbourhood of Chelsea, which is quieter than closer to Penn Station, but there are still lots of eateries around.
The pleasant service from the staff was impeccable. They tried to help with everything, without being intrusive. THe THai restaurant recommended by the receptionist was top drawer and very good value for money.
As per previous reviews, the rooms are on the small side, but are clean and comfortable, and there was only me staying there. I think is you were staying for more than a few days and were likely to be spending time ioin your room then you may want somewhere with a bit more space, but the room had everything I could have wanted, including tea/coffee, large flat screen TV, heather/cooler, a good shower in the bathroom and it was quiet and comfortable.
The hotel has a baggage storage facility if you need to check ut but are not leaving the city until later (I had an evening flight). There is no charge for this. There is also free wi-fi in the room. There is no bar or restaurant, but plenty around the locale to not need it.

In summary, with the easy transit to Penn Station from JFK (and Newark), a short walk to a quiet neighbourhood is well worth it to escape the noise around Penn Station itself. When I come here for business or pleasure again, I would book the same hotel. I couldn't really fault it (and I've stayed in a few).

A real Gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Greetings Bath_Bloke, first and foremost, I would like to thank you for such an amazing and motivational review. We are glad to know that the warmth of our hospitality was to your fulfillment and are delighted that you had a memorable time with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and found us close to many charming restaurants. It is our devotion to make every visit as special and unique as it can be and your kind compliments about our staff will forever be treasured. We are privileged to have the opportunity to serve you and are committed to deliver service that is exceptional in every way. It is our upmost dedication to provide the finest accommodations and amenities so your comfort and relaxation are exceeded. We constantly strive to ensure each stay is eventful and comments like yours are always welcomed with great passion by every staff member as an inspiration for our continuous success. We understand that many of our wonderful guests, like you, need luggage storage and we are thrilled that you were able to use it. It will be an honor to have you as our dear guest again and create another indulging experience.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I just stayed at the gem chelsea 3/28 - 4/1/13 , 4 nights
Staff quite but courteous, only one elevator which is shared with hotel employees, housekeeping, laundry and cleaning carts, etc.... second elevator should have been added during remodeling of this once welfare hotel.
Hotel and room Decor is cool, but rooms are on the small side. Weather your alone or with someone sharing the room, be prepared to enjoy the odor from the bathroom in the sleeping area as the toilet is 4 feet from the bed...

Room Tip: Ask not to be in back of bld. Do get the queen room that is a little bigger .at least there is a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Papamom, we thank you dearly for giving us the privilege to serve you and your valuable time to share your review with us. We greatly appreciate your comments and feedback as we constantly strive to ensure the finest quality of service. I would like to offer you my most sincere apologies for the uncomfortable moments you encountered during your stay. Our passion is to provide all our dear guests, like you, superior comfort and create treasured memories. It is so rewarding to hear your kind words about our staff and we are devoted to indulge you each and every time. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with another unique and relaxing experience.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The room was small but clean and in a decent neighborhood. If all you need is a place to leave your bag and a place to shower and sleep for a night, it's great for the price. Didn't get a chance to check out the fitness center or the rest of the hotel. Probably not the best place for an extended stay or if you plan on having a lot of people in your room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Greetings Imdamofo, thank you for being our dear guest and giving us the pleasure to serve you. We are glad that the cleanliness of your guest room was to your liking and that you enjoyed our location. It is our everyday commitment to provide service that is exceptional and unique so your stay with us is most memorable. We recently renovated our fitness center with new equipment and hope that you can experience our upgrades on your next return. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another relaxing stay.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel was perfectly looked to visit Chelsea galleries and walk to the train station. The room and bathroom were small but clean and well appointed. I was alone and wouldn't have stayed with my husband since there was too little room to move around the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Greetings Atteacher1, thank you for your short and sweet review. The art galleries in Chelsea are truly a unique experience to explore and we are thrilled to know that you enjoy them too. It is our dedication to provide superior cleanliness and amenities so your stay with us is most relaxing. We are so excited to hear your kind compliments about our staff and it is our passion to be attentive to your every need and desire. We would be grateful to have the privilege to serve you again and make wonderful memories.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wireless internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.