We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice customer service but small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The GEM Hotel Chelsea to your Saves list
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel ) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #288 of 458 Hotels in New York City
surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice customer service but small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I called to ask them if i can leave my luggage for three days until i come back from niagara and they agreed to do so for free! So customer service was great! I noticed that the hotel is very gay friendly as i saw a lot of gay couples in the lobby and lots of gay clubs around the hotel!
Room was clean but super tiny that we couldnt move ! I payed around 350$ a night so i expected a decent bed size ! Thats my only complain
We walked to times square in 15 mins
Its a 15 $ cab ride as well

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Good Day Lebyvr, thank you for sharing your review with us. It is our pleasure and commitment to service our dear guests, like you, at an exceptional level and we are honored that you have felt the warmth of our hospitality. We are a gay friendly hotel and apologize that the size of your room was not to your satisfaction. I would like for you to know that we do offer larger business class rooms that provide more comfort and relaxation. We hope that you can stay with us again and look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    269
    104
    35
    20
See reviews for
53
220
88
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is my new favorite hotel. My room was small but certainly not claustrophobic. It was white, bright, clean, and modern. The bathroom fixtures were really cool and the room was surprisingly very quiet. Staff was helpful and pleasant; their dining recommendations were terrific. Internet access was free (yes!) as was printing out some paperwork in the business center. It was the perfect location for a business trip to Chelsea, but I'll stay here again on my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Good Day Lori F, allow us thank you dearly for writing your wonderful review. It is a unique pleasure to see that your stay was relaxing and comfortable. To exceed the satisfaction of our guests is our commitment and it is a great honor for us to be your favorite new hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and restaurant recommendations. I am truly privileged to know your kind compliments about our team and it motivates us to deliver exceptional service at a higher level. We can’t wait to welcome you back to your home away from home!

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Easy walk from Penn Station. Next to an upscale cafe/grocer for a quick bowl of soup and fruit to go. The room was spotless, the bathroom contemporary. I especially liked the pillows. Not huge fat foam but fluffy feather. Yes, small room but very sophisticated. The staff was helpful and friendly. Yes, they did charge for a safe that I never used but given the price was under 200 I can't complain. I would stay there again without hesitation. Easy walk to Highline too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Greetings Warmchai, thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. It is nice to know that you liked Foragers City Grocer and I will certainly share your comments with them. Our services and accommodations are designed for our guest’s complete satisfaction and we are so excited that you have enjoyed your guest room. It would be my pleasure to issue you credit for the safe warrantee and if it is fine with you to e-mail me your dates of stay and room number to chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com. I truly appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff and we would be honored to welcome you back to The GEM Hotel at Chelsea.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. The rooms are clean, fresh, and beautiful, but not big. But it's NYC, the hotel room is perfect for what you need it for... to sleep! The room was quiet, the staff was fantastic. The houseman even called instead of knocking due to a do not disturb sign being on the door. I missed having room service but everything else was great and I have already booked another night for February. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Greetings Brandon C, we are very grateful that you have taken the time to write such a wonderful review and are delighted that you have enjoyed your room. Your kind words about our staff are greatly valued and we are excited that we were able exceed your expectations. We motivate our team to always take sincere care of dear guests, like you, and are honored that you have felt the warmth of personalized service. To know that you have made another reservation to stay with us is enriching and we are committed to making another memorable experience.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My favorite place to stay in NYC. While rooms are very small, they are well appointed, modern, attractive and clean. Staff is welcoming and helpful. I love the neighborhood and it is easy to get to anywhere. Great market/espresso bar right next door.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Greetings CrownHeightsBorn, it is a great motivation for us to receive such a wonderful review about your experience. We are very fortunate to have many of our dear guests return and making it their second home which I hope it is exactly the way we make you feel every time you stay with us. Chelsea is our favorite neighborhood too and I agree with you that it is easy to get to anywhere in New York City. We are privileged that our rooms and attentiveness of our service contributed to making The GEM Hotel at Chelsea your favorite place to stay. It will be an upmost honor to welcome you back and have the pleasure of serving you again.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights over the new year.
The hotel is very clean.
Well located with metro at couples meters, on the street 23rd.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
Our room was comfortable, medium size.
Bathroom clean and modern.
Perfect for a short stay...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Greetings cthsxm, we are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and thank you for sharing it with us. It is our pleasure making your stay relaxing and memorable at the same time. We are committed to providing our dear guests, like you, service that is exceptional and unique. I am pleased to know that you have liked our staff and that you have felt the warmth of our hospitality. It will be an honor to have you as our guest again and we everyone at The GEM Hotel Chelsea wishes you and your family a Happy New Year.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We knew going in the rooms were going to be on the small side, but they were cozy and comfortable. The beds are very comfortable, and the shower is nice. I found it to be a good experience, and the staff is friendly. Just watch out for the safe charge of $2, which is not needed

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Good Day Mikeloveshotels, thank you sharing your review with us. We are glad that you had a relaxing stay. It is always an honor to read kind words about our hospitality and our friendly staff. We hope that we did not upset you with the safe warrantee charge, but it is mandatory by the manufacture of the safety deposit vaults. I can remove the charge off your folio if it is fine with you to e-mail your full name and dates of stay to chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to The GEM Hotel at Chelsea.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wireless internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.